8/4 Savannah amps 288 pmps-ish 224

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd & savannah

Member Since 2010
I didn't get her 8:00 preshot time b/c I was not home and my husband does not know how to check her bg. He did give her the insulin at her usual time and I was home an hour later and was able to test it. I feel like a bad mother.

Pretty decent numbers today though, I didn't give her any boiled chicken.

My vet wants me to increase her to a full 1 unit but I think given her wacky nadirs I might try a .25 increase first so that she's at .75u.

Hope everyone is having a good evening.
D



Yesterday's Condo

Morning!

Yesterday's numbers were kind of stinky:

amps 285
+6 341
+10 380
pmps 353
+3 325
+7 356

I am about to give her this morning's dose. Do I have enough info now to increase by .25?

I am getting a lot of bubbles when I am getting insulin from the vial. Which means I have to keep starting over. I've tried to tap the syringe while still in the vial but that has not worked very well for me. I tend to put more insulin in the syringe and flick out the bubbles so they move to the top and then push them (along w/ some insulin) out.

Also, are there even smaller syringes out there? I have the 1/2 unit marking ones.

Thx all!
D
 
Re: 8/4 Savannah amps 288, questions

Good morning

Sienne suggested last nite, holding the dose at least one more day due to the late/skipped shots previously.

Not too sure about smaller syringes, I don't think so, but maybe someone else has some ideas.


Nice to see another yellow AMPS!
 
Re: 8/4 Savannah amps 288, questions

I guess I can wait one more day. I'm pretty impatient when it comes to this stuff.
Isn't it weird that her pmps goes back to yellow?
 
Re: 8/4 Savannah amps 288, questions

Welcome to LL--I draw the shot, tap the syringe so bubbles go to the top, and shoot the extra right out of the top to release the bubbles--
Just like they do on TV--Shoot some in to the air??--Bubbles are a pain for all of us--Are you releasing the air in the syringe after you take off the saety top??--Then drawing the shot?
You will get it, just takes time--Small bubbles will not hurt cat, as the shot is subcutaneous, but it is best to get them out--I cant tell you how much insulin goes into my sink from frustration with the stupid bubbles ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Just keep trying & that first time without bubbles, pat yourself on the back :lol: :lol: :lol:
And yes, holding the dose today, let's see where she goes--Have a great wednesday! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/4 Savannah amps 288, questions

Here's some info on how to deal with bubbles. It may also be a matter of your syringes. Some are more prone to bubbles than others.
 
Re: 8/4 Savannah amps 288, questions

Thx for the advice about the bubbles, errr they are so frustrating! I didn't have this issue before, but that link about the bubbles gave some more pointers that I can try out.

Hope everyone has a great day!
dd
 
I didn't get her 8:00 preshot time b/c I was not home and my husband does not know how to check her bg. He did give her the insulin at her usual time and I was home an hour later and was able to test it. I feel like a bad mother.

Pretty decent numbers today though, I didn't give her any boiled chicken.

My vet wants me to increase her to a full 1 unit but I think given her wacky nadirs I might try a .25 increase first so that she's at .75u.

Hope everyone is having a good evening.
D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top