8/31 Dora PMPS 246 /AM 176 / 174

Dora the Explorer

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dora-running-high-again.234166/#post-2620052

Good morning -- Dora’s dose was increased as per her vet to 2 because she wasn’t dropping out of the 300s. She has been stressed recently by being brought to our new beach house and then brought back home. I also switched to the needles with the half markings and think when I was doing 1.5 on the longer needle syringes I was actually doing more because when I started with the shorter needle her numbers climbed. (This is why I went up the full 0.5 as the vet said rather than 0.25.) We do not have a nadir lower than 100 even but didn’t test her last night because her ear got cut badly at the PMPS test when she shook her head.

We use AlphaTrack to test her.

As soon as we got to the beach house yesterday her numbers were lower but it’s also a few days into the new dose. She’s more relaxed here because she’s the only cat we bring.

She woke up at 176 and I finally remembered to stall and retest and she’s 174. She’s having her breakfast now. What should I do? In the past when this has happened and I skip or shoot a lower dose, she boomerangs and I have a hard time getting her back down.

Edit to add: I decided to go with 1.0. She may bounce back up but I’m too nervous to try the full dose and she needed something. I’ll keep an eye on her today.

Update: +4 is 131. Best diabetes treatment: buy a beach house and pay someone to watch the frenemies at home. Bring diabetic cat and dogs to shangri-la ... too bad we go home tomorrow!

thank you!
Jame and D
 
Last edited:
I see you went ahead with 1/2 dose. Any of the options you mentioned are good. My kitty also bounces up if I do a partial but if I stall until I feel safe sometimes it’s like 5-7 hours, which really messes up my schedule! So I have tried higher and higher partial doses starting with 1/4 to find what has worked for him. Also if I’m going to be gone or home adds into my decision on how much and how low to shoot.
 
That's a safe number to shoot. She needs her juice and you've had enough time to see how she responds. Let's hope those numbers come down soon :)
 
I see you went ahead with 1/2 dose. Any of the options you mentioned are good. My kitty also bounces up if I do a partial but if I stall until I feel safe sometimes it’s like 5-7 hours, which really messes up my schedule! So I have tried higher and higher partial doses starting with 1/4 to find what has worked for him. Also if I’m going to be gone or home adds into my decision on how much and how low to shoot.

Thank you! I wish I had the nerve to do more. Next time I’ll do 1.5 or even the full dose. We are able to test her today but we also have workmen coming so our timing might be sporadic and I don’t want any issues. I love to see those good numbers and get to blow them. She was also an hour late for her shot now, almost
 
That's a safe number to shoot. She needs her juice and you've had enough time to see how she responds. Let's hope those numbers come down soon :)

thanks! Since the second number was a tiny bit lower (but basically the same) I was anxious about shooting. I need to get better at that, I don’t want to lose the good effect this higher dose is having already!
 
thanks! Since the second number was a tiny bit lower (but basically the same) I was anxious about shooting. I need to get better at that, I don’t want to lose the good effect this higher dose is having already!

Someday you'll be shooting greens! Won't be too long now, I hope....it is scary the first time...but then you get to where you love seeing those greens - because those are the healing numbers on the road to remission :)
 
Will try! A parade of workers through the house has her scurrying about.

I understand about that - I usually have to put Luci away into a separate room - usually the laundry room - since the workers who traipse in and out don't usually watch the door, and Luci, ever the opportunist to escape will take them up on that 'open door offer'...and next thing I know she's out and about - Luci is never allowed outside...however she doesn't know about that rule...and will wait for a chance to leave...while she's confined I'll go get her tests.

I was just hoping you wouldn't be anxious about Dora's numbers for PMPS...so suggested you get a couple of tests well ahead of time to make sure you know which way she's headed.
 
I understand about that - I usually have to put Luci away into a separate room - usually the laundry room - since the workers who traipse in and out don't usually watch the door, and Luci, ever the opportunist to escape will take them up on that 'open door offer'...and next thing I know she's out and about - Luci is never allowed outside...however she doesn't know about that rule...and will wait for a chance to leave...while she's confined I'll go get her tests.

I was just hoping you wouldn't be anxious about Dora's numbers for PMPS...so suggested you get a couple of tests well ahead of time to make sure you know which way she's headed.

Sounds like Dora and Luci were cut from the same cloth! I have a little harness for Dora to go outside in. She would love to go out without it one day! I never got to get more blood and now it’s close to PMPS. I really only worry about hypo episodes and I felt we were far enough from that. I’ll be sad if she’s way up high again though. But not surprised. Thanks for the encouragement!
 
Back
Top