8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369 +5 265 +10 163 PMPS 206 +6 418

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condos:
8/30 AM
8/30 PM

Morning all! Leo did his expected bounce after a nice stretch of green, as expected. Snif Snif. I was crossing my fingers for a mellow out in the yellows without cruising to the pinks. BUT! I am happy because the last time he had a run of greens before a shoot, I didn't shoot. And his AMPS value after that was in the 500's rather than this morning in the 300's. I won't put too much stock in that, but I do feel better that he didn't go as high this time, so the insulin is doing it's thing.

Ok Leo, no sailing into the reds today ... let's keep it to pinks with maybe a yellow at nadir? Please please please?

Last night:
PMPS 134
+1 170
+3 246
+6 375
AMPS 371
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371

Come on down nice and easy Leo's! Pink is definitely better than blacks. Hope he comes down nice and easy for you today. Have a great day Lisa!
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371

Thanks, Angela and Melissa! I have my fingers crossed. His SS looks like a roller coaster! At least he's not bouncing around from reading to reading with no discernible pattern - the rolling is pretty obvious. Strange to say, but that's more comforting to me, in trying to understand him. Bless his little self :smile:
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371

Hi Lisa and Gorrrrgeous Leo :razz: I hope you get your yellow nadir, we have our fingers and paws crossed for you!!
Alexa &Reuben
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371

Hi guys .. yay for not bouncing as high as he once did! Come on down leo, let's surf some sunny yellows for your beanz today .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369

Hi Peter and Reuben's Bean! +Thanks for noticing how absolutely handsome Leo is - he as the tabby's polka-dotted belly which I just love :smile:

+2 looks nice and consistent with his last two readings, so we'll see. I have to run out and won't be back until his nadir, but I'll post when I return. He just got breakfast +3 a little early
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369

Leo's looking good so far - and so is your condo, Lisa, very well done :mrgreen: Thanks for the recap, too.

GREAT news about the possibility of getting that vet tech to test/shoot/feed while you are away, terrific.

I'm not certain I've understood your idea correctly about the shot-time shifting - here is what you wrote:

QUOTE from Leo's previous (PM) condo:

"We will have to push his morning shot earlier by about 25 minutes and on time for the PM. When I talk to her, perhaps I get Leo going earlier before we leave, so she can regularly shoot 30 minutes earlier and we "fix" him when we return. Or she could alternate: 15 earlier in PM, 30 earlier in AM, 15 earlier in PM, 30 earlier in AM, etc, so each is only "off" by 15 minutes from the previous. Yes, I think that will work better. She will also come over sometime during her lunch hour but she can't guarantee the exact time, but it should be somewhere between +5 and +7.5. I am relieved about that. And if she can't stay if he goes low, worse case she could just take him in. I'll be available by phone at all times I know she is testing and I'll ask her to text me each result. She's coming over tonight at 7 to get acquainted with our routine. She's met Leo and remembers that he wasn't a stubborn or evil cat. :smile: I am relieved at this - it would be WONDERFUL if this works out since the clinic is only about 5 miles (but almost 15 minutes) from our home."

Can you explain what you mean by doing 15 mins earlier at PM shot time and then 30 (more?) minutes earlier at AM shot time? That would mean you are changing his shot time by 45 minutes in a 24-hour period? I'm asking because it's not recommended to adjust the shot-time by more than 30 minutes per 24 hours (because shooting early acts like a dose increase, and shooting late acts like a dose decrease, so sticking to "only 30 minutes total shift of shot time per 24 hours" is the safest way to make sure the changes do not affect the cycles too much).

The lunch was delicious, thanks :-D
See you at nadir!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369 +5 265

Yay for Leo! A yellow Nadir! +5 265 flip_cat

So excited ... he didn't eat all his second breakfast (he delays the eating until late in the cycle often. I've going to figure out the feeder today. But maybe his liver didn't twitch as much this time!
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369

Jane said:
I'm not certain I've understood your idea correctly about the shot-time shifting - here is what you wrote:

QUOTE from Leo's previous (PM) condo:

"We will have to push his morning shot earlier by about 25 minutes and on time for the PM. When I talk to her, perhaps I get Leo going earlier before we leave, so she can regularly shoot 30 minutes earlier and we "fix" him when we return. Or she could alternate: 15 earlier in PM, 30 earlier in AM, 15 earlier in PM, 30 earlier in AM, etc, so each is only "off" by 15 minutes from the previous. Yes, I think that will work better. She will also come over sometime during her lunch hour but she can't guarantee the exact time, but it should be somewhere between +5 and +7.5. I am relieved about that. And if she can't stay if he goes low, worse case she could just take him in. I'll be available by phone at all times I know she is testing and I'll ask her to text me each result. She's coming over tonight at 7 to get acquainted with our routine. She's met Leo and remembers that he wasn't a stubborn or evil cat. :smile: I am relieved at this - it would be WONDERFUL if this works out since the clinic is only about 5 miles (but almost 15 minutes) from our home."

Yes, that did sound pretty confusing, didn't it? Here's what I was thinking. We normally shoot at 8am/8pm. Megan, the vet tech, works from 8am to 7pm. So she needs to shoot around 7:30am. In the evening, she can shoot any time after 7:15pmish. Since we can't change more than 15 minutes either way at a time, here goes:

Tuesday
AM Lisa shoots at 8:00am
PM Vet Megan shoots at 7:45 pm
Wednesday
AM Megan shoots at 7:30 am
PM Megan shoots at 7:45 pm
Thursday
AM Megan shoots at 7:30 am
PM Lisa shoots at 7:45 pm
Friday
AM Lisa shoots at 8:00am

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369 +5 265

Ugh Vet tech just called. She's concerned she would be late to work, or late back from lunch break, and decided she didn't want to try it. I told her we could be more flexible with the AM start time, and that she wouldn't have to come mid-day for the nadir ... if she could just to the pre-shots. She's thinking about it again. I told her whatever flexibility I could give her. Boy, I'd even go down to once a day - better than nothing.

Meanwhile she recommended care.com, so I created an account and put up an ad for Leo. Sigh sigh sigh. Tomorrow I will call some other vet groups and ask. I wish there was a veterinary school around here ...
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369 +5 265 +10 163

Wow - Leo's in the blue! Woohoo! Looks like we might be shooting low this evening (again, low for ME!) His bounce didn't seem too severe. I got the feeder and I'm testing it now (to make sure it opens at the right times) and so far so good. But I'll still do it by hand tonight until I'm sure I can trust it. Maybe I should put it in his room so he gets used to the noise, before I actually put food in it.

Yay Leo!
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369 +5 265 +10 163

It's good to see Leo cleared that bounce quickly. I hope the timed feeder works out for you. Good luck on your search for someone to give Leo his shots.
 
Re: 8/31 Leo AMPS 371 +2 369 +5 265 +10 163 PMPS 206

Dammit dammit dammit! Fur shot! And we were handling that bounce so nicely!!!

I got the needle in and started to push when he launched away. When I looked, the needle was empty but I got the old bandaids smell on my hand. So not sure what, if any, got in. I *think* some went in. Grrr! Little stinker. He's becoming less enamored of this whole process. And I was hoping to cruise back down to blues.

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top