8/31 Tibbs amps 372 pmps 331 reducing dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
after much research and advice from all of you great folks, we decided to wind back a little bit. i am going back to 1.5 units where, as you can see from his spreadsheet, he was getting some yellows. it is thought that his insulin may be too high and it would be better to go back to a dose that was starting to show some better numbers. at the same time, i am working like crazy to get His Majesty to eat only wet food. i will try to transition him by using young again zero carb dry while he is still licking up the water from the wet food. i am also trying different wet foods & making them soupy, adding fortiflora, parmesean, everything that you all suggested. he is licking up some of the wet food so i will hold the reduced 1.5 dose for about 10 days or so while trying to get him totally off the dry. also checking for ketones every other day and as was also suggested , trying to get some mid cycle readings at different times.
i feel like i have a plan now. thanks to all of you for your help and great suggestions.
keeping our paws crossed for better numbers :thumbup :thumbup
 
Sounds like an excellent plan, Nadine! I'll be keeping my fingers crossed that His Majesty the Tibbster will decide that wet food is the way to go!
 
thank you both for all of your help. here's hoping The Sovereign, His Highness Mr. Tibbs eats the wet food and starts giving some good numbers.
LOL . thanks again
 
Also, with reducing the insulin, you can get a bit more stubborn with Himself and not cave in to the food issues. He will eat .
 
15-20 minutes of active play may help trigger eating via the hunt-catch-kill-eat-groom-sleep behavior cycle.
 
yes. great idea. i do play with him alot but i will schedule it before meal time. thanks. i haven't put any dry food down this afternoon and he actually just ate a half can of fancy feast savory salmon . it was watered down but he licked up almost all of it. yayyyy
 
That is pretty much the same dose where my Obie was seeing good numbers. he was in the yellow at 267 this morning on the human meter.
maybe you can try to sog up the dry food for a few days to make it more like the consistency of wet food. Maybe get him to associate the dry he loves with the wet? I dont know.
My cat will eat anything i place in front of him. I once thought that was a bad thing but after reading about the troubles of other cats, I'll keep my pig.
:smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top