8/31 Figaro seems ok post-ER; AMPS 318 +3 278 PMBG 61, +0:45 56, +2 63, +2:30 97

Figaro's Liz

Member Since 2019
ETA previous condo

Found that Figaro had bit open one of those do-not-eat packets from a bag of freeze dried chicken.. he pulled it out of the trash. Turns out it contains iron, which is toxic to cats when ingested at 0.2g. I don't know how much he actually ingested, so we are at the ER. He seemed okay but apparently symptoms of poisoning like this can take 4 hours to manifest.

I brought his meter and a can of regular food like a dope. No HC snacks or anything. He is in the back they said they will probably flush his system and maybe an IV, not sure for what. I don't know what that means for a diabetic. The poison control center recommended an xray to see if any iron is visible, it can cause serious digestive tract damage apparently.

I'm beside myself. Stupid stupid idiot for not taking that packet out of the house immediately.

I never wanted to bring him back here but it's the only 24 hour ER around. I felt like I didn't have a choice...

Silver lining is that he has been high (I gave a half dose because of a low PS yesterday) so the risk of him diving while with them is low-ish... I just keep saying, he is diabetic. He is diabetic. 2 1/4 units, lantus and they go "uh-huh" :[
 
Last edited:
The IV fluids will help flush out his system....and as long as they know he's diabetic, they should be able to test his BG and if necessary, add glucose to the IV so you don't have to worry about not bring anything HC along with you.

I remember seeing another cat here that ate one of those silicone packets they use to keep things dry...he ended up being OK so we'll all say a prayer for Figaro
 
Thanks @Chris & China (GA) ! This one is an iron-based packet, I'm kind of shocked that they would use it in a bag of cat treats since the silicone ones and activated carbon ones are apparently not very toxic. :(

They are doing sub q fluids and are sending us home with a few short term meds to protect the GI tract... omeprazole, ondansetron, and I need to get milk of magnesia OTC somewhere. I've never pulled Figaro so this should be... interesting. I meant to get a good piller ICE but I hadn't gotten around to that yet unfortunately.

They said for a 15lb cat (he is ~14lb right now), 1/2 the packet would be serious, and I'm sure he didn't eat that much. So... we might be fine.

If he vomits or has diarrhea within 12-24 hours I'll have to bring him back in. Here's hoping this was an unnecessary ER visit.
 
Oh Liz! I'm so sorry to hear about Fig and this issue! Poor fellow - and you too - both of you have had one helluva night. I sure hope he didn't eat much - I had no idea those packets would even be attractive to our kitties! Learn something every day.

I do hope everything will be okay from this point forward. Fig - please behave yourself, no more dumpster diving...

Take care of yourself today Liz - you've been through a lot. Sending healing vines to both of you.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I never would have thought about a kitty eating one of those packets. I have thrown them in the trash many times. Sounds like you had a long night. I hope you and Fig are both sleeping good now and that Figaro is fine.
 
Thank you everybody so much.

Figaro seems to be doing okay. He and I are both exhausted. Unfortunately I slept through my alarm and he got his insulin an hour late. I had to wake him up for that and for his +3 snack. But he is eating and walking around, no vomiting, took his meds reluctantly but dutifully. So far so good. As long as no GI distress presents over the next 8-20 hours we are in the clear.

I'm feeling lucky that this is a holiday weekend :confused: Labor of Love Day weekend for me...
 
What a scary thing you went through Liz! Paws are crossed for Fig, poor sweetie, I hope he's ok and you too. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
What are they thinking putting toxic packets in cat treats? :eek::banghead::banghead:
 
I was not expecting a 61 at all. What the heck?
Stalling is not ideal, we are already over an hour off schedule... but all these skips are really not going to get us anywhere.

Not sure what to do :(
 
He was 58 after stalling 15 mins. I decided to skip, since I really can't push shot time forward any more.

Next, I need to decide what to do in the morning now... it seems like this dose may be too much, but things have been super wonky the last few days. I am considering reducing to 2 u even though it hasnt been earned technically. Hmm...
 
At +0:45 he was at 56, so I encouraged him to finish his LC meal. I put a trace of karo on it mostly for my peace of mind. I am wondering if the antacid/laxative from the vet is a culprit in these low numbers.

At +1:20 he is 76. My guess is he will start zooming soon. Will get a +2.

I think I'm going to try 2 units in the morning and see what happens. I can increase later if need be.
 
Still not zooming. +2 was 63. Just giving LC.

Poor Figaro. He is clearly uncomfortable, I suspect it is the milk of magnesia the vet prescribed to defray any possible iron toxicity. :/ that was the last dose anyway... hopefully that is all it is and his discomfort passes soon.

ETA I told my mom about the milk of magnesia and she said she never gave it to me and my siblings because it always made her feel icky for an hour or so. Sure enough Fig perked up about an hour after too.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top