8/31 Trey's PMPS is 69, AMPS 99, +1 138 +6 135 Need help

Trey's Mom

Member Since 2019
His numbers are staying in the green for the most part. I am afraid to give him his PMPS which should have been 15 minutes ago. I really don't want to stay up all night like I did last night testing him. I've read how to handle low numbers & realize 69 isn't considered low. I am waiting 30 minutes & will test again. My concern is how low will it go?

he's on .25 U Lantus
20 minutes later his bg is 62
 
Last edited:
I believe the 0.5u depot is still in effect. And since he's still dropping, I wouldn't shoot right now either. Have you fed yet and how far off schedule can you be?
 
I'm not completely comfortable giving dosing advice but for safety's sake, it might be worth it to skip tonight if no one with better knowledge replies. Do you have ketone strips? I would also test for ketones if you skip tonight because of Trey's DKA.
 
Since you fed and you're doing SLGS, it might be wise to skip tonight.

As far as the 69, Trey may need another reduction but it is quite close to your last one so I hope an expert comes by to give you dosing advice for tomorrow. I believe the next smallest dose is 0.1u. Do you know how to dose with calipers?
 
For one thing, he's still sliding down. For the second thing, you're probably exhausted from being up last night. It IS ok to reduce or skip a shot for those two reasons. But I agree with above, check for ketones since he has a history - that is the only worry about skipping or reducing since the BG is likely to go higher and the ketones could become more of a problem that sleep deprivation...but only time and testing will tell which direction he's heading at this point...
 
His ketones have been negative as well as urine bg. I am going to test bg in about 15 minutes. I haven't used calipers but have the document explaining how to do it. Need to buy calipers. I also have honey, fancy feast gravy lovers if I need it . Hopefully not.
I don't plan on giving his pm shot.
 
His ketones have been negative as well as urine bg. I am going to test him in about 15 minutes. I haven't used calipers but have the document explaining how to do it. Need to buy calipers. I also have honey, fancy feast gravy lovers if I need it . Hopefully not.
I don't plan on giving his pm shot.

I saw a mention above of a 'history of DKA' - so how long ago was that?

I like the calipers from Harbor Freight - inexpensive and light/small - easy to use. You'll love them for those smaller and smaller doses...Trey looks like he means business and is responding very well - thrilling to see all that green so soon :joyful::joyful:
 
The DKA was diagnosed on 8/15 when he had pancreatitis. I know Ive said this before but I feel that his green numbers so soon have to do with being weaned off prednisolone. Also the disadvantage of going green so soon is not getting a good idea of what is happening with each glucose unit change. I've had to reduce to .25 fairly quickly in my opinion & he probably needs to go to .1 U
Thanks everyone for replying.
 
The DKA was diagnosed on 8/15 when he had pancreatitis. I know Ive said this before but I feel that his green numbers so soon have to do with being weaned off prednisolone. Also the disadvantage of going green so soon is not getting a good idea of what is happening with each glucose unit change. I've had to reduce to .25 fairly quickly in my opinion & he probably needs to go to .1 U
Thanks everyone for replying.

I agree...ease on down on the juice...it could very well be a combination of things causing this nice drop...but you want to be safe...so go with your instinct...hopefully less prednisone is allowing his pancreas to come back to life...:D
 
Back
Top