8/4/13 Miko AMPS 490 -- insulin delayed, not eating again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah & Miko

Member Since 2013
Hi all -- yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101468&p=1082704#p1082704

Miko started doing REALLY well last night -- he was active and playing and purring when he dipped into the high 300s.

But now he's in pain and nauseous again and his AM injection is already late by about 15 min while I work on getting food into him.

He's hand eaten a little -- how much does he need to eat? And if I give his injection much later, do I need to reduce the dose? I THINK I'm planning on giving him 2.5 again although part of me wonders if he did better on the 2 units? It's probably all related to the pancreatitis and not the insulin. Sigh.

I don't think I can withhold food for two hours prior to his injections while he's off like this -- it cuts it too close to the insulin time when he won't eat. :(
 
Re: 8/4/13 Miko AMPS 490 -- insulin delayed, not eating agai

Are you giving him Ondansetron for nausea?
It looks like he needs the insulin. As long as you can be home and keep hand feeding him, I would give him his full dose.
 
Re: 8/4/13 Miko AMPS 490 -- insulin delayed, not eating agai

Yes, he's getting Ondansetron for the nausea and buprenorphine for the pain. I just gave him the 2.5u. He seems a little wobbly in his left back leg today. Working on getting urine.
 
Re: 8/4/13 Miko AMPS 490 -- insulin delayed, not eating agai

Has he had his bupe and ondansatron?

Also, please get some Miralax for Miko if you're giving him bupe. Any narcotic can cause constipation. That's something else that can make him uncomfortable.

It's important to aggressively treat the pancreatitis. It's painful. Given how good cats are at hiding their discomfort, just like with humans, it's important to stay ahead of the pain. It's the same for nausea. If you give the meds when you think it's needed, you've got a kitty who's in pain and nauseated and who won't want to eat. Pancreatitis doesn't resolve in a day or two.

Also, if you delay a shot, you don't want to reduce the dose. A late shot already acts like a dose reduction since you're losing the overlap between doses.
 
Re: 8/4/13 Miko AMPS 490 -- insulin delayed, not eating agai

Thanks, Sienne -- this was so helpful. I had him on both meds but they were both a few hours delayed because of the schedule he started on in hospital. If I'd known that it would impact him like that I would have set the alarm for 3:45 and dosed, but at least now he's on them regularly (even if he is starting to run away from me). So his pain and nausea, at least, seem a lot better with no breaks in dosing, even though his BG is climbing again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top