Danielle & Milo
Active Member
If you want, I can get your spreadsheet set up in 10 minutes - one less stressor. Check your private conversation.
Thank you but Chris has is started for me

If you want, I can get your spreadsheet set up in 10 minutes - one less stressor. Check your private conversation.
OK. To recap, you're going to do Milo's preshot test at 19:15 CST.
You need to make sure he doesn't eat after 17:15 (so that PM preshot test - PMPS - is not influenced by food. (NB - if Milo shows any signs of distress as described in the How to Treat Hypos guide, follow that instead. Unlikely, but for safety I always like to cover the bases.)
What is your local time right now?
.
Hi Danielle, I'm still a newbie at this too, my kitty was diagnosed a little over a month ago. We still go through some weird numbers that I don't understand the cause of, and I still spend a lot of my waking hours worried about Squaallie's BG going too low, or wondering why it's gone up so high. The second week after he was diagnosed he spent almost every day vomiting up his food, because his system was trying to adjust to a more normal BG. I know so well that feeling of "I just can't do this!"but trust me, you CAN. Milo is depending on you, and you can do this! It's daunting and frustrating, and things still happen that I don't always understand, but all the people here at FDMB are so incredibly knowledgeable and supportive. Listen to their advice and encouragement, and they will help you more than you can imagine. So take a deep breath and hold on, it's going to be a bumpy ride, but so very worth it in the end! Hugs to you and Milo!
Danielle,
You will be able to do this. You love Milo and that's why you hunted out this forum. The supportive, knowledgeable, experienced people here will help get you over this hump. Your vet made the mistake, not you. (I know it probably doesn't feel like that right now, but it's the truth. You did not screw up. Your gut instinct prompted you to find help and you have. This is a good thing.)
Again I say it is overwhelming at first, but it really will get easier - and more quickly than you realise right now.
Hang in there. There is an awful lot to take on board in the early days, but this is do-able. And as others have commented above, you are head and shoulders above a significant majority of people whose cats receive a diabetes diagnosis and choose not to treat it. You are saving Milo.
![]()
Atta girl!I will do WHATEVER it takes to save my baby and Diabetes will not WIN!
I am on track!!!!!!!! I went to the store and got the CORRECT syringes this time, got Ketone strips, and more canned food for my baby. I am HAPPY to announce that Milo happily went downstairs with me to give me his first at home ketone reading. He was peeing and I stared at him and he looked at me like I was crazy! LOL I waited till he was done and then stuck the test strip in the pee puddle and tried not to get any litter on it. For the first time since his diagnosis and assuming I did the test right, he was NEGATIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! When he was first diagnosed he was +1 for 2 days which put him in the hospital. 2 weeks ago he was TRACE at the vet office now he is NEGATIVE! This was a small victory that I needed after a not so good day. I am getting ready to test Milo in about an hour and do his insulin. I am expecting his numbers to be high tonight since I got a fur shot this morningI have to get tonight's injection RIGHT! I will update later tonight! Wish me luck!
Danielle - It is SO obvious how very much you love your Milo, how thoroughly committed you are to learning everything you possibly can, and how absolutely determined you are to heal him & beat back diabetes that it really touches the hearts of all of us here! You & Milo WILL get there!!!I will do WHATEVER it takes to save my baby and Diabetes will not WIN!
when you wake up tomorrow, can you do me a favor and get a couple tests in the first couple hours from the shot..like +1-+3? I'd like to see exactly how fast he's dropping. As the spreadsheet fills in the puzzle pieces, we'll start to see it come together.
You ARE using U100 syringes!! The difference is that these syringes will only hold a MAXIMUM of 30 units...the other ones would hold 100 units
U100 insulin just means there are 100 "pieces" of insulin in a mL....the "U" means a different type of "Unit"
SorryI'm bad at this can't you tell?
I don't think so at all! You ask questions, you learn, you get better and better. Just think where you were a few days ago!
Don't fret, Danielle - it's all very confounding at first. Lantus is an insulin first developed for human use; you use U100 syringes with it. (These syringes can hold a maximum of 30 units of U100-type insulin.) I'm just trying to understand what actually happened earlier; if the vet gave you U100 syringes to use with Lantus, these are the correct syringes.SorryI'm bad at this can't you tell?
@Chris & China - Thanks for clearing that one up for me, Chris! (Perhaps the vet had the large-capacity syringes for treating diabetic horses???@Robin&BB ..U100 syringes also come in different sizes...some ONLY hold 30 units...some hold as much as 100 units....the syringes her vet/pharmacist gave her were U100 syringes that would hold 100 Units of insulin, which are fine for humans that are using 30-40 units at a time, but no good for sugarcats.Each "line" on the syringe was 2Units....there were 50 "lines" on the side of the syringe. The ones she is using now hold a maximum of 30 units and have half unit markings
No dosing advice from me, but I think you should probably change your topic heading- GA is for those kitties who have crossed the Rainbow Bridge.
Hi, Danielle - I see on SS that you shot him - good! (General rule = no shot under 200.) You'll want to test around +3 to where he's heading. Did he eat his full ration for you this morning?Milo's AMPS was 253 and now he is eating!
DO I SHOOT???? HELP!!!!!!!!!!!! He gets 2 units twice daily and I only have 10 minutes to make a decision and have someone help me!
Hi, Danielle - I see on SS that you shot him - good! (General rule = no shot under 200.) You'll want to test around +3 to where he's heading. Did he eat his full ration for you this morning?
Excellent! You might want to approach today in mini-curve fashion, as you're looking for his nadir. (That was a very good pre-shot # he popped this morning, btw.) Usually (and I emphasize "usually" because every cat's different) the drop on Lantus is a bit softer than on, say, ProZinc - but that said, we don't know what Milo does after a 263 AMPS. The important thing for you to remember is that hypo-zone is less than 50; he has lots of margin left here so far. You're doing fine: Just don't panic when he starts dropping (i.e., unless he's suddenly dropped to around 60 or less, I wouldn't feed him because you're trying to see - by testing more frequently today - how his pancreas is processing the insulin). Will be interesting to see his # on the next test! Does that make sense?![]()
I would test @ +4, too. (You might consider a little cuddle or scritch under the chin as reward after test instead of a treat. Really, even a dinky treat can muddy the BG waters when you're trying to locate nadirs. Just sayin' ...)This makes TOTAL sense! I just posted his 2nd BG test below. at +2 he was 218! I gave him a small treat. I will not feed him again until 7:00pm tonight just before I shot him for his second dose of insulin. My ACT NOW number will be 68 and I know I have some wiggle room at that number before he would drop to 50 and below. I already have a hypo kit prepared for today in case it happens!
I will be testing him again at +6 unless you think I need an earlier test?
I would test @ +4, too. (You might consider a little cuddle or scritch under the chin as reward after test instead of a treat. Really, even a dinky treat can muddy the BG waters when you're trying to locate nadirs. Just sayin' ...)![]()