8/31 Ollie PMPS 356 +2 366 +3 345 +4 326

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/31 Ollie AMPS 323 +2 341 +10 361

heehee - moving van already pulled away! wahoo! :lol:

you almost have the link. [/url you pasted the link here] try this instead: [url]paste the link here

and for now, here it is: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=51177&p=551648#p551648

this will likely be a non-event, but at least it will tell us if the vial of insulin you were using is good. see ya in a while.

and welcome to Lantus Land. it's a nice neighborhood to have a condo in. :-D
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie AMPS 323 +2 341 +10 361

Welcome to Lantus Land!! Like Julie said, sorry you need the condo, but it's a good place to set up shop.

I was following your posts yesterday in Health and it sounds like you've made some good decisions. We're happy to help in whatever way we can.

If you're not happy with your vet, there are several people here, and I'm assuming on Health, as well, who are from the Boston area. I'm sure if you ask, they will be happy to make recommendations regarding a good vet.

If you are planning on getting the acro/IAA tests done, these are not done at your vet's office. Blood needs to be sent to the labs at Michigan State University. You'll want tests for Insulin Autoantibody and Insulin Like Growth Factor-I. You and/or your vet will need to follow the directions re. shipping carefully. You don't want a blood sample sitting on a loading dock for a week!
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 361

i was going to mention that when you test, update the numbers in the subject line by editing the first post of the condo. it will keep its place in the "rotation" on the page unless you add a new reply box at the bottom of the condo. that will bump you up to the top.

like i said, i'm kinda thinking this will be a non-event and maybe it's not your insulin, but we'll find out. test him at +2 and let's see what it is. i'll check back - i'm sure others will be watching you too. :-D
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356

Julie ....thank you for fixing my link...I will learn quickly how to do it correctly I promise.
Sienne.... I hoped you also had an eye on us. I did get vet name that seems good from a member. What a great place this is! I do plan on getting him tested asap for the acro and iaa...better off knowing and dealing with it.

Well....Ollie is 361 for his PMPS, insulin dose of 4.5u is loaded. His face is in his food bowl and I will shoot in a minute or so. All fingers will then be crossed and also plan to cross his paws. I'll then test at +1 and post and again at +2. Here goes the needle. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 361

you can test at +1 if you want - i don't know if anyone would especially recommend it. it will usually show a food spike and the lantus doesn't usually kick in til +2+ ish.

this is the "typical" lantus curve - the one we all hope for and sometimes even see! :lol:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

that info comes from the link at the top of the Lantus section called "New to Lantus/Levemir?" http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

good for a little light reading while you're waiting to retest.

likely many of the folks who posted on health yesterday will pop in to see how you're doing today. :-D
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356

FYI ....his PMPS was 356 not 361 (that was his +10) both pretty much the same but wanted to explain why I was editing.
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356 +2 366

With a 366 at +2 it would appear the lantus bottle was ok. I feel better knowing that. So now the next step will be getting Ollie looked at by a new vet, full blood work done and tested for acro and iaa.

Please tell Ollie pink is not a good color for him. He looks great in blue :smile: . We flew JetBlue and they nicknamed him "Big Blue". If they knew all the pink is was into now he would lose that name!

Thanks for all the support....we plan on staying in this condo neighborhood...it's sweet! :smile:

I'll check him again in hour and again before going to bed.
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356 +2 366

let's see how he is at +3. if the lantus kicks in i would think it would start showing by then. i wouldn't have expected any change at +2. i'll make sure i'm here when you post the +3 - i just want to be certain that you don't need to stay up later checking before you're off to bed.

btw, has anyone told you about neosporin ointment with pain relief? it is amazing for relieving the pain from the pokes. my cats scratched me and i tried it just to see for myself. we slather a bunch on punkin's ears at the end of each day so they'll heal overnight. if you use it during the day you want to wipe off most of it before the next test, only because it can kinda goo up the test strip otherwise.
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356 +2 366

Ollie's ears are like faucets. He is so cool about testing and shooting. I do use the neosporin on him, just like you do, overnight. We can ony test on one ear, his other ear is missing a piece and the way it healed has veins going in crazy spots. As long as I only use the "good" ear he's fine and of course it has to involve a treat. Neosporin was one of the first things I learned from this site...that and Pure Bites!

I'm going to carbo load myself a bit before the next test. Appreciate you being here!
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356 +2 366 +3 345

wellllllll this is looking a whole lot like his recent spreadsheet, isn't it. how much later do you think you'll be up?
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356 +2 366 +3 345

btw, the link to his spreadsheet in your sig line is broken. i could see it yesterday, but somehow it's not working now. can you try to relink it?
 
Re: 8/31 Ollie PMPS 356 +2 366 +3 345

I'll work on the link, I must have done somethingto it when I worked on the profile :shock:

I'm usually toast by 11:30 (more of a morning person) on a normal day (yes I like them too!). Test again at +4 and see what happens. He's waiting for another test so he gets another treat!
 
my guess is that we have one answer. it's not the lantus. if i were you i'd head for bed, but you have to decide what you feel comfortable with. i think your new vet appt & blood tests is the next step. in the meantime - you've done a great job with testing. i saw your note on the ss about the vet thinking you test too much.

in the absence of knowing what exactly is going on, the testing and quick response that you're giving to his BG's is probably what is keeping him going. i'd keep it up.

sleep well - see ya in the morning.
 
I learned most everything from you guys! Can't really test too much. My flat cat and I are off to bed. You are a gift and I thank you for your words. My support system is nil. My friends don't understand how I can handle such a schedule or why I would want to. My boss thinks I'm sick a lot more than I am. Nice to know Ifit in somewhere and someone thinks I'm not totally crazy!

have a nice evening! good night and thank you! :-D
 
(((((patsy)))))

you're in good company here. you're not crazy. you love your cat and want to help him be healthy!

good night and you're welcome!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top