8/4 Mr. Howell PMPS 161, +6 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Mr. Howell

Member Since 2011
Hello, LL!
Yesterday
Mr. Howell was at 192 this morning. He started to go down in his PM cycle last night. I gave him 1/2can FF at PMPS and the other 1/2can at +3; he ate maybe 3/4 of it, so his food consumption yesterday was more like 1.5cans of FF rather than his usual 2.5cans. It makes me a little worried but then again he doesn't really like Turkey&Giblets.
He was excited for breakfast though!
Hope everybody has a great day!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192

Hi guys .. perfect blues for mr howell this morning .. sorry to hear he didn't eat as much as usual yesterday, but glad to hear he was excited for morning fuds .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192

Thank you! I think it might be the novelty of the new food wearing off. I'm not worried so long as he'll eat about 2cans/day (he is a 14lb cat!) and maintains his tubtubness (i.e. doesn't drop considerably).
We have had regular play sessions everyday after mealtime. I've never seen him with so much energy. He straight up ambushes me coming out of my bedroom. "AHHHH you are awake... if you weren't already, now you are because my claws are sinking into your ankles... muahahaah" - Mr. Howell.
Also... never been so happy to see him fail a test! He was mewmewing at me so I followed him to the kitchen where he immediately went to the litter box to and gave me a perfectly fresh urine sample. :? but he failed to have ketones! So I'm proud of him for his big NEGATIVE test score. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192

You're doing such a great job with Mr. Howell!! Give yourself a pat on the back!! We all know there are so many more steps you need to take in your daily routine to take care of a diabetic kitty and you're doing a fabulous job!! Try not to worry too much about his food consumption. He'll eat more one day, less another, especially if there's a flavor in there he doesn't care for as much. Since Champ hates turkey & giblets, and I refuse to throw out good food, I went to the pet store yesterday and replenished my supply of freeze-dried chicken (large bag in the dog aisle!!). I sprinkle this on anything and he eats it like it was shrimp (his favorite food of all time).

I hope you have a really great day!!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155

+1 155 Thank you Patty! It has already become so much easier than it was a week and a half ago! He has definitely earned himself some raw chicken treats for being such an awesome kitty.
I go in to schedule my temp. job training next Wed.! 2 weeks of part time, then 6-8 weeks of fulltime+overtime (10 hour days x 7 days a week). WHOOHOO!
Once I get that huge paycheck and actually have some time off, I'm taking Mr. Howell to a new vet that only deals with cats. I have heard really great things about them and hopefully they won't be as ignorant as my last vet, who discouraged home testing, insisted on the 18%carb dry food, and said I could only get Lantus from him because it was specially made for animals... yeah, right... (oh yeah and he hooked me up with a $25 box of 100 40 GAUGE syringes...)
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155

dasypus said:
who discouraged home testing, insisted on the 18%carb dry food, and said I could only get Lantus from him because it was specially made for animals... yeah, right... (oh yeah and he hooked me up with a $25 box of 100 40 GAUGE syringes...)

:shock:

Yes, I would say a new vet is needed for sure! Lantus made for animals? Really? Sounds to me like your vet was either incredibly uneducated or being dishonest so he could milk you for money!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63

+3 63... yup! There it is, the crash I was waiting for... Mr. Howell is much more eager to eat today, as if he was anticipating this... I just gave him another 1/2can of Chicken FF, which he luvs.
I'll be monitoring him to make sure he doesn't continue to go down too much...
Shall I hold the 2u?
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63, +4 80

+4 80.. happy to see green today! Let's keep it like the weather Mr. Howell, high 80's and 90's :cool:
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63, +4 80, +5 103

Ohhhh Mr Howell is looking so much better! You really need to take a moment and pat yourself on the back. It will get easier from here. After awhile, things just come as second nature and it doesn't seem like every little decision is life or death. It is all a part of the sugar dance! :lol: :lol: :lol:

What impressive numbers today! Hope you have a great evening!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63, +4 80, +5 103, +

+6 88. Whoohoo, thanks guys!
His food schedule today has been: 1/2can FF at PMPS, 1/2can at +3.5. I checked him again at +6 and decided to put out another 1/4can FF because I've got to leave and I don't want to chance him dipping in the next 2 hours if nobody is home. Plus, he seemed hungry, and he didn't eat a lot yesterday!
Everyone has been so incredibly helpful! Mr. Howell really appreciates it, and so do I. :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63, +4 80, +5 103, +

+8 147. Mr. Howell has hung out in the blues and greens all day. It's amazing what the difference a new diet and routine can make!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63, +4 80, +5 103, +

Such a happy read today! Mr. Howell playing with newfound energy and beautiful numbers to boot!! So glad you're kicking that old vet to the curb!!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63 +5 103, PMPS 161

I put out 1/2can of FF at PMPS... Mr. Howell won't eat it because it's currently storming here. He is easily scared and hides during storms. I waited until +12.5 before I gave him his 2u, a little on the skinny side.
Now it's +2, he's at 132 and he still won't eat. I'm fighting to stay up because I don't want to go to bed not knowing if he's going to eat on his own.
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63 +5 103, PMPS 161

Can you entice him by putting some treats on his food?

With that PMPS, you really want to get a +1 and a +2. If your +1 is lower than your PMPS, Mr. Howell may have plans for you -- and I don't mean sleep!
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63 +5 103, PMPS 161

+2 132, +3 122.
I'm going to go try and feed him again... I am soo sleepy I keep dozing off here..
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63 +5 103, PMPS 161

Mr. Howell... you are the pickiest cat EVER.. he finally decided to eat when I gave him fresh FF, not the food that's been out since 8 p.m.
I'll be up at +6 to check him again
 
Re: 8/4 Mr. Howell AMPS 192, +1 155, +3 63 +5 103, PMPS 161

good job - glad you're getting up again to test him.

if you see a significant drop at a +2 test, that usually means you've gotta be on checking the rest of the cycle. just add that to your info!

if you get up and find mr howell is low, which is defined as below 50, you'll want to pull him up. just in case no one's online at that time, here's the post on how to do that. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46003

the trouble with finding the nadir is our sneaky little kitties move it around. in the textbook example it's about +6, but for some reason our cats don't always read the textbooks! so a good rule of thumb is if in doubt, test. if you're concerned, you want to be clearly past the nadir before you leave them alone, or if you can't stay awake and are a person who can't wake up with alarms, you can leave out higher carb food knowing that it's going to maybe make them higher than they needed to be.

and you are really doing an awesome job with mr. howell. i love saying his name, too. good night mr howell! :-D
 
Thank you, Julia.. I so wish he could talk to me sometimes and tell me exactly what he wants. I tossed his Beef FF dinner from earlier, which he never touched, but he did go for the chicken FF. I know feeding at +6 isn't great but he sniffed at his 1/2can FF at PMPS and that was it.
+6 91. Glad to see him in the high greens... you are one tricky kitty, Mr. Howell!
Back to bed, goodnight everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top