8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279 PMPS 350 +2 319

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300

Now, now Michael.....while this is BARELY a pink, it is still a pink.....

Why don't you come down nice and steady for your mommabean?

If you can make your way safely to da bluez floor you can pway wif me for awhile! ~Skooter
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300

Skoot,
I have a long way to go, but i will try to wear my blue suit. I do want to play .
Michael :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300

good morning paula!

Michael is somewhere between these two guidelines that i've highlighted below. He's had some nadirs in the 100's, but most in the 200's. You've held this dose for 13 cycles, starting counting after the skipped shot on 8/24, so it's been held long enough for us to be confident it's not going to get him into green numbers.

You can give him a dose increase - the question is, can you just give a 0.25u increase? He's not high enough to need a 0.5u increase.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300

Hi Julie, I will try to increase by .25u. It is very hard to see. I will do the best I can. I will increase 9/3 in the am.(9/1 is a Holiday,9/2 won't be home to monitor) If I wait until then I hope it will be o.k.
Thanks for checking, explaining & advising it really helps in understanding M's SS.
I hope his kidneys are going to be o.k. He is over 200 a lot. Right now his pee clumps are a little larger than I would like. The clumps have stayed pretty much the same and he isn't drinking a lot more than usual. So I think its the "D".
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279

I'm doing the 1.75 unit dose too, Paula...I use a pair of reading glasses I got from WalMart that magnify like 3x which makes it a little easier to see "between the lines"

Yes, you can wait until 9/3 to increase...the only concern is that keeping them too long on a dose might cause glucose toxicity to settle in...which just means you have to keep increasing to get the numbers down, but if you can't be around on 9/2 to test, I doubt if I'd increase yet. IF the increase brings his numbers down, it's more likely to start showing on day 2 of the new dose since you're re-stabilizing the depot at the new dose. The first cycle or two you give a new dose, you don't usually see a big difference. Of course ECID!

So if you can't monitor on 9/2, I think it'd be safer to wait

Good luck with the dosecrease! I hope it'll bring Michael down into some better numbers for you soon!
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279

Thanks for the advice, Chris. Starting 9/1 I am increasing his Tapozole 1/4 of a tab. So he willl be taking 1/2 tab bid. I'm doing this gradually as not to upset his tummy. Will increasing the tapozole and the insulin around the same time have an adverse effect. (ex. tummy upset.) I Will be gone on 9/2 for about two hrs. I just want to be safe. :smile:
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279

if you're only going to be gone on 9/2 for 2 hours, i wouldn't hesitate to go ahead and increase his dose. You can leave food out for him. If you were going to be gone all day, like Chris said, I'd probably wait to increase as well.

The insulin shouldn't upset his stomach. i've never heard anyone say it does, and it's given subcutaneously, so it doesn't even go in the stomach.

If the tapazole isn't already bothering his tummy, i doubt changing the dose would make it start now.

So I would go ahead with the dose increase. Stack two pair of reading glasses on your nose and just do the best you can. it's tricky with these tiny increments - all anyone can do is their best. :-D

I'm glad the explanations help. They helped me when others explained to me too. Teaching is what I do - we go back to school on Tuesday.
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279 PMPS 350

Julie,you are one heck of a good teacher! We need good teachers!
I just gave 1.5u so I will have to wait. PMPS 350 is that the start of another bounce and if so, do I increase anyway? :?
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279 PMPS 350

I don't think the 350 tonight is a bounce....Bounces only happen when either they go lower than their body is used to, or they go down fast...like from 350 to 200 in 2 hours

I think he just needs more juice.

I had understood you to say you wouldn't be able to monitor on 9/2 which is why I suggested waiting. If it's only 2 hours, I'd go ahead and increase in the morning
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279 PMPS 350

Julie & Chris,
I am going to order a Jeweler Magnifier. Hope it works. Amazon has them for about $9.00.
Any thoughts? Do you know anyone that has used it?
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279 PMPS 350

It looks like the same one except the price is a little cheaper.
Be glad to know how Anne/Liz uses it forZender.
 
Re: 8/31 Michael amps 300 +7.5 279 PMPS 350

We use the Donegan optivisor. They come in different magnifications. This is the 2.5x.
http://www.amazon.com/Donegan-OptiVisor ... XVZX653PGN
along with a magnifying lamp
http://www.amazon.com/SE-MC353W-Table-M ... 8P4X2519N0
We use digital calipers to measure the dose. Marje has a post about how she measures. This will help a lot with the inconsistency of the markings on the syringe.
http://t.harborfreight.com/4-inch-digit ... gle.com%2F
I figure there are about 12 drops per unit, so 3 drops per 0.25u. That can also help with doses that aren't on a mark.
Liz

ETA: That's a great price for the jeweler's magnifier that Julie found. Lots better than our setup! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top