Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
Pumbaa had an absolutely BEAUTIFUL day of blues and greens yesterday. His AM nadir (74) was at +5, but his PM nadir (70) was at +7. Activity-wise, he was a wildman! He got into things and did things he hasn't done in years! It was great to see him feeling this wonderful!
So, he bounced this morning, and started that day with an AMPS of 323. Fine. It could have been worse...it could have been a dreaded black or red number, right? He spent the first part of the morning hiding under my bed. That's what happens when he bounces like that.
But, bless his little pancreas, he cleared the bounce quickly, in one cycle, and dropped in numbers all day today for a low of 143 at AM +9 (as far as I know from the tests I did).
We're starting the night at 168, and he could either go up like he did on 8/2 when he was clearing a similar bounce and had very similar daytime numbers, or he could drop down into the greens again, only time will tell!
Dose Question:
Pumbaa is now on his 10th cycle at 2.25U.
None of the protocols (TRP, SL/GS, Roomp/Rand) really state how you count a bounce for the high number.
Those bounce numbers aren't truly indicative of how his body is reacting to the insulin, it's an indication of his liver dumping sugars into his system in response to the low numbers he got from utilizing the insulin.
TRP only addresses the nadir for dose increases.
SL/GS assumes only a weekly or bi-weekly curve is being done, so the confusion would be what day I picked for this "curve". If I picked yesterday, Pumbaa would get a dose reduction. If I picked today, I would keep the dose the same.
Roomp/Rand is similar to TRP, but they also address the peak numbers and not just the nadirs.
Two out of three of the above would tell me to increase the dose, and SL/GS would tell me to either increase or decrease depending on which day of data I used.
Talk about confusing! So, based on Pumbaa's recent numbers, what do I do with him next?
Just for smiles!
1) I have a Border Collie, Beck. And much to the chagrin of my two cats, Border Collies herd, instinctively. Last night, at around 3 am, Pumbaa was doing his "catch me if you can" routine at testing time, and I thought I had him cornered in my office (with doors to other rooms already closed so he couldn't access them). He hid behind the kitty condo, and then tried to sneak around the corner and out the door. My shadow, Beck, was right there, and I said, "Beck, get Pumbaa!" And Beck put her paw down on Pumbaa's back and nailed him to the floor so I could grab him. Good doggie!!!! *LOL* (Don't worry, Beck raised Pumbba from the time Pumbaa was about 8 weeks old, and they go through this routine all the time.)
2) Catching Pumbaa for testing has been a nightmare the better he feels. He races in between furniture in the living room, making me chase him. If I haven't closed doors to other rooms in the house, he might go hide under my bed, or in the litter box, or under the guest room futon, whatever. But he always starts by making me chase him around the living/dining room, since he has many places to hide behind there. My sofa and love seat are next to each other in an "L" shape. The over-plump arms touch, but the bottoms don't, leaving Pumbaa room to run in between and get away from me, while I have to circumvent this 7" wide sofa. So, today, once again trying to prove that I AM smarter than my cat (I'm not if I have to constantly have to figure out how to stay a step ahead of him! *LOL*), I moved the sofa away from the loveseat, so that I, too, can get between the two pieces of furniture! Take that, Pumbaa!
3) It was almost a pleasure today to go to Walmart and purchase 100 test strips for the Relion Prime for $18. I love the greatly reduced (half) price of the test strips compared to the Relion Confirm/Micro. I love that I no longer have to order these online for $28/100 and try to not have to pay shipping on top of that. I love that I don't have to worry in advance about placing an online order in time and can just go to Walmart and get these test strips, for $9.00 a week, if the budget is tight.
So, he bounced this morning, and started that day with an AMPS of 323. Fine. It could have been worse...it could have been a dreaded black or red number, right? He spent the first part of the morning hiding under my bed. That's what happens when he bounces like that.
But, bless his little pancreas, he cleared the bounce quickly, in one cycle, and dropped in numbers all day today for a low of 143 at AM +9 (as far as I know from the tests I did).
We're starting the night at 168, and he could either go up like he did on 8/2 when he was clearing a similar bounce and had very similar daytime numbers, or he could drop down into the greens again, only time will tell!
Dose Question:
Pumbaa is now on his 10th cycle at 2.25U.
None of the protocols (TRP, SL/GS, Roomp/Rand) really state how you count a bounce for the high number.
Those bounce numbers aren't truly indicative of how his body is reacting to the insulin, it's an indication of his liver dumping sugars into his system in response to the low numbers he got from utilizing the insulin.
TRP only addresses the nadir for dose increases.
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
SL/GS assumes only a weekly or bi-weekly curve is being done, so the confusion would be what day I picked for this "curve". If I picked yesterday, Pumbaa would get a dose reduction. If I picked today, I would keep the dose the same.
• If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
• If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.
Roomp/Rand is similar to TRP, but they also address the peak numbers and not just the nadirs.
If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL, increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on
if cat on low or high dose of insulin
Two out of three of the above would tell me to increase the dose, and SL/GS would tell me to either increase or decrease depending on which day of data I used.
Talk about confusing! So, based on Pumbaa's recent numbers, what do I do with him next?
Just for smiles!
1) I have a Border Collie, Beck. And much to the chagrin of my two cats, Border Collies herd, instinctively. Last night, at around 3 am, Pumbaa was doing his "catch me if you can" routine at testing time, and I thought I had him cornered in my office (with doors to other rooms already closed so he couldn't access them). He hid behind the kitty condo, and then tried to sneak around the corner and out the door. My shadow, Beck, was right there, and I said, "Beck, get Pumbaa!" And Beck put her paw down on Pumbaa's back and nailed him to the floor so I could grab him. Good doggie!!!! *LOL* (Don't worry, Beck raised Pumbba from the time Pumbaa was about 8 weeks old, and they go through this routine all the time.)
2) Catching Pumbaa for testing has been a nightmare the better he feels. He races in between furniture in the living room, making me chase him. If I haven't closed doors to other rooms in the house, he might go hide under my bed, or in the litter box, or under the guest room futon, whatever. But he always starts by making me chase him around the living/dining room, since he has many places to hide behind there. My sofa and love seat are next to each other in an "L" shape. The over-plump arms touch, but the bottoms don't, leaving Pumbaa room to run in between and get away from me, while I have to circumvent this 7" wide sofa. So, today, once again trying to prove that I AM smarter than my cat (I'm not if I have to constantly have to figure out how to stay a step ahead of him! *LOL*), I moved the sofa away from the loveseat, so that I, too, can get between the two pieces of furniture! Take that, Pumbaa!
3) It was almost a pleasure today to go to Walmart and purchase 100 test strips for the Relion Prime for $18. I love the greatly reduced (half) price of the test strips compared to the Relion Confirm/Micro. I love that I no longer have to order these online for $28/100 and try to not have to pay shipping on top of that. I love that I don't have to worry in advance about placing an online order in time and can just go to Walmart and get these test strips, for $9.00 a week, if the budget is tight.