8/31 Ebby AMPS 463 +3 290 +5.5 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's recap:
AMPS 360
+5 265
PMPS 266
+2.5 56
+3 47
+3.5 54
+4 70

Well, we did an increase last night and earned a reduction all in one cycle. I'm wondering if I should wait to reduce though, as I would like to try her on this dose for a little longer. I don't know if Ebby would be considered a long term diabetic, but she was diagnosed about a year ago, and then went into remission, so I thought maybe I should treat her like a long-term, and wait to reduce below 40, or at least hold this for a little longer to see what she does.

I don't know if this would have caused the quick drop last night, but I had to do a scruff shot because she was getting annoyed with me, and it felt like I hit either muscle or maybe thick skin. If I did hit muscle would this cause faster absorption?

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=103362
 
Re: 8/31 Ebby AMPS 463 +3 290 Reduce below 50 or 40???

It's suggested that you treat a cat that has come out of remission more agressively. I would wait for a test below 40 to reduce.
 
Re: 8/31 Ebby AMPS 463 +3 290 Reduce below 50 or 40???

Ok, Thanks! That's what I was thinking and feel comfortable waiting for the 40. I'll keep a close watch on the numbers.
 
Re: 8/31 Ebby AMPS 463 +3 290 Reduce below 50 or 40???

I'd go for the more aggressive approach too, once under 40 or 3 times under 50.
 
Re: 8/31 Ebby AMPS 463 +3 290 Reduce below 50 or 40???

Ok, great! Aggressive it is, Ebby! Thanks for the visits and advice Ann and Dyana! Have a good day.
 
Re: 8/31 Ebby AMPS 463 +3 290 Reduce below 50 or 40???

MelissaEbby said:
I don't know if this would have caused the quick drop last night, but I had to do a scruff shot because she was getting annoyed with me, and it felt like I hit either muscle or maybe thick skin. If I did hit muscle would this cause faster absorption?
generally speaking, the answer is yes. shooting IM will usually cause insulin to be absorbed faster than shooting subcutaneously.

i agree with the others about treating aggressively when a kitty has come out of remission. the faster you can get ebby back into normal numbers safely the better chance for a second remission.
 
Jill & Alex said:
generally speaking, the answer is yes. shooting IM will usually cause insulin to be absorbed faster than shooting subcutaneously.
Thanks Jill! I bet that's what happened then, because that was a really fast drop last night....even for Ebby.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top