8/4/13 Marley Dosing Help Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

laurencuth

Member Since 2013
last time: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101164

So, we've had a crazy past couple of days that have resulted in my not being able to post here. The last two mornings, Marley's am preshot test has been under 200. I have not given him the shot because we have been on our way out the door both mornings to be gone most of the morning. How do I need to proceed? Also, Marley threw up clear liquid (twice yesterday, but not since then) and he has been pooping frequently, but it's normal poop. He may have eaten some "carb droppings" as we have had 4 little kids running around the house this weekend instead of the usual two, but I don't have evidence of that. Anyway, please tell me what I should do with his dose.
 
FWIW, we shoot lower numbers here than on the Health board. We use 150 as our "post and ask for help" number.

I do think today would have been a great opportunity to shoot the 185 and see how Marley does although it sounds like you were going to be gone. I agree -- safety is paramount.

What I would suggest is to start thinking about what pre-shot number you are comfortable shooting. You can then work toward shooting progressively lower numbers.

I wouldn't change Marley's dose. We don't yet know how well this dose is working, given the skipped shots. I'm optimistic that it's working well given the blue pre-shots.
 
Thanks! I'll be able to watch him more closely tomorrow. So go ahead and shoot normal dose unless he is under 150?
 
Even below 150 isn't necessarily "don't shoot", but if it's in that range, you probably want to post here first and ask for some help since you're not used to shooting at lower numbers. Others will be able to reassure you that it's safe to shoot and walk you through when to test, what to feed if he starts dropping too low, etc. Most who have been following Tight Regulation for a while will shoot anything over 50 - but nobody expects you to start doing that all at once or without help because it's important to keep Marley safe.

It's great Marley is seeing lower numbers :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top