Re: 8/4 Michael AMPS 434 +5 326 PMPS 309
from the
"new to the Group" sticky:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.
Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
so basically the "normal Lantus cycle" is a flattened U shape on the spreadsheet. Michael doesn't have much of that yet - 7/27 is probably the best example of a normal cycle. He was 300 at amps, went down to 219 +5, and back up to 299 at pmps. it's high overall, but it's a curve.
when you have a bounce, the body lets loose counterregulatory hormones and stored sugars to counteract what it perceives as a hypo. Michael's not used to normal numbers at the moment, so yesterday when he hit around 109 at +9, his body responded as though it was hypoglycemia. from that 109 he's gone straight up - pmps 131, pmps+2 156, and then instead of going down into a curve, he kept going up resulting in the amps of 434 this morning. The rest of today he's been bobbling around high 326, pmps 309. he may be starting to come down now, as i said, if he's down further in a couple of hours that might say that the bounce is resolving.
sometimes cats can have their blood sugar bobble around high for a couple of days - it's not at 400 anymore, and it moves a little - say 300-240-200-300, but it doesn't come back to the range that triggered the bounce.
the way you know it's completely resolved is when he gets back around 100 again, where he started yesterday.
bounces can last up to 3 full days. as a cat gets used to normal numbers, their bounces will get less intense, ie, they might only bounce to 250 or even 200, and they won't last as long. sometimes bounces can only last one cycle.
that's long, but maybe that helps explain it a little better.
when a cat is better regulated, they'll have a flattened u shape to their curve on the spreadsheet for most cycles. Michael might be a little different with his meds, too, if they increase his BGs. It's not a problem, just something to be aware of.