8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, PMPS 214, +5.5 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
Sabrina's 7/28 Condo
Good Morning Everyone!!!! :-D Sabrina is hanging in but I'm concerned about chronic pancreatitis :sad: This past Friday, 8/1/14, she went for her follow up bloodwork. The vet ran the Idexx Liver Panel & Idexx Alkaline/Phos panel. The office was having problems with the machine so I couldn't get a printed copy of the results then. The vet called me back an hour later & said the liver panel was in normal range but the alk/phos was somewhat high.......what did that mean, she said the pancreas was producing excess bile............she told me to increase Lantus to .5U & let her know how Sabrina does..... :sad: (Mind you, No mention of pain meds) :shock:
On Friday she got her Tumil K, Zobaline, & 1/4 tab Mirtazapine, as her weight dropped to 8.8lbs from apprx 10 lbs in 3 weeks(mind you she was weighed while hospitalized & was getting Sub Q fluids) This past weekend she was off, hiding under my bed, sometimes stretched out but her appetite was decent....she's never been quite lovey dovey but would sit on my lap while watching tv at night...........My question..... :?: Could she be uncomfortable or in pain & should I insist on a script for bupe? Today I have to go down & get a copy of her labs, which I'll post. I have been able to upload her labs from when she was hospitalized July 5th & have updated her spreadsheet. Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I want her to start feeling better......I think the pancreatitis will be another wrench in her recovery from DKA :sad: Enjoy your Monday Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon

8/4
AMPS 282, .5U 1 can ff chicken, Zobaline, Tumil K
+2.5 310
+6.25 256
PMPS 214, .5U 2.5 oz Purina DM, Tumil K
+2 164, left out 1/8 cup Young Again Zero Carb
+5.5 89
 
Re: 8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, +2.5 310 LABS POSTED "??"

Cindy

Cats have a common bile and pancreatic duct and so ALP can be increased in cats with pancreatitis as there could be swelling around the bile duct. ALP can also increase due to bile duct obstruction and that could be seen on an ultrasound. It might be something to consider if they have not done an u/s.

If she were my kitty, I would definitely ask for bupe and give her a low maintenance dose. The high BG you are seeing could be pain to some extent. I would insist on something for pain as it is very common in pancreatitis. I'd also discuss with the vet giving her subq fluids at home. And if you don't see better BG numbers today/tonight, I would take her dose up to 0.75u tomorrow. I would continue to increase her dose after every six cycles by 0.25u until you see blue numbers.

Sending her many healing vines. Poor girl!
 
Re: 8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, +2.5 310 LABS POSTED "??"

Thank you Marje! Yes when she was released from the hospital she was on Sub Q til 7/21 & I saw her bg dramatically go down. Ironically on Thursday 7/17, she tried to get away from me & either my leg or the door caught her midsection. About 30 seconds later she cried out & stiffened like she was having a seizure & I think it took her, maybe another minute nailbite_smile before she came out of it & was very wobbly.......I rushed her to the vet & they checked her over, saying she was none the worse for wear..................Maybe I knocked the wind out of her lungs, but also bruised her pancreas???????? If you look at her ss...you start seeing an increase in her BG after that. When she was hospitalized they did an abdominal ultrasound, & just saw fluid in her abdomen, but no obstruction. Besides DKA, she was jaundiced & dehydrated. I just have a feeling & might have caused her to backslide a bit.... :cry: Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, +2.5 310 LABS POSTED "??"

I would definitely ask about subqs at home. Interesting on the fluid in her abdomen....did they say why they thought she had it?

If she had pancreatitis and the door caught her in the midsection, it could have just caused more pain since it is painful.
 
Re: 8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, +2.5 310 LABS POSTED "??"

Marje........They couldn't give me an answer about why the fluid...they did 2 cavity abdominal ultrasound....& looking at her charges for in hospital I requested pain meds the night before they released her. I had visited with Sabrina & noticed she squeaked.... :o when picking her up & holding her. They gave her "0.20 Buprenorphine SR 3.0mg/ml"......That is Bupe...correct??? I'll ask them about additional Sub Q for her......should I bring the "Primer on Pancreatitis" article .......or is that a slap in their face :?: :cry: Thanks, Cindy
 
Re: 8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, +2.5 310 LABS POSTED "??"

Bupe SR is sustained release. It's supposedly in effect for three hours. You need the regular stuff at home that you can dose her every 8 hours.....even 6 hours if she's in a lot of pain but usually 2-3 times a day is fine.

I'd probably have the u/s redone when she's feeling better to see where all that fluid went and be sure it's gone. I'm surprised they didn't do a needle aspirate of it.

At the very least, I'd print the round table discussion and take it in. Highlight the important parts before you go regarding pain meds, cerenia/ondansetron, etc. Vets would give that more credence than a layperson's post. You"could" print the post as well and take it with you just in case. All of the info I put in there is based on current research and treatment of pancreatitis.
 
Re: 8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, +2.5 310 LABS POSTED "??"

Hi Marje! I heard from the vet's office........Given her high values on the liver panel in July(I still haven't gotten the paper from Friday's bloodwork) The vet wants to keep her away from all NSAIDS & is recommending Cosamine?(all natural) to relieve any inflammatory issues, at this point.........I'm going to do more research re: fatty liver disease, pancreatitis, plus more on the diabetes........In my brief research so far, & reading the Idexx forum it sounds like all these diseases are intertwined? confused_cat Also if Sabrina has fatty liver disease, is her diet going to stay the same as treating her diabetes? Thanks for all your help this afternoon.......Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/4 Sabrina AMPS 282, +2.5 310 LABS POSTED "??"

Buprenorphine is a narcotic, not an NSAID. Neko gets bupe BID daily for her arthritis. Good idea to stay away from the NSAIDs with liver values off, but bupe should still be fine.

Is Sabrina not eating much? I fostered a kitty with fatty liver disease. He was refusing to eat at all. If kitties don't eat due to pancreatitis or other issues, it can turn into fatty liver disease (hepatic lipidosis) if they go too long without eating. You need to try to get a full days worth of calories into Sabrina. If she doesn't have fatty liver disease yet, you want prevent it. With fatty liver disease cats it means either assist feeding or a feeding tube needs to be installed. I went the assist feeding way with the foster kitty - it took 3 weeks before he'd eat on his own again. If assist feeding, it's best to feed a food that kitty doesn't normally eat, or they can get resistant to that food. I assist fed a chicken flavored food and it took a few months before he'd look at chicken again. :roll: There are low carb options you can assist feed. Iams Max-Cal is a high calorie and low carb (9%) food. I used Royal Canin Recovery RS (7% carb), but it's lower calorie so you have to feed more. Both foods are veterinary foods made to be easy to assist feed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top