8/4 Kee, AMPS 111 NS Trial, +3 144, +6 148 +9 240, PMPS 295 Failed trial. +3 89

smesx

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

No shot this morning, doing the no shot trial as suggested by @Wendy&Neko

In the blue right now, just fed a smaller meal and will retest in 3 hrs to see what happens.
 
Looks like he came up at +3. :( Let’s see if the trend continues. You have a couple other options for giving insulin. One is to feed a slightly higher carb food that you are giving now, so you can keep on giving the same dose of insulin. What are you feeding now? A second option is a smaller dose. When people do a drop, they usually push the syringe plunger in as hard as possible, insert into the pen/vial, release the plunger and let the vacuum suck up a drop.
 
Looks like he came up at +3. :( Let’s see if the trend continues. You have a couple other options for giving insulin. One is to feed a slightly higher carb food that you are giving now, so you can keep on giving the same dose of insulin. What are you feeding now? A second option is a smaller dose. When people do a drop, they usually push the syringe plunger in as hard as possible, insert into the pen/vial, release the plunger and let the vacuum suck up a drop.

+3 144
+6 148

Looks like Kee's not ready for prime time.

I've given him a few snacks today. Feeding FF flaked, and he ate some FF chicken pate for a snack.

For dosing I do that now, push in the plunger and release upon inserting in vial, then i draw it ever so slightly and thats it... I can try just depressing the plunger and releasing and using that as the dose.
 
+9 240 :(

Not totally unexpected but slightly disappointing.

I'm assuming I can go ahead and give PM dose when its time? (@Wendy&Neko)
 
I can monitor, I have some 6 carb roasted chicken that I'm not sure he will eat well. Then I have some 13/14 carb stuff that he will eat ok. I suppose I could mix MC/LC or run to the store and pick up something in between.
 
I posted this on the 8/3 condo and then realized it was the wrong one so cut it for her. I see Wendy has suggested the same thing.

@Wendy&Neko and @Marje and Gracie Do you think Kee is ready for an OTJ trial? Do you have any advice?
Kee doesn’t really look quite remission ready if I base it on the last few days and especially after seeing today’s numbers.

One thing we often try is to feed a higher low carb food (like 10%) so the BG comes up a bit and you can get a small amount of insulin in them without the BG tanking. This often allows them to stay in healing numbers longer and then on to remission.
 
PMPS 295

I shot the same prior dose. I updated the spreadsheet to reflect 0.1u rather than 1 drop. If I get to that point I'll do the plunger push/stick in pen/release as "1 drop" in the future.


We'll see how this goes, I'll try to look for some food that is closer to the 10% carb range.
 
Back
Top