Dora the Explorer
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dora-running-high-again.234166/#post-2620052
Good morning -- Dora’s dose was increased as per her vet to 2 because she wasn’t dropping out of the 300s. She has been stressed recently by being brought to our new beach house and then brought back home. I also switched to the needles with the half markings and think when I was doing 1.5 on the longer needle syringes I was actually doing more because when I started with the shorter needle her numbers climbed. (This is why I went up the full 0.5 as the vet said rather than 0.25.) We do not have a nadir lower than 100 even but didn’t test her last night because her ear got cut badly at the PMPS test when she shook her head.
We use AlphaTrack to test her.
As soon as we got to the beach house yesterday her numbers were lower but it’s also a few days into the new dose. She’s more relaxed here because she’s the only cat we bring.
She woke up at 176 and I finally remembered to stall and retest and she’s 174. She’s having her breakfast now. What should I do? In the past when this has happened and I skip or shoot a lower dose, she boomerangs and I have a hard time getting her back down.
Edit to add: I decided to go with 1.0. She may bounce back up but I’m too nervous to try the full dose and she needed something. I’ll keep an eye on her today.
Update: +4 is 131. Best diabetes treatment: buy a beach house and pay someone to watch the frenemies at home. Bring diabetic cat and dogs to shangri-la ... too bad we go home tomorrow!
thank you!
Jame and D
Good morning -- Dora’s dose was increased as per her vet to 2 because she wasn’t dropping out of the 300s. She has been stressed recently by being brought to our new beach house and then brought back home. I also switched to the needles with the half markings and think when I was doing 1.5 on the longer needle syringes I was actually doing more because when I started with the shorter needle her numbers climbed. (This is why I went up the full 0.5 as the vet said rather than 0.25.) We do not have a nadir lower than 100 even but didn’t test her last night because her ear got cut badly at the PMPS test when she shook her head.
We use AlphaTrack to test her.
As soon as we got to the beach house yesterday her numbers were lower but it’s also a few days into the new dose. She’s more relaxed here because she’s the only cat we bring.
She woke up at 176 and I finally remembered to stall and retest and she’s 174. She’s having her breakfast now. What should I do? In the past when this has happened and I skip or shoot a lower dose, she boomerangs and I have a hard time getting her back down.
Edit to add: I decided to go with 1.0. She may bounce back up but I’m too nervous to try the full dose and she needed something. I’ll keep an eye on her today.
Update: +4 is 131. Best diabetes treatment: buy a beach house and pay someone to watch the frenemies at home. Bring diabetic cat and dogs to shangri-la ... too bad we go home tomorrow!
thank you!
Jame and D
Last edited: