8/31 Gracie PMPS 126 +2 95 +3 82 +4 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracies Yesterday

8/30 Recap:
AMPS: 156 14th cycle .75u
+1 165
+2 146
+3 132
+5 142
+7 178
+10 166
PMPS: 186 15th cycle .75u
+2 164
+4 240


Good Morning LL. DH here. We are sending thoughts and prayers for all who need them, especially Tarragon this morning. Praying for a fast and full recovery for Tarragon..

Gracie is happy and chirpy this morning. All her normal P's are in place. She and Tobey played themselves out early, and are into nap mode. Teddi and Gus are in nap mode too, but I think its more of a food coma for them.

Marjorie is at work today, so I'm back to being the BIC (bean in charge), although I'm certainly not in charge of Miss Gracie. We were disappointed to see her go up at +4 last night, and to have this ugly color this morning. We aren't really sure why she bounced. She broke the last bounce Monday night, and came down from pink to green at about 50 per hour. That isn't very fast for her but maybe it was enough. Or maybe .75 just isn't going to work again. Anything above this dose causes dives and bounces, low numbers, and a lot of pokes and carbs. But at this dose she is spending more time at higher numbers and less in the healing range, (15 cycles total with 7 cycles with numbers in blue or green). So, we are kind of at a loss for what to do. Her curves are much gentler on this dose, but I hate seeing all that yellow and pink. My gut says to hold this dose a little longer as she has been doing better on it the last several cycles, with shorter bounces and longer in healing range, but I don't trust my gut anymore. Marje has been talking to Ann about maybe switching her to Lev as well, since her new work schedule will allow it. Any thoughts you all might have are greatly appreciated as always.

The house is dead quiet, so that means either everybody is asleep or up to no good. Better go check it out.
 
Re: 8/31 Gracie AMPS 327 +2 312 +5 241

hi mike! welcome back home after the hurricane Irene craziness!

i don't have any answers - but a couple of thoughts. one is that if there is a way to think through this to a solution, you and marje are the people who could accomplish that. you certainly understand the factors involved and have been studying and tweaking with all of them. you just have the gracie factor that doesn't want to facilitate you finding an easy solution!

the other thought is that it certainly couldn't hurt to try the lev. perhaps it will make a difference, and if for some reason you don't like it or don't feel like it works as well on gracie as the lantus, you can always switch back.

hope you're having a nice afternoon!
 
Re: 8/31 Gracie PMPS 126

Hi Julie: I like your thought and had a great conversation with Ann today about lev. I'm just going to get some input from Jill and look at our schedules.

Gracie is deciding to clear her bounce which makes us ---------> :-D :-D :-D :-D She's clearing it faster today than she has been. She was 115 at +1 so the drop has slowed; hope it doesn't just stop all together.

Longer day at work than I wanted but tomorrow is OFFF!!!
 
Re: 8/31 Gracie PMPS 126

Hi Mike, I'm the BIC for the week in our household and it's been a challenge! I haven't done this much poking, shooting and chasing with food before. Zener is a real trooper about everything. He's amazing.

Zener and Gracie seem to have similar behavior so Julie's suggestion to try the lev is something for us to keep in mind.

Give our best to Gracie and Marje. Poor thing, having to work today.

Liz, BIC
 
Re: 8/31 Gracie PMPS 126

That's much better, Miss Gracie, see if you can talk Tess into following suit.

First 6 day weekend coming up!
596392.gif


There are pros and cons to both Lantus and Levemir. Mainly how the cat's onset and nadir will change. We switched for Tess because she had such an early onset and nadir. It did achieve it's purpose, but it means that nadir can be very late at night! All in all we are happy w/ the switch. ECID and you won't know how they will react until you try. Who knows maybe Gracie will be the poster child of a nice shallow curve on Lev. :roll: :? Oh yeah, it's Gracie! :lol:
 
Re: 8/31 Gracie PMPS 126

Hi guys - sorry for the late visit! Where does the tine go...oh yeah - I remember: DGS... :lol: :cool:

I have no answers for you either... Interesting pattern out there on the .75. greens every three days. and what to make of it all... i dunno. Mannie used to do that - except i'd get green every four days. :lol: Well good luck on whatever you decide. Maybe Lev would help her. Good luck if you make the switch. PM is starting out well - low blues are good numbers. Maybe a toe dip into the greens Gracie?

ANd OT: What food do you feed your kidney issue kitties? BJ's BW came in today and her kidney values are elevated, looks like I need to change her diet, see if that helps, before we begin the fluids route. . so... curious on what you feed yours...
 
Re: 8/31 Gracie PMPS 126 +2 95

And we have :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: !!

I'm going to say this quietly so Gracie doesn't hear but it is so bizarre to have her coming down slowly :lol: :lol: :lol: But we LOVE it!!!

Anne: I think the only thing about lev is, as Ann said, the late nadir....

Julie: OFFFFF....as in very excited to not be working :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ann: Yes!!!! First 6-day weekend!!! Yippeeeee!! Still mulling over the lev change because, as you said.....it's Gracie. Who knows??

Michelle: maybe she's just picking up steam!! I hope. I mean maybe she's just starting to settle in here.....

I feed my renal kitties what they will eat which is mostly Earthborn, some Wellness, and Natural Balance....all canned of course. I don't think the phosphorus is particularly low but they eat well so I use binders as their P levels have been slowly rising. I'm sorry to hear about BJ!
 
Re: 8/31 Gracie PMPS 126 +2 95 +3 82

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: go Gracie - maybe she is pulling a Mannie and taking her time to settle into a dose. :-D Very nice cycle tonight!
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
We were disappointed to see her go up at +4 last night, and to have this ugly color this morning. We aren't really sure why she bounced. She broke the last bounce Monday night, and came down from pink to green at about 50 per hour. That isn't very fast for her but maybe it was enough. Or maybe .75 just isn't going to work again. Anything above this dose causes dives and bounces, low numbers, and a lot of pokes and carbs. But at this dose she is spending more time at higher numbers and less in the healing range, (15 cycles total with 7 cycles with numbers in blue or green). So, we are kind of at a loss for what to do. Her curves are much gentler on this dose, but I hate seeing all that yellow and pink. My gut says to hold this dose a little longer as she has been doing better on it the last several cycles, with shorter bounces and longer in healing range, but I don't trust my gut anymore. Marje has been talking to Ann about maybe switching her to Lev as well, since her new work schedule will allow it. Any thoughts you all might have are greatly appreciated as always.


At one point in Atlas' regulation we were having a similar question or problem. One way was too much the other seemed to be too little. Checking our SS we went off protocol for a bit and held one dose for nearly 20 days or 40 cycles. Until the bouncing more or less stopped. We carried over a few ideas for that...first was shot time consistency...balls of steel shooting as stalling contributed to the bounce more than the stress of shooting low, 3 times below 50 and not at the end of the cycle (Attie appears as a late nadir).

It seems after we let Attie stabilize with this prolonged shift he has become easier to manage and predict. My inclination looking at Gracie's SS is she needs an increase, but isn't ready for it. As pointed out to you guys as well Levimir may work better for Gracie too.

What we do now is if he is low at PS, we always shoot either something or feed a higher carb. and shoot. Then monitor. Yesterday's condo is a good example of what can go right and wrong following this approach. It certainly is not for newbies. And you guys are not newbies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top