Ana & Frosty (GA)
Member Since 2018
Frosty's numbers have been trending down at nadir, and trending up at the pre-shot, but he was doing relatively well on 2.25u over-all. However, on 7/31, he went down to 62 (AlphaTrack2 meters) at +4. I fed him 1/2 of the gravy lovers FF, and he came right back up - was 98 20 minutes later, and 116 after another 20 minutes.
The next morning he bounced to 512, which was not a surprise, and I decreased his dose to 2 units. His pre-shot that night was 365 (normal for him), and I gave him 2 units again, but at +4 he was already 127. I went to bed and SET MY ALARM for 12:30 am, and I don't know how it's possible that I don't even remember turning it off, but I didn't wake up til much later, and it was too late to check his sugar at that point. (Needles to say, I am freaking exhausted). The next morning he gave me a pre-shot of 453, which is unusually high for him (usually he is 200s-300s pre-shot.) So I THINK he probably went low again on 2 units.
I wasn't gonna be home all day on 8/2, so I did not want to give him 2 again, and wanted to drain the depot a little. I am really afraid of possible hypoglycemia on Vetoryl, as one kitty experienced on here, and ended up passing away. I did not want to give nothing with a pre-shot of 460, so I gave 1.5 units in AM and PM that day, just to be safe since I wasn't gonna be home to check and to drain that depot a little bit. I increased the dose to 1.75u the following day and was going to stick with that dose until today, and do a curve.
HOWEVER, I got stuck at work with an emergency gallbladder last night (don't people KNOW
), and Dan checked his PMPS and gave a shot. He decided that since PMPS was 296, it was too low, and he only gave 1.5 units, despite what I told him... So that explains the shitty sugars today I think. Sigh... I mean, I get that he is afraid of a low number after the scary stories I have told him, but I think Frosty would have done well on 1.75 units.
I hope everyone is still following this complicated story.
My plan is to continue him on 1.75u on a few more cycles to see how he does. I kind of want his nadirs to stay between 100-150, it seems the safest for him. The greens are just too close for comfort given he is on Vetoryl. There isn't much difference between 90 and 100 anyway.
He restarted his Vetoryl on Monday, and has only had one small emesis on Monday during the day, but has been fine since. He is pooping well and acting normal. Right now he is laying next to me on the desk and napping as I type this. He has become my little buddy oner the past week. He has even been sleeping with me, but at my feet. Not sure if this is because my other cats sleep near my head. But it's cute... after all these months, he finally know I am his momma
I am also giving him Pepcid with Vetoryl in the morning to minimize any effects on his GI tract. Also, I decreased his feedings from 2 FF pates per meal to 1.5 . When I changed his onesie the other day, I noticed he filled out well, and looks almost plump. He sort of grew into his big belly. His onesie clips also keep opening - I think it might be getting too small. He is a big boy but with the vomiting and seeing his weight improve, I think it is safe to decrease a little for now. That may partially explain the decrease in the insulin requirements too.
I also had a discussion with Dr. McCue on Thursday from Animal Medical Center about possible pituitary removal. I will post more information about this on the Cushing's forum. One thing I learned that I feel is relevant to this post is that Vetoryl CAN be poorly tolerated and cause GI issues in both dogs AND cats. So I think it's safe to assume that the vomiting may have been due to being on vetoryl for 2 months, and may have caused some gastritis.
I am planning to contact his IM vet this week (she has been away) and update her on Frosty's vomiting issues, as well as discuss the possibility of brain surgery with her. I am not sure she will be in favor of it, but it is a big decision and I feel I need another vet's opinion. Neither treatment guarantees a good outcome here, as both are relatively experimental. But it is what it is... this is the cards we've been deal with.
Hope everyone is having a happy Caturday!
The next morning he bounced to 512, which was not a surprise, and I decreased his dose to 2 units. His pre-shot that night was 365 (normal for him), and I gave him 2 units again, but at +4 he was already 127. I went to bed and SET MY ALARM for 12:30 am, and I don't know how it's possible that I don't even remember turning it off, but I didn't wake up til much later, and it was too late to check his sugar at that point. (Needles to say, I am freaking exhausted). The next morning he gave me a pre-shot of 453, which is unusually high for him (usually he is 200s-300s pre-shot.) So I THINK he probably went low again on 2 units.
I wasn't gonna be home all day on 8/2, so I did not want to give him 2 again, and wanted to drain the depot a little. I am really afraid of possible hypoglycemia on Vetoryl, as one kitty experienced on here, and ended up passing away. I did not want to give nothing with a pre-shot of 460, so I gave 1.5 units in AM and PM that day, just to be safe since I wasn't gonna be home to check and to drain that depot a little bit. I increased the dose to 1.75u the following day and was going to stick with that dose until today, and do a curve.
HOWEVER, I got stuck at work with an emergency gallbladder last night (don't people KNOW
I hope everyone is still following this complicated story.
My plan is to continue him on 1.75u on a few more cycles to see how he does. I kind of want his nadirs to stay between 100-150, it seems the safest for him. The greens are just too close for comfort given he is on Vetoryl. There isn't much difference between 90 and 100 anyway.He restarted his Vetoryl on Monday, and has only had one small emesis on Monday during the day, but has been fine since. He is pooping well and acting normal. Right now he is laying next to me on the desk and napping as I type this. He has become my little buddy oner the past week. He has even been sleeping with me, but at my feet. Not sure if this is because my other cats sleep near my head. But it's cute... after all these months, he finally know I am his momma

I am also giving him Pepcid with Vetoryl in the morning to minimize any effects on his GI tract. Also, I decreased his feedings from 2 FF pates per meal to 1.5 . When I changed his onesie the other day, I noticed he filled out well, and looks almost plump. He sort of grew into his big belly. His onesie clips also keep opening - I think it might be getting too small. He is a big boy but with the vomiting and seeing his weight improve, I think it is safe to decrease a little for now. That may partially explain the decrease in the insulin requirements too.
I also had a discussion with Dr. McCue on Thursday from Animal Medical Center about possible pituitary removal. I will post more information about this on the Cushing's forum. One thing I learned that I feel is relevant to this post is that Vetoryl CAN be poorly tolerated and cause GI issues in both dogs AND cats. So I think it's safe to assume that the vomiting may have been due to being on vetoryl for 2 months, and may have caused some gastritis.
I am planning to contact his IM vet this week (she has been away) and update her on Frosty's vomiting issues, as well as discuss the possibility of brain surgery with her. I am not sure she will be in favor of it, but it is a big decision and I feel I need another vet's opinion. Neither treatment guarantees a good outcome here, as both are relatively experimental. But it is what it is... this is the cards we've been deal with.
Hope everyone is having a happy Caturday!

Last edited:
