8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advice needed

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

Hi all, been a while since I posted I know, but been a little bit of a struggle recovering from the fall.

I'm concerned about Scratchie's numbers. They seem to be going higher and I don't understand why. Nothing has changed, other than he had that same 'rash/sore' problem that the had last year so I used some antibiotic cream again - but haven't used for a few days. I don't know why with more insulin (3.5u now per Sheila's advise) that he isn't coming down. Of course, he is soooo slow to settle into a new dose - could be it. The rash is healing now and he's quit itching and biting at it. I just don't have a clue what's wrong. Negative on Ketones, he is happy and playful, appy is great I'm just at a loss. Any ideas or suggestions are surely welcome.

Still not getting any notifications from the site, so if I am slow to respond, please forgive me. No notifications of any kind make it difficult to keep up...

Wishing everyone great numbers, safe surfs and healing vines to those that need them.

Love to all - Jo
 
Re: 8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advise needed

Hi Jo,

Not sure what is going on with your Scratchie. Here are some of my thoughts.

Way too many numbers over the renal threshold most of the time. Those pinks and yellows at mid-cycle says the dose is not enough. His nadir's aren't low enough. He had one good day back the beginning of July, but all higher pinks and yellows since than.

I think you need to raise the dose again. I'd increase by 0.5U with those >300 nadirs you are getting.

Levimir still good? How old is your vial/pen?
Dental issues?
Any other infection anywhere else?
Getting into any contraband food?
What is the usual food for him? Profile says Wellness canned, signature says Friskies.
 
Re: 8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advise needed

Jo, it's good to see a Scratchie post. I have been wondering how you are doing. I hope you are recovered from the fall. Sorry Scratchie's numbers have been so high. I know how frustrating it is to increase and still see high numbers. That happened recently with Furball. I had to keep increasing and then one day we saw good numbers. I hope Scratchie's rash is better. That could be affecting his BG. It does look like you might want to increase his dose.
 
Re: 8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advise needed

Here's a thought - in humans, diabetes may be facilitated by autoimmune attacks on the pancreas. If this ocurrs in cats, too, perhaps the pancreas is continuing to deteriorate and that is why more insulin is needed.

What dose are you up too?
 
Re: 8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advise needed

I just increased to 3.5u on Thursday. He takes about 7 days to settle into a dose change. Pen is new and listed on SS by days. Sorry so slow not getting notifications and even set up a gmail account. Ugh!
 
Re: 8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advise needed

Sorry BJ. His food is Friskies.
Forgot to answer that.
 
Re: 8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advise needed

Good to see you back Jo!

Still trying to get caught up to speed but with just a quick look at Scratchies numbers I would say take him up to 4u. I think he has been hanging in these high numbers so long that he has built up insulin resistance, and we are just going to have to ramp him up until we break through it, but once we do, hopefully you will have to be ready to reduce quickly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 8/4 -Scratchie-AMPS-340, +4-375 Advise needed

Thanks Mel, can I wait and increase later this week or do you want me to go for it in the morning???

So glad you are back!!!
 
Hey Jo, good to see you.

No advice from me, but healing vines to you both. :YMHUG:

In case you don't know, Mel injured herself recently and doesn't get on much, but tries to drop in every day or 2, so she will get back with you.

Hope you can get Scratchie squared away soon. Big Hugz!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top