8/4 Jasper PMPS 63, +1 57, +2 56, +3 72, +4 59, +5 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leslie and Jasper

Member Since 2012
Jasper is at his lowest AMPS yet and as usual I am bit nervous about shooting this low especially his full dose. We beans slept through the night and we think he might have earned a reduction if we had tested his pm nadir so we are inclined to give him reduced dose this moring. We have not had coffee ~O) yet, am I missing somethign?What do you all think?
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AM 52 OK to reduce dose? Please advise

Wow. You've been testing like a fiend. I think you may have me beat -- and I'm a confirmed testaholic.

Jasper's numbers look great!! So, here's the scoop. A dose reduction is "earned" in one of two ways. (I know -- you know this!) Either Jasper's numbers drop below 50 or he's in normal range for 7 days. He's not dropped below 50 from what you've seen. He 'may' have last night but the AM cycle was a beautiful, flat green cycle so there's no way to know if the PM was a repeat or exactly where the numbers were. You're starting day 5 of his 7 green days.

If you were using HC to prop up Jasper's numbers yesterday, I'd say to take the reduction. If you were feeding as usual, reducing the dose isn't according to the protocol.

If you're raising the question because of the lower pre-shot, I can understand your being nervous. I'd still say to shoot your usual 0.75u dose. You're going to be feeding Jasper and Lantus onset looks like it begins around +3 so numbers may rise. Of course, Jasper may decide he wants that reduction this cycle. There's no way to know. If you shoot, please get a +1 and a +2. If you want to shoot a reduced dose for this one cycle, it's your call.
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AM 52 OK to reduce dose? Please advise

Thanks!! Yes it was the AMBG 52 that made me nervous now that Jasper has been in the green I worry about him getting too close to hypo. Also worried decreasing his dose prematurely woudl undermine the path we are on. I tested again after 30 min and got 57 we just gave him his full dose though it was 1/2 hour later than his normal 12 hour interval. We will test him at +1, +2 and probably more. We free feed him FF Classic pate only plus a lick of plain greek yogurt as his test treat.
My guesss Jasper will surprise me one way or another today, at least next data will be after much needed ~O) ~O)
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61

Whew, what a difference coffee ~O) makes! Looks like Jasper may try to earn a reduction the low way, I keep telling him we prefer the slow way, but he is impatient so we shall see. He has been mostly tolerant of the testing even though I don't get a good droplet on the first try every time. His ears seem to be getting worn out and we got a full curve yesterday so if his +2 is as expected, we will probably to spread out his testing today to rest his ears.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61

Let Jasper's numbers dictate how you test. I'd still get a +2 and see what you need to do from there. Remember, in a typical curve, your +1 is higher than your PS and the +2 is about the same. So far, Jasper has surfed to the +1. See what the +2 tells you.
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47

Yep, Jasper has earned a reduction the low way. He earned his first reduction the same way on day 2 of Lantus so I guess the low way works for him. Now we will keep an eye on him to make sure he does not dip too low. Thanks again for helping us think through this and stay the course.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44

Congrats on the reduction.

Could you pls feed him a couple tsp LC and see if you can get him into the 50s to surf? I'd like to see him out of the 40s. And we would love to see another test in 30 minutes please :-D :-D

Thanks Leslie!
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42

Leslie

When he's in the 40s, we need you to test every 30 mins and feed him to bring him up. He's flat but he still has some time to go and he needs to be in the 50s. He's earned his reduction so please bring him up with higher LC or MC. At this low number, he has no margin for error and I really don't want him in the 30s. So up please :-D

Please let me kNow last time you fed and what you fed and how long until +4.5. Thanks!
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42

We want him up from the 40s too. He has been grazing the FF as usual and Andy is now spoon feeding him more of that. He won't eat the freezed dried treats, he gets plain yogurt or cottage cheese for tests. If he balks at eating we will also up the food ante today and give him human food treats he may like maybe bit of lunch meat or tuna in water or smoked salmon. Told Jasper no hypo, hope he cooperates!
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42

Do you have any of the foods with gravy? I'd start giving him a tsp of gravy after every test ok? If he drops any more, he needs HC food ...a tsp...or karo.
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42

Just saw your post, we will test every 30 min until he is back in the 50s, thanks. Next test in about 5 min. We have some gravy food, leftover dry food we can wet crush into gravy, also syrup ready at hand.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42

Just use the gravy. Dry is a pain in the neck. It takes too long to work and to work it's way out of the system.

I guess Jasper told you he was done with this dose!
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42

Leslie

Sienne's going to jump back in and watch you all....we're kind of tag teaming but I need to run out now. Hope he comes up quickly.
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42, +4.5 42

His 4.5 was 42 so at least not dropping further. Jasper snarfed down about 1/4 can of the gravy food right after 4.5 test so hoping next test is up. Next test ~2:16 pm ET. Thanks for keeping watch with us!
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57, +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42, +5 77

Jasper seems to be coming back up, whew! We will continue testing to make sure he sustains it. Right now I really am relieved to see him out of the 40s. Hard to believe I was anticpating a quiet day and spreading out his testing, now we have testmania. I hadn't changed to 911 since you were already coaching us, thanks very much I really appreciate the support.

I just reread the handling low numbers post, think we got it mostly right so far. Its why we stocked some gravy food just in case, this one is FF Turkey Feast with Gravy Marinated Classic, very sloppy. I estimate Jasper ate about 2 tsp after accounting for spillage and help from the other cat. I will give him another spoonful if his next test is lower. I have the syrup ready but have not given him any. FWIW Jasper is playful and no visible symptoms of hypo. If I am missing anything please let me know. Off to next test, back soon.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57 +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42 +5 77 +5.5

Jasper is up a bit since last test, looks promising. I am hoping he has had enough drama and maintains this level in the coming tests.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57 +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42 +5 77 +5.5

You're not missing a thing and doing everything correctly. You don't need to pull out syrup in the vast majority of situations. You also need to think about low numbers vs. hypoglycemia. Unless there are symptoms, it's not hypoglycemia.
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57 +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42 +5 77 +5.5

Great job, Leslie! You are a pro! Get on that surfboard, Jasper. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57 +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42 +5 77 +5.5

It looks like he's on his way back up. I would wait an hour and test again.

For this evening, you can reduce Jasper's dose to 0.5u. I'm assuming he's not going to bounce, but you never know. If his numbers shoot up way high, like pinks, I would shoot the old dose (0.75u) tonight and the reduced dose in the AM.

Great job today!!
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57 +1 61, +2 47, +3 44, +4 42 +5 77 +5.5

Jasper's +6 is 63, lower than his +5.5 and by coincidence exactly what his +6 was yesterday. The rise was probably food spike then a sizeable drop in just 30 minutes, we gave him about 1/4 tsp of gravy food after the +6 test to keep him from dropping too far too fast. Hopefully he settles in the comfort zone soon. So far this is low numbers but no hypo symptoms so not hypo yay! Fortunately this is a day we are both home and able to hang around the house all day.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57 +1 61, +2 47, +4 42, +6 63 PMPS 63

Jasper has been nice flat green 60s last few hours, we just gave him his first 0.50 dose :mrgreen: . We will check his +1 and +2 and hope for an uneventful night!
Thanks again to everyone who coached us through the low numbers.
Leslie & Andy
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper AMPS 57 +1 61, +2 47, +4 42, +6 63 PMPS 63

If you'd like, you can delete the AM numbers from your subject line. I'd get some early tests!!
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper PMPS 63, +1 57, +2 56

Just got his +2, Jasper is holding steady but a bit low for comfort after today's excitement. I am going to try to stay awake for a +3 at midnight to make sure he is not dropping.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper PMPS 63, +1 57, +2 56, +3 72

His +3 is 72, nice uptick from his +2, thank you Jasper! I expect he should be OK overnight, I am thiinking aim to get one more test in this range tonight before going to bed.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper PMPS 63, +1 57, +2 56, +3 72

Glad he came up. Maybe you can give him a break, do a +5 and call it a night. Up to you :-D
 
Re: 8/4 Jasper PMPS 63, +1 57, +2 56, +3 72

I am aiming for test at +4 mainly to reassure myself he is staying away from the edge, then call it a night. Hard to believe that in my younger days I was quite a night owl, no trouble staying up till all hours and still functioning the next day.
Leslie
 
Jasper +6 is same as his +5 and I think he will be steady now and I am plenty tired, can't even see which is the sleepy smilie. Hope we have an uneventful day tomorrow which is today already, thanks and good night!
Leslie
 
I hope you get some rest.n if you get up in an hour or so for the WC or a drink of water, you might just check him.

Ni ni.
 
Leslie & Jasper,

You guys have been doing a great job. I'm sure yesterday was a bit exhausting for you both, but I'm happy to see Jasper's numbers came up so you could get some rest.

Keep up the good work and it looks to me like a well-earned dose reduction. Kudos. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top