8/4, Tango, AMPS 108 w/o insulin yesterday after dental appt. + 2 98, +7 85

Lori C & Tango

Member Since 2022
From 8/2 - did not post 8/3

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...83-pmps-86-skipping-tomorrows-am-dose.280139/

Tango did great at his dental yesterday. He had 2 extractions, cleaning, x-ray. I swear, Tango is amazing. He's eating, bathing, doing all his normal stuff. I know it's difficult to know how kitty's doing, but never would've guessed he had dental work. He's even being very cooperative taking his pain med. What's going to be hard is keeping him inside. Vet said to keep him indoors for 2 weeks. Although, I think 2 weeks might be a little too long. I will ask the vet when they call to follow up. Might have to get some type of catio/enclosure.

Skipped yesterday's insulin and last night's. For last night, vet said not to give insulin if BG is under 200.

They monitored his BG - went from 130 to 150 then 118 when we picked him up. Tested last night and it was 101. This morning 108. Decided to reduce insulin to 1.25 and see how he does.
 
Wow Tango! Brave boy!
Why did she ask you to keep him in? Just curious...I didn't keep Herman in after his dental at all as he goes BERSERK without his outside time. :oops:
 
Wow Tango! Brave boy!
Why did she ask you to keep him in? Just curious...I didn't keep Herman in after his dental at all as he goes BERSERK without his outside time. :oops:

After talking with the vet this morning, it's mainly because the buprenorphine could make him loopy. When he does go outside, he stays in the yard, but we do have a pool so we'll keep him in unless we're outside with him. Last time Tango had dental work, we stopped pain med after a couple days. Looks like we'll do the same this time. When Chacha (Tango's sister) was with us, she would be on the corner of the couch and Tango would jump up at her until we let him outside. Now, he just meows incessantly, which makes us go berserk:cat:
 
Back
Top