8/31 Shadow +8.5 41, +9 42, +9.5 64, +10 66, +11 116, & ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim 'n Shadow

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23621

Good Morning Beans

good weekend for us. Shadow had great numbers, most of the P's in place, she hasn't been playful since long before she was a diabetic but she did have to wander over and watch when Barbie and I played with the fishing pole.

I'm back to work today, a little nervous about leaving her since the new dose was started. I can get a +3 before I leave and she will be on her own until +7. I'm going to load up the automat and I can only hope that she will wander in for a bite if she gets low. She's a very good eater and never passes up food, so I am hopeful that she will be OK. Wish us luck.
 
Re: 8/30 the other Shadow AMPS 100

Beautiful blues for Shadow....maybe you will see a nice high green at +3? Looking good...wishing you tons of luck...
Shadow...eat the food your Mama leaves, ok? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/30 the other Shadow AMPS 100

That's a very nice AMPS to start the day. Shadow is doing really well. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/30 the other Shadow AMPS 100, +3 174, +7 148

well, had to run an errand this morning, hubz fed her lunch at +2, so food spike at +3. makes me less nervous about leaving her.

just got home, all is well.
 
Re: 8/30 the other Shadow AMPS 100, PMPS 134

Yeah, I think she does. She even chased the fishing pole a little bit this evening, hasn't done that in a LONG time. That was our 5th p. All p's in place. We survived the work day without anything terrible, whien I got home the food had been wiped out so she ate while I was at work.

This feels good.

Have a good night.
 
Re: 8/30 Shadow PMPS 134, +8.5 41, +9 42, +9.5 64, +10 66

Kitties came and got me at 6:30 for first breffis.
+8.5 41, fed LC w/gravy
+9 42, fed LC w/gravy
+9.5 64, fed LC w/gravy
+10 66

that brings us current. I am wanting a critique - did I do this correctly? I was never panicked, she was asymptomatic, purring, hungry (obviously). Now I've stuck her one too many times and she's hiding behind the furniture. purrs still, when I climb back there to retest.

should I have jumped in with HC only? she would have climbed faster, I may have goofed on that. If she had been wobbly or below 40, I would have done HC right away. Between sticks, I re-read the sticky on hypos and several conversations I had bookmarked about feeding a drop.

Should I have gotten more excited? Opinions, please.
 
Re: 8/30 Shadow PMPS 134, +8.5 41, +9 42, +9.5 64, +10 66

You did great! Remember, you can always check in here if you need help or support. I'm not sure who was awake but some of the international members may have been around.

To some degree what you feed and when you feed is a matter of learning what works for your cat and that may be a matter of carb sensitivity. What I would take away from last night is that if you have a fast drop, early in the cycle, you would definitely want to go to HC quickly - and make sure it's 18% -- or, if necessary, add a drop of syrup. It's also hard to know how quickly Shadow is responding to the HC. You haven't had to do this before, at least from what I can tell, so you know have some good information.

The numbers in the 40s earned Shadow a dose reduction. Congrats! Shadow's new dose is 3.75u.
 
Re: 8/31 Shadow +8.5 41, +9 42, +9.5 64, +10 66, +11 116

We shoot on 10A-10P so all this just happened this morning.

Thanks Sienne, I appreciate your thoughts. This is the first time I've had to face this and that brings another question. I am puzzled about how to differentiate MC and HC. How do I tell the difference if I have FF with gravy? On the food chart, seems like everything with gravy is 18%. About what level is MC?

I could have done HC without LC except I thought maybe her bounce wouldn't be so high. So is MC another name for HC/LC combo?
 
Re: 8/31 Shadow +8.5 41, +9 42, +9.5 64, +10 66, +11 116

And here's another question - Somewhere I read that we want BG to be below 120 so the pancreas can heal. On Shadow's current dose, she was only below 120 part of the time. The dose reduction is so she doesn't have a repeat of the 40's or go even lower, even though she never levelled off below 120? And we will know if the reduction "holds" if she doesn't shoot back up to higher numbers? Am I correct?

When this happened this morning, my first thought was that I must not have left enough food out last night or one of the civvies knocked it all off. How can I know if she earned the reduction or if it was my mistake? I felt terrible and was certain it must have been my fault.
 
There are some of the "gravy" foods that are not as high as 18%. Basically, anything that's over 10% and below 16 - 18% is MC. Or, when you combine HC + LC that may be MC depending on your cat and the balance between the two types of food. Remember, the solids in HC food are likely LC -- all of the carbs are in the gravy. If you think about how diet is recommended for humans who are hypoglycemic, you want to combine protein and carbs in order to keep BG from spiking. I look at this the same way with our cats. If all you gave was gravy or Karo, you'd get a big "sugar" spike followed by a sharp drop in BG. Combining the HC with LC (i.e., protein), helps to keep numbers in a better zone and encourage a surf.

In the beginning of this process, most cats don't spend lots and lots of time below 120. Their numbers come down, they earn a reduction, and then typically bounce due to their liver acting to protect the body. I would expect numbers to shoot back up but that doesn't mean the reduction didn't hold. With a bounce, it can take up to 72 hours for the counterregulatory hormones that are released to clear. If numbers stay high beyond the bounce clearing then the reduction didn't hold.

I wouldn't worry about the numbers this morning. It is what it is and I really doubt that you were the "cause" of the lower numbers. Remember, it's the end of the cycle -- numbers should be rising. If all they rose to was a 116, that's great!! For most cats, early in the process of regulation it's less crucial to have an overnight snack. It becomes more important as regulation is taking place since having food available at +8 or so may help to stimulate a pancreas that has begun to work.
 
Just wanted to say a few things:
Hello!
I echo what Sienne said.
Congrats on the dosecrease.
Try to open a new thread (condo) every day - this one is recycled from yesterday I believe.
It takes some time to learn to lantus and the learning curve is a little on the steep side.... continue to ask questions.

Go green again Shadow... go green!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top