8/31 Herman amps 288 +3 256 +6 252 +10 227 pmps 243 increased +3 308

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

his neuropathy is getting progressively worse….I know he needs lower numbers…is there any reason why I should make a vet visit? Is there anything they can do to help or is really just a matter of lowering numbers? He is on methyl b22 Sartre drive a week or two ago.
 
As long as you are sure it's neuropathy and not arthritis? Is he standing/walking on his hocks?

There's nothing really that you can do besides the methyl B12 supplement and getting him regulated. It can take a little longer in some cats. For Bandit it took 6 months for the neuropathy to resolve, but it did and she was back to running and leaping like her old self. Which was such a relief!
 
Quite certain it’s neuropathy. On his bad moments (severity fluctuates day to day and sometimes hourly) he quire obviously walks more on his hocks, walks a bit wobbly, takes frequent breaks, has trouble jumping (I have started putting little steps everywhere) today after his shot he even stumbled coming up the stairs to my bedroom.
I guess I will just be patient! Never want to subject him to vet visit stress unnecessarily but always want to double check I’m not missing any treatment that might be available.
…gotta get rid of these bounces!
 
Sounds like neuropathy. It's hard to watch, I know. At one point, Bandit would hold her pee in because she didn't want to walk to the LB. We started picking her up and putting her in it.
 
Sounds like neuropathy. It's hard to watch, I know. At one point, Bandit would hold her pee in because she didn't want to walk to the LB. We started picking her up and putting her in it.
So hard to watch :( …Herman still gets around pretty good though, sometimes I’ll head outside to do a chore and I will hide from him or run away so that he doesn’t follow me! But he’s very determined and hard to avoid! We have a big property and he always seems to find me. I often carry him home….when he decides to let me.

I also have a little pet-theory that his legs, while definitely in much much better condition than a few months ago where the muscle mass all but disappeared giving him “chicken legs”, hasn’t caught up enough to carry the significant weight he has gained back overall. Time will tell!
 
Yesterday

his neuropathy is getting progressively worse….I know he needs lower numbers…is there any reason why I should make a vet visit? Is there anything they can do to help or is really just a matter of lowering numbers? He is on methyl b22 Sartre drive a week or two ago.
I recall yesterday's post you debating on when to increase. Maybe this is the reason you should increase sooner rather than later like TR recommends. @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee would be better suited to give that advise.
I remember reading a lot of posts on the forum that addressed neuropathy by incorporating the methyl b12 and TR increases. Let me look around by saved bookmarks for threads and link them later. If I'm overstepping, please tell me. I will back off and I promise I will NOT be offended :bighug:
 
I recall yesterday's post you debating on when to increase. Maybe this is the reason you should increase sooner rather than later like TR recommends. @Bandit's Mom or @tiffmaxee would be better suited to give that advise.
I remember reading a lot of posts on the forum that addressed neuropathy by incorporating the methyl b12 and TR increases. Let me look around by saved bookmarks for threads and link them later. If I'm overstepping, please tell me. I will back off and I promise I will NOT be offended :bighug:

Not overtstepping! Would love to get any threads or links you have and am open to all opinions and advice. I am getting more confident by the day and crave those greens.

I have started to remind myself that I am fortunate to work from home and am able to monitor more than most so, in reality…should there be an issue, I should be able to catch it on time and take necessary next steps as needed - including a trip to emergency if warranted! We have a great 24/7 emergency 20 min away. I have no excuse to not try to be more aggressive in his treatment. Like I said my only question is whether when a cat bounces like this are you better off being conservative in increases so bounces don’t get worse. But I have no idea how that works or if that’s a concern. And since ecid I realize some of this is going to be trial and error.

There is one other question I’ve been afraid to ask as it might sound a stupid. My vet touched on it, but not thoroughly, and googling hasn’t helped. Maybe you have a link somewhere that you’ve seen it addressed? You are so organized, Angela!!! My question is what a timeframe is for a hypo event to go from manageable to dire. Is it 2 hours? A day? My vet just said that the cat has many defence mechanisms in place with secretion of hormones etc and that IF he were to go hypo, I would have time to catch it and get him to help. That said, she also was referring to my spreadsheet and over the top testing (I am trying to reel in). I have recurrent nightmares of hypo and accidental overdoses and I think it would help my anxiety if I better understood what actually happens in a hypo event and a timeline of how the body copes and stages. If anyone has that info, I would love to read it.
 
Not overtstepping! Would love to get any threads or links you have and am open to all opinions and advice. I am getting more confident by the day and crave those greens.
Phew! Sometimes I put the cart before the horse. Its a gift :rolleyes:. I will absolutely send the links later tonight or tomorrow since I'm working from home.
I have recurrent nightmares of hypo and accidental overdoses and I think it would help my anxiety if I better understood what actually happens in a hypo event and a timeline of how the body copes and stages. If anyone has that info, I would love to read it.
I have a ton of these links also, even very recent ones from the board. I will send you these along with the TR and Neuropathy ones.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Phew! Sometimes I put the cart before the horse. Its a gift :rolleyes:. I will absolutely send the links later tonight or tomorrow since I'm working from home.

I have a ton of these links also, even very recent ones from the board. I will send you these along with the TR and Neuropathy ones.
:bighug::bighug:
Thank you!
 
I think you are holding the dose too long. Don’t hold longer than 6 cycles if you aren’t seeing green and 10 if you see low blue. I’d increase tonight or tomorrow morning. The threat is out.
Ok will increase tonight. I confuse if I should wait for bounces to clear, or if they even are bounces.
 
Interesting also was the discussion on shooting early (which can act as an increase as I understand it) when the cat is clearly bouncing. I realize this requires a flexible schedule. I am curious if there are many members currently doing this?

This was also a comforting quote from Jill & Alex:
"from my perspective... the problem is you're equating bouncing as a problem. :D
until a cat is tightly/well regulated bouncing is normal. thank g_d kitty bounces! that means his body is doing exactly what it's supposed to be doing... Mr. Liver is on the job and working! this is a good thing. once Mr. Liver gets used to what it feels like to be in lower numbers he'll start relaxing a little. he won't become panicked when seeing those lower numbers. eventually, Mr. Liver relaxes enough to say,"hey, this isn't so bad. i kind of like feeling what it used to be like... before diabetes." that's when you'll see a lot less bouncing and eventually flat cycles."
 
Hi Amy it does sound like neuropathy
Are you giving B-12 mehtyl
It's a capsule just open it and sprinkle it on the wet food food
Vitacost. 14.49 for 100 capsules
Just sprinkle it on the wet food always add water to the wet food
One per day
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Tyler had neuropathy , I would say it took about 2 months for him to totally to start walking normal, jumping on to the couch and running.
Yes getting Herman regulated will help
You can start using the Methyl B-12 now
Some members use Zobaline its so expensive like 34.00 for 60 pills
I was using that in the beginning then a member here told me about the Vitacost brand so I switched to that. A lot of members use the Vitacost brand now

I did see a small improvement I would say about every 2 weeks
 
Last edited:
I agree about the increase. You don't want to hold the dose too long if it's not giving you great numbers or you may risk glucose toxicity (I think that's the correct term). That means you would have to increase more to break the toxicity then be able to lower the dose if the cat gives good numbers again. "Shoot low to stay low" is a common saying around here. :D
 
Hi Amy it does sound like neuropathy
Are you giving B-12 mehtyl
It's a capsule just open it and sprinkle it on the wet food food
Vitacost. 14.49 for 100 capsules
Just sprinkle it on the wet food always add water to the wet food
One per day
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Tyler had neuropathy , I would say it took about 2 months for him to totally to start walking normal, jumping on to the couch and running.
Yes getting Herman regulated will help
You can start using the Methyl B-12 now
Some members use Zobaline its so expensive like 34.00 for 60 pills
I was using that in the beginning then a member here told me about the Vitacost brand so I switched to that. A lot of members use the Vitacost brand now

I did see a small improvement I would say about every 2 weeks
Thanks for this. I started Herman on vitacost b12 methyL on AUG 18 on the advice of Bhooma i only started noticing signs of neuropathy the first week of August - I think it might also be part of the reason for some of his tail pulling which started - now that I think about it - around the same time (we treated for fleas, suspected food allergy) i now think it's a stress response. Hoping to see an improvement soon, although as I've mentioned - other than needing stools to get to his higher hang out places and looking funny when he walks - it hasn't slowed down his activity much and it is currently intermittent so I am hopeful for a turnaround.
 
I agree about the increase. You don't want to hold the dose too long if it's not giving you great numbers or you may risk glucose toxicity (I think that's the correct term). That means you would have to increase more to break the toxicity then be able to lower the dose if the cat gives good numbers again. "Shoot low to stay low" is a common saying around here. :D
Makes sense. Planning to increase to 2.25units tonight (I will miss drawing that full 2 unit dose though - it was easier to pull consistently than these .25 doses, even with half markings!)
 
One more piece of advice. If you didn't see a green, it didn't happen. That will help alleviate your worries about Herman going too low and you not catching it. Looking forward to seeing how Herman reacts to 2.25u. :cat:
 
Just eyeball it the best you can, I did and still got Tyler in remission eyeballing it .
Been in remission since 1-24-21 ( knock on wood)
Love hearing remission stories! I worry I may have missed the remission boat for my Herman :( (which I take full responsibility for - I stayed with a vet for over two months after diagnosis when my gut told me it was the wrong path and now with a great vet and this fantastic resource of knowledge and support I think I let my fear of hypo and worry of "missed greens" make me play it too safe for too long - which ofcourse was actually playing it dangerous). I still want to get him in as good and healthy a place as possible so still aiming for TR. I can still hope!
 
One more piece of advice. If you didn't see a green, it didn't happen. That will help alleviate your worries about Herman going too low and you not catching it. Looking forward to seeing how Herman reacts to 2.25u. :cat:
Oh - that could be game changing for me if I can wrap my head around it - I dwell on potential missed greens ALOT. I mean alot ALOT.
 
Love hearing remission stories! I worry I may have missed the remission boat for my Herman :( (which I take full responsibility for - I stayed with a vet for over two months after diagnosis when my gut told me it was the wrong path and now with a great vet and this fantastic resource of knowledge and support I think I let my fear of hypo and worry of "missed greens" make me play it too safe for too long - which ofcourse was actually playing it dangerous). I still want to get him in as good and healthy a place as possible so still aiming for TR. I can still hope!
Amy it took 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler in remission, so don't give up hope, one member said they never saw a cat go into remission after having diabetes that long he was as diagnosed 9/2018 , so don't give up hope :bighug::bighug:
 
Amy it took 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler in remission, so don't give up hope, one member said they never saw a cat go into remission after having diabetes that long , so don't give up hope :bighug::bighug:
WOW! Well that is a great remission story! I know I will get Herman regulated - remission would be icing on the cake - encouraging to know it's not a pipe dream!
 
Back
Top