8/31 Reuben PMPS HI +2/466 +6/309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Dose Increase this morning of .25u (now at 2.5u)

Reuben has not thrown up in 24 hours; All 3 p's are in place; he left a prezzie this morning (possibly had not left any in 48 + hours)
He has a good appetite, and is drinking well; He spent all day yesterday just sitting or sleeping.
I did not give him bupe last night, it seemed safe to see if he didn`t need it and the gamble paid off. He and he is more alert today.

He is out enjoying the brisk morning air on the terrace at the moment.

Ongoing Medications:

50mg Clavamox bid
0.25mg Pepcid bid
.08ml Bupe as needed (last dose 8/30 in a.m.)
1/8 tsp miralax qd (going to taper down today)

Last night`s curve seemed odd.

Recap of last 24 hours:

30th August
AMPS 396
(+3) 350
(+6) 288
(+8) 269
(+9) 323
PMPS 334
(+3) 364
(+6) 385
(+10) 392
31st August
AMPS 378
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378

Good luck with the dosecrease! I hope it brings Reuben down into the yellows and blues.

Good news on no pukies in 24 hours. Paws crossed he keeps it up. Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378

Hi Alexa, Good AMPS for Rueben, you two are definitely making progress, hope he likes this new dose. Nice curves too, funny that flat is still called a curve. Glad Reuben is more alert and did not need the bupe. Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378

Hi guys .. this is a great condo for reuben! Sounds like all is going well in his little world .. what a relief to you guys huh? Hopefully he decides to come down some today .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +2/215

Hi Alexa

That last PM curve was GOOD, in that is was nice and flat, and NOT SO GOOD in that it was up in the pink BGs. Bit of both :mrgreen: Fingers crossed for the 2.5u - I'm glad there were no objections to my reasoning, and that you felt comfortable yourself also in doing the increase.

That's a pretty decent drop he had this cycle, from the AMPS to the (+2). Can you/Did you get a follow-up BG test in? Inquiring minds want to know :lol: If Reuben is going to respond quickly to this increase, it's best to stay vigilant, as you know already!

Happy TGIF!
Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +2/215

You read my mind Jane, I was just looking for you :razz: It's been half an hour since the +2 test. Do you want another right now? I am giving him a dab of food (Pierson food very watered down) every 20 minutes or so now.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +2/215 +2.40/162

+2.40/162 just gave him 1 tablespoon Pierson food with 1/4 tsp gravy from whiskas pocket/packet

+2.55 2T very watered down Pierson food, with 3/4 tsp gravy and a couple of morsels of the food. He devoured it
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +2/215 +2.40/162

Hi Alexa :lol:

I think you are ok to hold off the gravy (I assume it's HC due to gravy, am I right? I can't access the food charts at present.) - I didn't mean to scare you by saying that was quite a drop. Reuben, for now, is in very safe numbers, ok?

For the future, when you want to try and slow down a drop, you can opt for medium or even low carb food (depending on how carb-sensitive Reuben shows himself to be) - essentially, by mixing Pierson food (that's the raw food, yes?) with a tiny bit of gravy, you've probably made him a nice MC or near-MC mixture, which is fine.

As long as Reuben had a decent breakfast meal, considering you've fed him a couple of mini-meals since then, I would hold off feeding now unless this is Reuben's normal feeding time and re-test in an hour or so, around (+4) if you can. That seems to be about where Reuben dips into the blues, so far, and if he does, we want to watch - nosy beans that we are :mrgreen: Report back with the BG update, and we'll go from there.

You're doing great!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +2/215 +2.40/162 +3/107

107 at +3 this is very fast for him - gave a couple of licks of whiskas canned crap. he feels GREAT, me NOT SO MUCH!, hHAHAHAHAA!!
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +2/215 +2.40/162 +3/107

Wow, he surprised us!

Good call on testing earlier, you have great instincts! If you haven't already, please feed 2tsp of his normal food with a touch of gravy added, like you did before, and re-test at (+3.5), ok?

Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +2/215 +2.40/162 +3/107 +3.20/80

80 at +3.20 - let him eat some canned whiskas crap - this is WAY TOO FAST for him
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +3/107 +3.20/80 +3.40/67 HELP

You'll be ok, Alexa. 67 is a lovely number. Now we want Reuben to stop dropping and start surfing.

I've sent for back-up too :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +3/107 +3.20/80 +3.40/67 HELP

Breathe Alexa! Jane will help you get Reuben through this, I am sending you and Reuben moral support and positive thoughts.
Come up Reuben, enough diving, come up now!
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +3/107 +3.20/80 +3.40/67 HELP

Alexa,
Jane asked me to stop by, but I have to be at work in less than an hour. Otherwise I'd be happy to stay with you...
Do you know the routine? Have you done "this" before?
Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +3/107 +3.20/80 +3.40/67 HELP

Hi Alex. I am only peeking on the board real quick, and have to log off like 1 minute ago. Others will be along to help you. Keep posting your numbers, and use the 911 icon if you need to.

Come on Reuben, up on the old surfboard you go.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben AMPS 378 +3/107 +3.20/80 +3.40/67 HELP

thanks carl

no we have never done this before. we're the people who have been 'HI' all the time!!
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48

Ok, 48... do you have HC gravy food? Spoonful of gravy if you do.
Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48

Alexa,
This process is called "lather, rinse, repeat". You want to feed him something that will stop the drop and make him come up a little bit, but not too far. That's the honey/gravy/HC junk.
In small amounts, because you don't want his belly getting full in case this goes on for a couple of hours.

So, test every 15 minutes, a spoonful of gravy or some honey/karo can be mixed into the gravy as well. It will bring him up, but it won't stay in his system for long, which is why you have to keep watching and testing every 15 minutes.

You want to see a couple of tests in a row with a number that comes up over 50. Dropping below that has earned him a reduction on his next shot, so keep that in mind for later.

Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48

Also, consider yourself fortunate! Usually this happens to people for the first time at 3 in the morning when only crazy people like Jane and I are still awake :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Is he standing and walking okay? Not looking disoriented or dizzy?

Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48

Jane said:
Feed HC gravy (if you have), otherwise MC gravy with a couple of drops of honey. 2 tsp of gravy (or gravy mix) please.

Re-test in 15, please.
Hugs
Jane

Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Hi Alexa,

How are you guys doing? Have you tested again since the 58? How long ago was it? You want to get another test going up to make sure he doesn't start going backwards again. You're doing a great job.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

reuben'smom said:
he's walking okay, acting okay now. following your instructions jane :-)

GREAT news, Alexa. You're handling this very well!

Retest 15 minutes from last test, ok? I will not leave you until you and Reuben are safe no matter what, ok?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

hi melanie! :YMHUG: next test coming in 2 minutes

he is just a little shaky, and he is alert, physically active, doing fine at the moment,
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

RECAP of CURRENT CYCLE Numbers:

AMPS 378
(+2) 215 --- Fast drop...
(2.4) 162 --- 1 TBSP raw food with some MC/HC gravy (Whiskas Pocket)
(2.5) More (watered down) raw food fed, with added MC/HC gravy.
(+3) 107 --- Fed some Whiskas canned (carb %?)
(+3.2) 80 --- Fed some more anned Whiskas (carb %?)
(+3.4) 67 --- Fed some more food with a drop of karo.
(+4) 48 --- Honey rubbed on gums. Eyes rolled bakc.
(ca. +4.25) 58 --- Fed more MC/HC gravy.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

reuben'smom said:
thank you jane :YMHUG: awaiting further instrucitons :razz:

This is called "Lather, Rinse, Repeat", Alexa :lol:

Feed 2 tsp LC with a drop of karo (I want to get both short and longer duration from this mini-meal). Re-test in 15 minutes from last test, and report back, k?

You're doing GREAT!!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

OK, test in 15 again. It looks like all that junk food has brought his numbers up a little, which is exactly what you were trying to get.

At this point, you can go with MC or LC food, just a spoonful, at the next test, UNLESS you see another drop. The HC stuff works quick but doesn't last long, so at this point, you want him to stay in the safe green numbers without dropping. If he drops at all, then go with another spoon of gravy.

You're doing great!

Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

Alexa, you're doing wonderfully! I'm re-posting this updated recap (and will keep doing so) so that anyone who still comes to this late and wants to give support has a quick overview, ok?

Updated RECAP of CURRENT CYCLE Numbers:

AMPS 378
(+2) 215 --- Fast drop...
(2.4) 162 --- 1 TBSP raw food with some MC/HC gravy (Whiskas Pocket)
(2.5) More (watered down) raw food fed, with added MC/HC gravy.
(+3) 107 --- Fed some Whiskas canned (carb %?)
(+3.2) 80 --- Fed some more anned Whiskas (carb %?)
(+3.4) 67 --- Fed some more food with a drop of karo.
(+4) 48 --- Honey rubbed on gums. Eyes rolled bakc.
(ca. +4.25) 58 --- Fed more MC/HC gravy.
(ca. +4.5) 68 --- Fed 2 tsp LC with drops of karo.
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

You're doing great. He's at a nice number now. Like Jane said, if he'll surf it would be great. I'm glad Jane was still here for you. :razz:
Just think Alexa, now you've had a chance to go through rinse, lather, repeat. :lol: I bet you didn't think that would happen for a while!

Hi Jane! I was about to go out to the store but do you need help? I can delay if need be.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/31 Reuben +4/48 +4.20/58

MelanieAndRacci said:
You're doing great. He's at a nice number now. Like Jane said, if he'll surf it would be great. I'm glad Jane was still here for you. :razz: Just think Alexa, now you've had a chance to go through rinse, lather, repeat. :lol: I bet you didn't think that would happen for a while! Hi Jane! I was about to go out to the store but do you need help? I can delay if need be. Melanie & Racci

That's sweet of you, Melanie (Hi!), thanks! I had an appointment but I couldn't find someone to hand off to, so I cancelled :smile: Do join in if you *like*, though - extra support is always welcome :mrgreen:
Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top