8/31 Reuben PMPS HI +2/466 +6/309

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Okay, so now, WHERE is my coffee cup??? WHEW!

Jane - so sorry you had to cancel your appt!
the updated recap is great, thank youuu


Melanie - thanks so much!
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Absolutely NO WORRIES, Alexa, ok? It's fine, and that's how it works here - in for a penny, in for a pound :mrgreen: I'm glad you felt safe, and now we'll just keep our fingers crossed that Reuben stays safe. He may well bounce fairly hard off his *first* greeeeeen, so don't be too upset when that happens, ok?

Also: He has earned a reduction back to 2.25 u with that dip into the 40s. Guess he wasn't ready for that increase quite yet after all. Now we know :smile:

Updated RECAP of CURRENT CYCLE Numbers:

AMPS 378
(+2) 215 --- Fast drop...
(2.4) 162 --- 1 TBSP raw food with some MC/HC gravy (Whiskas Pocket)
(2.5) More (watered down) raw food fed, with added MC/HC gravy.
(+3) 107 --- Fed some Whiskas canned (carb %?)
(+3.2) 80 --- Fed some more anned Whiskas (carb %?)
(+3.4) 67 --- Fed some more food with a drop of karo.
(+4) 48 --- Honey rubbed on gums. Eyes rolled bakc.
(ca. +4.25) 58 --- Fed more MC/HC gravy.
(ca. +4.5) 68 --- Fed 2 tsp LC with drops of karo.
(4.75) 115 --- Fed 1tsp LC. Re-test at (+5.25) pending.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Okay, so now WHERE is my coffee??

I posted twice and it`s not going through--- sorry!! Reuben sat on the keyboard somewhere along the way and now the computer tells me every action it is taking, and who knows what else is wierd now! but he`s in good shape, so who cares. :razz:

Jane - sorry about your appt!!!!!!!!!!!

Melanie -- thank you!!

following feeding instructions...
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

oh, haha, it looks like what wasn`t working were my EYEballs, Hahahaaa...

still looking for the coffee :roll:
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

:lol: No worries Alexa. See my above post, ok?

I'll be waiting for the next test, 30 minutes after that 115, alright? Good luck on your coffee hunt :lol:

And keep in mind: As per protocol, you can reduce Reuben back to 2.25u for his next shot. (For the record, you also have the option of what's called "shooting through the bounce" if Reuben did bounce very hard and high. But at this point, not knowing where he will be at PMPS, I would NOT recommend this, and instead WOULD suggest that you rediuce back to 2.25u.)

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Great. Thanks Alexa!

Not to make you anxious, but just so you know: I can and *will* stick with you for another couple of hours, which will hopefully see Reuben safe and sound and up to or just past his nadir (though it's likely that with a probable bounce, we won't see his "normal" nadir after that dip into the 40s).

But JUST IN CASE I have to sign off (it's very stormy here tonight which almost always messes with our internet connection, and it's night time already :mrgreen:), IF you don't get responses to your condo, please re-read the Sticky on How to handle Low Numbers, and if you can, the Sticky on Hypos.

I think others should be around later on, I hope :-D Just know that you won't be on your own, ok? And that you did great!!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

All that sweet stuff brought him up quickly now! :) Actually I'd like to see him stay there for a while until about +8 or so and get some of those healing bgs before he bounces. :-D

Sorry you had to cancel, Jane. Next time, you could let me know. I'm usually on & off in the daytime. If you don't need me though a little later, I'll run out and get those birthday cards and come back when DH gets back. It won't take me long. I can go to the local drugstore. I told him he could use my car first though to do his errands since I was busy here so no rush.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

I'll drink my coffee and read the stickies now.

but for the moment, what is your best guess about what he's going to do for the rest of the cycle?

and thank you for staying around :razz:

and thank you melanie too :razz:
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

reuben'smom said:

Great number - Reuben is surfing! But we are not at his likely "normal" nadir yet, and he *could* wobble back down. So:

Feed 2tsp LC and re-test in 30 minutes, ok, Alexa?

As for best guess predictions - Ha, well, I thought he had a good shot a holding the increase, and then he threw those 40s, so... No prediction! Let's just watch and learn :mrgreen:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Feeding and re-testing in 30.

You`re a peach, as we used to say in California :razz:

Oh, i forgot to tell you that we`ve been listening to the lullaby, love love love looooove it!!!! And, it's opening up a whole new world of music, nothing better than that....
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

That's lovely, I'm so glad you're enjoying it :smile:

See you at re-test :mrgreen:

Melanie, if you can jump in, in a few hours when it's bed time for me, that would be great, thanks!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

''......As for best guess predictions - Ha, well, I thought he had a good shot a holding the increase, and then he threw those 40s, so... No prediction! Let's just watch and learn :mrgreen:''

So I'm thinking that my intuition that he needed half the dose might have been something to listen to... what do you think? I realize that protocol is protocol is protocol, but maybe we could have found a way to make the protocol fit the decision. Kwim?
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Updated RECAP of CURRENT CYCLE Numbers:

AMPS 378
(+2) 215 --- Fast drop...
(2.4) 162 --- 1 TBSP raw food with some MC/HC gravy (Whiskas Pocket)
(2.5) More (watered down) raw food fed, with added MC/HC gravy.
(+3) 107 --- Fed some Whiskas canned (carb %?)
(+3.2) 80 --- Fed some more anned Whiskas (carb %?)
(+3.4) 67 --- Fed some more food with a drop of karo.
(+4) 48 --- Honey rubbed on gums. Eyes rolled bakc.
(ca. +4.25) 58 --- Fed more MC/HC gravy.
(ca. +4.5) 68 --- Fed 2 tsp LC with drops of karo.
(4.75) 115 --- Fed 1tsp LC.
(+5.25) 128 --- Fed 2 tsp LC. Retest at (+5.75) pending.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

reuben'smom said:
So I'm thinking that my intuition that he needed half the dose might have been something to listen to... what do you think? I realize that protocol is protocol is protocol, but maybe we could have found a way to make the protocol fit the decision. Kwim?

I assume you mean your intuition to try "fattening" the dose rather than doing the full 0.25u increase? Yes, in retrospect - hindsight being 20/20... - that *may* have kept Reuben from dropping this way. But it may not have. No way to know. Which is why we stick to protocol. I hope that makes sense! And I *really* hope you didn't feel not listened to? There were no objections to my last assessment of trying the 0.25u, not from the others who tend to pipe in on these matters, and not from you after I had explained what protocol suggests and why.

Leslie, KWIM means "know what I mean" :-D

See you at (+5.75), Alexa, k? :mrgreen:
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Thanks for the translation, I learn something new here every day :-D
I was surprised Reuben had such rapid response to dose increase, what is different this time? is it just feline unpredictability?
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

+5.75/143

I think we're still surfing?

What next :?:

I didn`t feel like you didn`t listen to me Jane! :razz: I just felt like what my bones told me to do simply wasn`t done in this situation.

Leslie - knwim is 'know what i mean' :razz:
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143

Carl, I have to tell you that I can`t stop laughing over this comment you made on the Caturday Condo...

' OMG, you TOUCH them??? :o And they're big enough to see from behind the wheel of your car? :o '

I seriously crack up everytime I read it!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143

Leslie, yes, I think it's partly Reuben being a cat. He's new at this, so we just don't KNOW what he will do. Again - that's why there *is* the TR protocol. So that even with newbie beans, and newbie kitties who haven't been "sussed out" yet (as much as FD cats, or any others in fact, ever can be) have something to go by :smile:

Alexa, ok great! I'm glad you didn't feel you weren't being heard. For next time, if you have as strong a gut feel as you say now you had, please speak up as clearly as you can, keep repeating yourself if you're not sure your concern has been properly registered, so that we others know you feel strongly, ok?

Yes, he's still pretty much surfing. I would feed some more LC and re-test in 30-40 minutes. (You guessed it - protocol suggest this :lol:) Are you ok with that?

Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143

When do you consider the karo and HC has worn off and Reuben is back to his "normal" LC state?
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143

+6.5/200 10 minutes after eating a little of his LC food

Is this still surfing?

Jane - I am so appreciative of everything you do for us! :razz: When I have a strong feeling I will make sure to turn it into a conversation.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143

Good stuff Alexa - use that voice of yours :mrgreen: You did great today and it's fab how thoughtful you are. Keep up the great work! If you can, Please do copy and update the recap to include the most recent BG test(s), so anyone else checking in is up to speed :smile:

No, this is a rise, not a surf. If we're lucky, he'll hang around this range rather than bounce high. He is safe now, most likely - roughly an hour give or take away from nadir. You have great instincts - if you feel he's not holding in this range, feed a touch of LC and retest in 30-40 minutes (see sticky I posted). If not, retest at in 1 hour or so. If he's still rising then, you could wait another hour or even 2 (depending how high he's gone). To make the safest possible choice at PMPS, I would also get a (+11) as well, and post it when you get it so that come PmPS, it will hopefully have been seen by whoever is around then to hang out with you if you need it.

I'm giving you the whole "plan" because my laptop internet has crashed (stormy winds) and I'm posting on my iphone whose internet connection is tenuous already :mrgreen: So IN CASE I can't get back online, you'll have this input.

It's good you read the stickys! SHOULD you want/need more input before (+11) and if I can't get back online, add "Help" to your subject line, PM Carl/Melanie (not sure where Sienne is today, if she's on you can of course PM her too) if no one has seen that you need help. I've asked both Carl and Melanie to check in with you. Stay nice and calm like you were today, do what we did today IF he should drop again, and you'll be fine, ok?

I'm sorry about the internet crap... Stoopid winter storms!!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Sorry that you and Jane, et al. got to share in the excitement. I'm still at work.

Now that the dust is settling and it looks like Reuben is on his way to a bounce, I'd like to make a suggestion. When you are in the midst of steering the curve, it helps if you can keep you SS up to date. I know that's probably the last thing you're thinking about, especially since this is the first time you saw green numbers. For those of us who may log on later in the process, being able to look at your SS vs. read every post in a long condo, it's hugely helpful to have the info on the SS.

Reuben gets a dose reduction based on his dropping below 50. As Jane mentioned, if his numbers are above 300, you can consider shooting his old dose (2.25u) this evening to help the bounce clear. I'd then reduce the dose to 2.0u in the AM.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

+7.15/372

Jane -

Thanks for all the detailed instructions, and for getting through on your iphone :razz:

I^ll follow everything you laid out and all will be well. He`s on a big rise now. I`ll just let him sleep it off and test in 1.5 - 2 hours or so.

Can I take a nap now too? hahaha!! :lol:

TTyl, Thank you for Everything!!

Alexa and Reuben
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Sienne -

Sorry about the SS! I couldn`t figure out how to post the multiple/between hour numbers and then abandoned it entirely, very lame!! I PM'd you in the morning for help when he started to dive and I knew what was going to happen, but it didn`t go through I see now! I was nervous and probably missed a step...

Alexa
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Great job today Alexa! You can just type what you need in your spreadsheet cells, anything that is not a number you will need to color manually which is not hard. If you start with a plus sign and get and error, put a single quote ' before the plus sign and that will make everything in that cell text. Then you can color the cell manually. Enjoy your nap, see you in a bit.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Thanks Leslie! I'll see if I can figure out how to do that on the spreadsheet. In the meantime I just put the readings that were closest to the hour in.
And thanks for being there, it helped keep us calm.

RECAP

AMPS 378
(+2) 215 --- Fast drop...
(2.4) 162 --- 1 TBSP LCfood with some MC/HC gravy (Whiskas Pocket)
(2.5) More (watered down) LC food fed, with added MC/HC gravy.
(+3) 107 --- Fed some Whiskas canned (carb %?)
(+3.2) 80 --- Fed some more anned Whiskas (carb %?)
(+3.4) 67 --- Fed some more food with a drop of honey
(+4) 48 --- Honey rubbed on gums. Eyes rolled back.
(ca. +4.25) 58 --- Fed more MC/HC gravy, honey
(ca. +4.5) 68 --- Fed 2 tsp LC with drops of honey
(4.75) 115 --- Fed 1tsp LC.
(+5.25) 128 --- Fed 2 tsp LC.
(+5.75) 143 --- Fed 2 tsp LC
(+6.5) 200
(+7.15) 372
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Happy to provide moral support, newbies help each other out :smile: I see Reuben is already above 300 and may be still climbing. Your next exciting decision will be at PMPS to shoot same dose through the bounce or not. No dosing advice from me of course, just encourage you to get the +11 and ask the experts advice with enough time for you to decide how to proceed at shot time.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Alexa,
Great job today:-)
You can probably give yourself and Reuben a break till +11, see where he's going between then and PMPS. And post them as you get them in case there is any doubt about the dose tonite.

Jane, you rock:-) and so does evreyone else who chimed in today!

Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Hi Alexa,

I'm back from the store so I'll keep an eye out. I just read the condo from the point where I left an hour ago and am up to to the moment now. Don't hesitate to let me know if you need me and I don't notice right away. I'm sure you will keep going up for the night now though. Still....

It doesn't pay to second guess decisions because any one of us could make the wrong call at any time and you never know. Personally, I like allowing 5 days in between increases with Racci. Like Jane said though sometimes your intuition is the way to go. You have to remember that ECID and not only that, they don't always act the same way.

I raised Racci a teensy bit this morning, about a 1/10th and she wound up with a 45 at 3.5! A couple of drops made the difference! And I know Racci but it still happened. :roll:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200

Thanks Melanie, much appreciated! He's back up to 'HI'. We're just hanging out. I understand that I`ll shoot the pre-increase dose of 2.25u tonight. I am trying to find information on the 2nd decrease to 2.0 in the morning that Sienne mentioned. What page should I be looking for, any idea? Alexa
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200 +7/372 +8

What are you looking for,, the thread in which it was discussed?

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200 +7/372 +8

Oh, did you mean the info about shooting the higher dose while bouncing and then switching in the morning?

I believe it might be posted again on this thread on pg 1. Let me look.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200 +7/372 +8

What Jane and I suggested is what we refer to as, "shooting through the bounce." What this means is that we recognize that many cats, especially if they are not used to being in green numbers, will dip their paws in the greens and then their numbers shoot up. We refer to this as a bounce. Even though you can reduce Reuben's dose since his numbers dropped below 50, in order to help him clear the bounce a little more quickly, you can shoot the same dose you shot during your AM cycle today and then reduce the dose to 2.0u tomorrow morning.

A bounce is when a cat's liver "panics" because it's not used to being in normal numbers. As a result, it treats those numbers as dangerous and dumps a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that act to raise BG numbers. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear.

Given that Reuben is jetting to high numbers, I'd suggest shooting the 2.25u tonight and then lowering the dose to 2.0u at AMPS.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Jane said:
:

And keep in mind: As per protocol, you can reduce Reuben back to 2.25u for his next shot. (For the record, you also have the option of what's called "shooting through the bounce" if Reuben did bounce very hard and high. But at this point, not knowing where he will be at PMPS, I would NOT recommend this, and instead WOULD suggest that you rediuce back to 2.25u.)

Hugs
Jane

Is this what you were looking for Alex? Do you understand what Jane means? Since you shot the new dose of 2.5, shooting thru the bounce would be shooting 2.5 tonight. Jane is not recommending that but is saying to shoot the 2.25 tonight and in the morning and step back to that dose.

Sienne suggested you shoot the 2.25 tonight and then shoot 2u in the morning and go back to 2u. You might want to go back to the day where you changed him from 2u to 2.25u and the day you changed dose again and reread what transpired. The first one should be about 6-7 days ago since you were increasing every 3 days.

Also since Sienne may not realize you were increased again to 2.5u, you might want to ask if she realized that when she said 2u. Personally, I think 2u should have more of a chance before going to 2.25u. I don't know if that was her thinking.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200 +7/372 +8

The dose increase this morning was from 2.25u to 2.50u So if I shoot through the bounce don`t I shoot the 2.50 again tonight? And then reduce back to 2.25 in the morning?
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200 +7/372 +8

Either the info wasn't there when I looked when I was a work or I missed it.

You can shoot the 2.5u tonight unless Reuben's numbers start coming down. Then, shoot the 2.25u in the AM. Sorry to have confused things.

If you look at Gabby's SS, it will show you what I do to include multiple tests in one cell. You will have to manually adjust the color.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200 +7/372 +8

Yes, you do if you were shooting through the bounce which is what Sienne wants you to do. As I thought, she didn't know about the 2.5u increase since she wasn't here when you did it.

Jane had said not to because she was afraid he might go too low again without knowing his pmps and because she was not going to be here to advise you.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58 +5.75/143 +6.5/200 +7/372 +8

Hi, so +11 is 'HI' - I think we`re good to go on the 2.50u dose to shoot through the bounce. Can anyone thing of any reason not to?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top