So hard to watchSounds like neuropathy. It's hard to watch, I know. At one point, Bandit would hold her pee in because she didn't want to walk to the LB. We started picking her up and putting her in it.
I recall yesterday's post you debating on when to increase. Maybe this is the reason you should increase sooner rather than later like TR recommends. @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee would be better suited to give that advise.Yesterday
his neuropathy is getting progressively worse….I know he needs lower numbers…is there any reason why I should make a vet visit? Is there anything they can do to help or is really just a matter of lowering numbers? He is on methyl b22 Sartre drive a week or two ago.

I recall yesterday's post you debating on when to increase. Maybe this is the reason you should increase sooner rather than later like TR recommends. @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee would be better suited to give that advise.
I remember reading a lot of posts on the forum that addressed neuropathy by incorporating the methyl b12 and TR increases. Let me look around by saved bookmarks for threads and link them later. If I'm overstepping, please tell me. I will back off and I promise I will NOT be offended![]()
Phew! Sometimes I put the cart before the horse. Its a giftNot overtstepping! Would love to get any threads or links you have and am open to all opinions and advice. I am getting more confident by the day and crave those greens.
I have a ton of these links also, even very recent ones from the board. I will send you these along with the TR and Neuropathy ones.I have recurrent nightmares of hypo and accidental overdoses and I think it would help my anxiety if I better understood what actually happens in a hypo event and a timeline of how the body copes and stages. If anyone has that info, I would love to read it.


Thank you!Phew! Sometimes I put the cart before the horse. Its a gift. I will absolutely send the links later tonight or tomorrow since I'm working from home.
I have a ton of these links also, even very recent ones from the board. I will send you these along with the TR and Neuropathy ones.
![]()
Ok will increase tonight. I confuse if I should wait for bounces to clear, or if they even are bounces.I think you are holding the dose too long. Don’t hold longer than 6 cycles if you aren’t seeing green and 10 if you see low blue. I’d increase tonight or tomorrow morning. The threat is out.
thank you - that was a fantastic read!Perhaps this will help.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-29-jetta-pmps-328-2-339.55306/
Interesting also was the discussion on shooting early (which can act as an increase as I understand it) when the cat is clearly bouncing. I realize this requires a flexible schedule. I am curious if there are many members currently doing this?Perhaps this will help.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-29-jetta-pmps-328-2-339.55306/
Thanks for this. I started Herman on vitacost b12 methyL on AUG 18 on the advice of Bhooma i only started noticing signs of neuropathy the first week of August - I think it might also be part of the reason for some of his tail pulling which started - now that I think about it - around the same time (we treated for fleas, suspected food allergy) i now think it's a stress response. Hoping to see an improvement soon, although as I've mentioned - other than needing stools to get to his higher hang out places and looking funny when he walks - it hasn't slowed down his activity much and it is currently intermittent so I am hopeful for a turnaround.Hi Amy it does sound like neuropathy
Are you giving B-12 mehtyl
It's a capsule just open it and sprinkle it on the wet food food
Vitacost. 14.49 for 100 capsules
Just sprinkle it on the wet food always add water to the wet food
One per day
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
Tyler had neuropathy , I would say it took about 2 months for him to totally to start walking normal, jumping on to the couch and running.
Yes getting Herman regulated will help
You can start using the Methyl B-12 now
Some members use Zobaline its so expensive like 34.00 for 60 pills
I was using that in the beginning then a member here told me about the Vitacost brand so I switched to that. A lot of members use the Vitacost brand now
I did see a small improvement I would say about every 2 weeks
Makes sense. Planning to increase to 2.25units tonight (I will miss drawing that full 2 unit dose though - it was easier to pull consistently than these .25 doses, even with half markings!)I agree about the increase. You don't want to hold the dose too long if it's not giving you great numbers or you may risk glucose toxicity (I think that's the correct term). That means you would have to increase more to break the toxicity then be able to lower the dose if the cat gives good numbers again. "Shoot low to stay low" is a common saying around here.![]()
Just eyeball it the best you can, I did and still got Tyler in remission eyeballing it .Makes sense. Planning to increase to 2.25units tonight (I will miss drawing that full 2 unit dose though - it was easier to pull consistently than these .25 doses, even with half markings!)

Love hearing remission stories! I worry I may have missed the remission boat for my HermanJust eyeball it the best you can, I did and still got Tyler in remission eyeballing it .
Been in remission since 1-24-21 ( knock on wood)
Oh - that could be game changing for me if I can wrap my head around it - I dwell on potential missed greens ALOT. I mean alot ALOT.One more piece of advice. If you didn't see a green, it didn't happen. That will help alleviate your worries about Herman going too low and you not catching it. Looking forward to seeing how Herman reacts to 2.25u.![]()
Amy it took 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler in remission, so don't give up hope, one member said they never saw a cat go into remission after having diabetes that long he was as diagnosed 9/2018 , so don't give up hopeLove hearing remission stories! I worry I may have missed the remission boat for my Herman(which I take full responsibility for - I stayed with a vet for over two months after diagnosis when my gut told me it was the wrong path and now with a great vet and this fantastic resource of knowledge and support I think I let my fear of hypo and worry of "missed greens" make me play it too safe for too long - which ofcourse was actually playing it dangerous). I still want to get him in as good and healthy a place as possible so still aiming for TR. I can still hope!


WOW! Well that is a great remission story! I know I will get Herman regulated - remission would be icing on the cake - encouraging to know it's not a pipe dream!Amy it took 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler in remission, so don't give up hope, one member said they never saw a cat go into remission after having diabetes that long , so don't give up hope![]()

Well there you go then - its doable. I know the first 6 months is often written about as the critical time for remission - I need to look beyond that statistic!I know there were other cats that took 5 years on insulin before going into remission. Some cats take their time.![]()
