8/31 Lucy PMPS=263;+2.5=193;+5=130

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday!!!
Late post today as I needed a btb time.

Yesterday's condo

8/30 AMPS=180; +2=238; +7.5=166
8/30 PMPS=151; +2=101; +3=97; +6=92; +8=110

8/31 AMPS=119; +2=101; +5=108; +8.25=232
8/31 PMPS=263; +2.5=193; +5=130

Lucy is doing good!!!
I increased her dose last night, because I wanted her overall numbers to go from higher blue to lower blue, and she is so far surfing where I asked her to be! :-D
And staying in the lower blue range seems to be making her feel so much better!
This morning, she ate half of her 1st breakfast by herself, so her appy is picking up too!

She had a solid poop yesterday and today.
3 consecutive days of solid poop, YAY!

I know Lucy's condos in the past few days have been kind of a downer, and I'm so happy I have only good news today. :-D
She will have her last pill of metronidazole tomorrow, one in the morning and one in the evening, and that's it.
Fingers and paws crossed she will continue producing solid matter.

Hope everyone's having a wonderful start of long weekend!!!
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108

Hi Mariko.......what a wonderful WCR, today.
I'm so happy that Lucy is eating and giving nice solid poopys. :-D

I like Checks to be in the low blue range too....that's where he feels best and most energetic.. Good for Lucy :-D
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108

This is such nice news. I hope you, Lucy and Ginger are having a wonderful weekend :-)
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108

What a great report on Lucy. I'm glad she's doing so well and yay on the solid poo 3 days in a row.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108

Yay....sooooo glad Lucy is feeling good today! Have a wonderful evening with Lucy and Ginger, Mariko!!
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

I don't know what happened.
She was doing so well today until now.

About 30 minutes ago, she vomited pukey smelling brownish mucusy liquid, and not feeling welll since.
And her BG is high and yellow again.
I just gave her a tablet of cerenia.
I hope it will help, and she'll feel better before the PM shot time so she'll eat.....

I hope cerenia is OK to give with metronidazole.
I think I'll call the vet to make sure.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

Oh Lucy girl, lots of love and a gentle hug to you.
It seems like a good idea to check with the vet, Mariko, for your own peace of mind as well.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

I called the vet.
They said cerenia and metronidazole are OK together....
I'm so sad Lucy's feeling sick again.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

maybe that last dose of metronidazole will be the end of her feeling so off...
Paws crossed ....
and feel better vines on their way!
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

Oh, Mariko, I'm sorry to see that Lucy too a turn for the worse this afternoon. Is she usually ok with the metronidazole or has it caused vomiting or loss of appetite in the past (those are 2 of the possible side effects)?

I hope whatever it is, it clears up quicklt for Lucy & she's back to her normal self quickly. Lots of healing vines sent your way! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

Mariko, I'm very sorry that Lucy's good day turned. Sending lots of healing vines to your girl for a really good day tomorrow. No more vomit! Feel better, Lucy,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

I'm sorry Lucy is sick this evening. Sending prayers to you and Lucy.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

Tons of vines for Lucy! That cerenia is magic. It comes in a shot form if she is puking and doesn't keep it down. The pills that we get are 4 mg and we give Zener 1/4 of a pill. You can give it 5 days in a row initially, then every other day. We do 3 times per week because it fits better with our schedules.
Liz
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

Sending tons of prayers that sweet little Lucy feels better soon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=101;+5=108;+8.25=232 // sick

Lucy's PMPS went even higher - 263.
But, I think cerenia worked and her nausea has stopped.
I was able to finger-feed her slowly, and she eventually ate all of her 1st dinner (which is about a little less than half of her entire dinner).

My theory is that she's bouncing from yesterday evening's green cycle.
She didn't go too low at all, but she did drop quite a bit from PMPS to +1/+2 last night, and stayed in higher green for a few hours.
It wasn't a bounce-worthy low number at all, but she hadn't been green for almost a week before last night, so maybe that could cause a bounce?
And yellow numbers almost always make her feel crappy.
I'm just making up this scenario to make me feel better because a bounce is better than other possibilities, I guess....

Liz, are you sure you get 4mg cerenia?
Mine is 16mg per tablet, and the label the vet put says "give one tablet every 24 hours as needed".
The dosing information that was in the box also says "2mg/kg body weight" for acute vomiting, and to give 1 tablet for 4.1 to 8.0kg dog.
If you quarter 4mg, you give Zener 1mg, and this means I gave her 16 times more. I'm really worried.
Maybe In US, you can get different concentrations of cerenia?
Because according to the paper in the box, it comes in either 16, 24, 60 or 160 mg.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

Mariko, my prescription says to give 1/2 of a 16 mg tablet daily, if that helps at all.
But if you're unsure, is there a 24/7 emergency vet hospital you can call to check the dosage?
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

I'm glad you sent a PM. The dosing on the package is for dogs to prevent car sickness. The Cerenia packaging is really confusing. We get a package that has 4 pills and it says 16 mg. So that's 4 mg per tablet. The dose for a cat is usually 1 mg, so 1/4 of a tablet.

I think the different weight on the package is due to a different number of pills. Here's what the package looks like. Even though it says 16 mg, that is the total. Each pill is 4 mg.

Liz
ETA: I think you gave 4 mg to Lucy. According to Marje's primer on pancreatitis, the dose is 1 mg per kg of body weight. I am remembering that Lucy is about 4 kg, so that dose should be fine.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 445
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

Pheww....
Thank you, Liz.
The picture looks similar to mine (different layout, because we have to put things in English and French in Canada), so I think I got the same one you got.

Lucy is about 4.5 - 5kg.
I was just debating with myself whether I should harass the veterinary clinic after hour and ask the night nurse to call the on-call doctor, when I saw your added message.
I think I should be fine.

Cerenia's package and the piece of information paper inside the box IS really confusing.
It says: Each CERENIA tablet contains 16, 24, 60 or 160 mg maropiant as the medical ingredient. - this is incorrect, isn't it?
There is also a section that says "No. tablets per blister : 4" - this is also incorrect. :-x
It Should be "one table per blister and 4 blisters per box." shouldn't it?
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

Liz --

I'd be very surprised if you're info on the mg per pill is correct. The dose on blister packs is typically per pill not on the entire number of pills in the pack.

On Veterinary Partner, they indicate that Cerenia is available in 16 mg, 24 mg, 60 mg and 160 mg tablets. The dose for cats is 1 mg per kg (2.2 lbs). So, the dose for a 10 lb cat would be a over 4 mg. The studies that have been done have noted no side effects with higher doses. The only note was to not give Cerenia in a Pill Pocket or in food as it may effect the way it's absorbed.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

Sienne, I gave Lucy a whole tablet, which is 16mg according to your information. - Am I getting this right?
She is about 4.5kg, so I overdosed her 4 times, did I not?
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

Here is a picture of the different concentrations from Thriving Pets. So I think they are just different concentrations, probably for different size dogs.

I think that should say "No. of tablets per blister pack".

Sienne, like I said, Cerenia is confusing. I'm pretty sure the 16 mg is for 4 pills. Our vet originally charged us $84 for a pack of Cerenia because of this confusion.
Liz
ETA: Now I'm not so sure. :lol: Looks like it is 16 mg per tablet. We've been giving him 4 mg and thought we were giving him 1 mg for 2 years. :lol:
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

I doubt that there will be a problem. There was one study that gave larger doses (up to 5.0 mg/kg) without a problem. If your worried, I'd call a local ER and ask them about the dose.

Going forward, I'd cut the 16mg tablet into quarters.
 
Re: 8/31 Lucy PMPS=263 // CERENIA QUESTION!

I did call my regular vet even though they were closed, and spoke with the night nurse.
(The night nurse is quite knowledgeable by experience since she has to deal with a lot of situations by herself.)
She really didn't have a definitive answer, but after a quick research, she didn't think cerenia overdose would cause any long-term side effect.
She is leaving a note to the vet to check the dose for cats, and let me know tomorrow, but I've already written on the box, "1/4 tablet!!!".

Lucy is not acting any strangely so far, so I won't worry about it much any more tonight.
Her number is still high, so she is not feeling too good, but she is definitely better than earlier when she was nauseated.

Thank you for the information, Sienne and Liz.
Liz, it's funny you were giving Zener more than what you thought you were giving for 2 years. :lol:
 
Way to come down Lucy. You and Neko are hanging out at the same spot now.

Have a good sleep Mariko - sending vines for a better day for Lucy tomorrow (er. later today :lol: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top