Danielle & Milo
Member Since 2015
I everyone! I posted a few days ago about my newly diabetic kitty Milo. It has been a very long few days and I am completely stressed, overwhelmed and feel helpless at this point.
Here are the important details for Milo, before I begin recapping the past few days.
Milo is 2 years old, diagnosed in June 2015. His last vet trip he had ketones as TRACE still in his urine. I recently took him OFF the Hills Prescription Dry Food m/d. He know eats Fancy Feast Classics Pate with Pure Bites Chicken Dog Treats sprinkled on top. He is on Lantus (One unit, twice daily). His dosages have changed at least 4 times in the past 2 weeks. He was originally on one unit, once daily. Then was on 2 units once daily. Then 2 units in the morning and one unit at night. Now he has been on 1 unit, twice daily. Tomorrow will be his 3rd day on this dosage of one unit, twice daily. I shoot him at 7:30am and 7:30pm. I use the Alpha Trak testing meter.
Here is a recap of the past few days:
Friday, July 31st
-BG test reading: 509 at 7:30am - Gave 2 units of insulin
-BG test reading: 360 at 11:15am
-BG test reading: 266 at 7:22pm - Gave 1 unit of insulin
-BG test reading: 177 at 10:13pm
Saturday, August 1st
-BG test reading: 134 (His lowest number since on insulin) at 7:15am - SKIPPED INSULIN DOSE!!!!!!!
-BG test reading: 342 at 12:30pm
-BG test reading: 427 at 7:20pm - Gave 1 unit of insulin
-BG test reading: 291 at 12:00am
Sunday, August 2nd
-BG test reading: 394 at 7:15am - Gave 1 unit of insulin
-BG test reading: 224 at 12:30pm
-BG test reading: 636 at 7:15pm (His HIGHEST number he has ever been since diagnosed)
-BG test reading to determine if false reading: 641 at 7:20pm - Gave 1 unit of insulin
***I think his numbers could be high today because we were dog sitting and he HATES dogs and never again will we be dog sitting. So Milo was crouching around all day from smelling the dog but he has been acting like himself other than that!
***Milo has also been throwing up. He threw up this past Friday and then tonight he threw up right after eating (He tends to eat too fast too)
***I will be testing again at +2 (9:30pm)
At this point I do not know what to do anymore and any advice about Lantus would be greatly appreciated. I really thought Milo was taking a good turn and then he got into the 600s and I do not understand why.
My vet originally told me to do 2 units twice daily but I thought that was too much for him.
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am beyond depressed being new to all of this, the cost of all of this and emotionally drained with not know what do to anymore for him. I am not ready to lose my baby and will do whatever it takes to get him regulated. My husband and I are suppose to go on vacation in 2 weeks but if we cannot get him regulated that will not be happening.
I am DESPERATE for help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Here are the important details for Milo, before I begin recapping the past few days.
Milo is 2 years old, diagnosed in June 2015. His last vet trip he had ketones as TRACE still in his urine. I recently took him OFF the Hills Prescription Dry Food m/d. He know eats Fancy Feast Classics Pate with Pure Bites Chicken Dog Treats sprinkled on top. He is on Lantus (One unit, twice daily). His dosages have changed at least 4 times in the past 2 weeks. He was originally on one unit, once daily. Then was on 2 units once daily. Then 2 units in the morning and one unit at night. Now he has been on 1 unit, twice daily. Tomorrow will be his 3rd day on this dosage of one unit, twice daily. I shoot him at 7:30am and 7:30pm. I use the Alpha Trak testing meter.
Here is a recap of the past few days:
Friday, July 31st
-BG test reading: 509 at 7:30am - Gave 2 units of insulin
-BG test reading: 360 at 11:15am
-BG test reading: 266 at 7:22pm - Gave 1 unit of insulin
-BG test reading: 177 at 10:13pm
Saturday, August 1st
-BG test reading: 134 (His lowest number since on insulin) at 7:15am - SKIPPED INSULIN DOSE!!!!!!!
-BG test reading: 342 at 12:30pm
-BG test reading: 427 at 7:20pm - Gave 1 unit of insulin
-BG test reading: 291 at 12:00am
Sunday, August 2nd
-BG test reading: 394 at 7:15am - Gave 1 unit of insulin
-BG test reading: 224 at 12:30pm
-BG test reading: 636 at 7:15pm (His HIGHEST number he has ever been since diagnosed)
-BG test reading to determine if false reading: 641 at 7:20pm - Gave 1 unit of insulin
***I think his numbers could be high today because we were dog sitting and he HATES dogs and never again will we be dog sitting. So Milo was crouching around all day from smelling the dog but he has been acting like himself other than that!
***Milo has also been throwing up. He threw up this past Friday and then tonight he threw up right after eating (He tends to eat too fast too)
***I will be testing again at +2 (9:30pm)
At this point I do not know what to do anymore and any advice about Lantus would be greatly appreciated. I really thought Milo was taking a good turn and then he got into the 600s and I do not understand why.
My vet originally told me to do 2 units twice daily but I thought that was too much for him.
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am beyond depressed being new to all of this, the cost of all of this and emotionally drained with not know what do to anymore for him. I am not ready to lose my baby and will do whatever it takes to get him regulated. My husband and I are suppose to go on vacation in 2 weeks but if we cannot get him regulated that will not be happening.
I am DESPERATE for help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited:

, confused
... 