8-31 Gus PMBG 72 No PM Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Gus had a good AMPS this morning, so DH and I made plans to spend the day away from home to celebrate our anniversary (21 yrs :shock: when did that happen!) I wanted to test and feed before we left and TA-DA! Gus decides to threaten a hypo. As a gift, I guess Gus wanted to give me something I never had before! @-) So I have been doing the HC thing and even gave Karo because I wasn't getting any number increase from the 3oz of HC. Kids, they always seem to know how to ruin special events :lol: We'll wait to go out until later in the day when Fuzzy Boy is better settled. I wonder if Gus would have gone hypo on me if I had left him alone. Just a few more gray hairs on my head that have Gus' name on them :roll:
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +3=47 +4=43

Hi guys .. happy anniversary! That is wonderful ... now gus, why did you have to give your beanz such a low number as a present?? Don't you know they would have been happy with a nice surf in the upper greens? Bring it up my man .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +3=47 +4=43

Happy Anniversary!!

Gus wanted in on the celebration. He got his HC before you did!!

Good catch with his numbers. You might want to consider dropping his dose by either 0.5 or 1.0u. I'll see if Libby can stop by to take a look and make a suggestion about dose. It does seem like the GH output has been decreasing over the last few days.
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +3=47 +4=43

OMG Gus!!!! :shock: :o how about coming up into some safer numbers ok? Looks like Gus didn't want his beans to leave at all today :lol:

Congratulations Bev and DH on the 21 years!!!!
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +3=47 +5=59

It would be my opinion that Gus gets a decrease tonight. I thought dropping by .5U but would be comfortable with more.
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +3=47 +5=59

How about some more HC + Karo for Gus?

I'd like to get Libby's and/or Jill's thoughts. Since I've not managed an acro kitty first hand, their experience would be valuable.
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +3=47 +6=82

Up a little bit but I gave more HC anyway. For comfort's sake (mine). I'll test at +7 and hopefully we'll still be on our way up. That sound you hear is me...breathing again.
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +4=43 +6=82

wow, i missed all of Gus' excitement! and he got the yummy foods!!!

i posted the poem in Loose Lips today - here ya go: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51233

especially us with our cats - a normal day is a real blessing.

wondering about Gus' test results . . . AND

Happy 21st Anniversary to you and the DH!​

Way to go!!!! Have a nice time celebrating! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +4=43 +6=82

wow, it's soooooo great to see Gus finally getting the hang of the flat Lantus curve. :mrgreen: I knew you could get him there.

For sure he needs a reduction. I would probably tend to try a 0.5u reduction first because you want to try to get him to hold onto these nice flat numbers if possible (you just want them a little higher). He has earned several reductions in a row, though, so if you feel more comfortable taking a 1u reduction then that would also make sense. I usually do bigger reductions if I feel like I'm starting to lose control of Jazzy's numbers. It sounds like you had trouble bringing him up today, so take that into consideration when you think about dose. Looks good though! Is he feeling good in these numbers?
 
Re: 8-31 Gus AMPS 134 +4=43 +6=82

You're right Libby. It wasn't easy getting him to turn around today. Gus usually reacts quickly and positively to food (especially HC) but not today. I'm more apt to give Gus a .5U decrease and see what he does with that dose.
 
Foregoing tonight's insulin. I'll be giving Gus 10U in the morning and we'll see what happens. Knowing my cat, he'll probably be 'HI' tomorrow ohmygod_smile Good night all, hope the day was good to you. Sending prayers to Tarragon.
 
i think you made a good call, bev. even if he hits HI tomorrow, it'll drain his shed some and you won't be working so much to bring him up.

sandy (& BK) refers to high dose kitties as having a shed the "size of Lake Michigan!" that's our boys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top