? 8/30 Trey's AMPS 85 - Need help understanding his numbers

Trey's Mom

Member Since 2019
I have skipped his amps because readings are low. Please look at his spreadsheet & help me understand what is going on. Should I reduce lantus to .25? Tomorrow is the last day of weaning him off prednisolone. My feeling is that is the reason he is getting good blue numbers so early in his treatment.
Comments? Suggestions?
 
I have skipped his amps because readings are low. Please look at his spreadsheet & help me understand what is going on. Should I reduce lantus to .25? Tomorrow is the last day of weaning him off prednisolone. My feeling is that is the reason he is getting good blue numbers so early in his treatment.
Comments? Suggestions?

He's getting to where you want him to be. Congratulations!

Have you read this stickie about shooting low numbers?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

Are you able to be at home to test today?
 
Yes I am home to test. When he reads on low side I retest in an hour or 2. He ate right after I tested him so I expect the numbers to go up a bit.

Then I'd go ahead with his regular dose - you're probably behind schedule now - but if you skip it'll drain the depot and his numbers could soar. Test hourly as long as he's in the green numbers - if he goes too low for your comfort - you know what the take action number is on the Alpha Trak - then give him medium or high carb food to bring him up. If he's still dropping, give him Karo syrup or honey - doesn't take much to bring his blood sugars way up...post your numbers on your SS. Others will join in as the day progresses to help you along.
 
Then I'd go ahead with his regular dose - you're probably behind schedule now - but if you skip it'll drain the depot and his numbers could soar. Test hourly as long as he's in the green numbers - if he goes too low for your comfort - you know what the take action number is on the Alpha Trak - then give him medium or high carb food to bring him up. If he's still dropping, give him Karo syrup or honey - doesn't take much to bring his blood sugars way up...post your numbers on your SS. Others will join in as the day progresses to help you along.
Then I'd go ahead with his regular dose - you're probably behind schedule now - but if you skip it'll drain the depot and his numbers could soar. Test hourly as long as he's in the green numbers - if he goes too low for your comfort - you know what the take action number is on the Alpha Trak - then give him medium or high carb food to bring him up. If he's still dropping, give him Karo syrup or honey - doesn't take much to bring his blood sugars way up...post your numbers on your SS. Others will join in as the day progresses to help you along.
I use Relion meter not alpha trak Also when I have skipped the am shot his numbers didn't soar so I am not comfortable with giving him the shot.
 
I retested an hour later & it was 182 so I gave him his shot.

So you're familiar with how to get back to your usual schedule? Lantus needs to be 12 hours apart - so you can back up in 15 minute increments...it'll take a day or two to get back to your usual time. :)
 
I think I will have to start testing him during the night to get a better understanding of what's going on. His amps numbers have been low. Because he eats during the night, today was at 1:30 a.m., & sometimes he may eat again a couple of hours later, this may affect his numbers too I would guess.
 
I have skipped his amps because readings are low. Please look at his spreadsheet & help me understand what is going on. Should I reduce lantus to .25? Tomorrow is the last day of weaning him off prednisolone. My feeling is that is the reason he is getting good blue numbers so early in his treatment.
Comments? Suggestions?
The SLGS protocol calls for reductions at 90, so you are due for a decrease in my opinion.
 
Wonderful that you took Trey in & gave him a loving home!! Sounds like he had a Rough life before he met you :(

Is he getting Methyl B -12 for his neuropathy?https://www.vetinfo.com › feline-neuropathy-methylcobalamin

I've been on the Forum for 18 months. My Kitty Ravan is 17 yrs old. He has diabetes & kidney disease & high blood pressure. I give him Calcitriol for the Kidney disease . It's helping. His last blood work showed his #'s have stabilized. You can read about it http://www.zzcat.com/CRF/calcitriol/index.html

I do not give dosing advice. I leave that to the Experts that have had years of experience. Everyone wants to help but please be careful taking advice from "new" people.

You can tag some of the people that can advise you, they have the experience to give you advice about dosing.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@carfurby

Best of Luck to you & Sweet Trey!:):bighug:


images
 
Wonderful that you took Trey in & gave him a loving home!! Sounds like he had a Rough life before he met you :(

Is he getting Methyl B -12 for his neuropathy?https://www.vetinfo.com › feline-neuropathy-methylcobalamin

I've been on the Forum for 18 months. My Kitty Ravan is 17 yrs old. He has diabetes & kidney disease & high blood pressure. I give him Calcitriol for the Kidney disease . It's helping. His last blood work showed his #'s have stabilized. You can read about it http://www.zzcat.com/CRF/calcitriol/index.html

I do not give dosing advice. I leave that to the Experts that have had years of experience. Everyone wants to help but please be careful taking advice from "new" people.

You can tag some of the people that can advise you, they have the experience to give you advice about dosing.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@carfurby

Best of Luck to you & Sweet Trey!:):bighug:


images
Trey is taking renadyl an otc supplement & seems to help with the ckd numbers. He also takes renakare precription for low potassium. I have no idea what his life was like before he showed upon my door step in FL & wouldn't leave. He is the gentlest & sweetest cat I've ever owned which I why I've spent mucho dollars treating him.
 
Since you are following SLGS Trey earned a reduction with that 85 to 0.25 units. Getting more night time tests in is a good idea so you'll know how low he goes during the night.
 
I was looking for a bit of history on Trey and couldn't track the information down so I'm going to make a few assumptions. Since Trey is newly diagnosed (8/12), I'm guessing you've been reading like crazy and switched his diet to a low carb, raw food diet vs. whatever he was eating previously. That's likely why. you're seeing the change from numbers in the reds and blacks to blues and greens.

On a day like 8/25, if you get a number that seems out of sync (e.g., the 413 at +6), it's helpful to re-test. That 413 was a huge jump from AMPS and given the PMPS number, it definitely seems wacky. It may have been genuine but it also could have been a bad test.

For the amount you're able to test, you could consider TR. It's a more aggressive approach but it's where we have the largest amount of scientific evidence for cats getting into remission. It completely depends on your comfort level but it's worth consideration (IMHO).

Prednisolone is a steroid. For many, if not most cats, steroids raise BG numbers. In fact, many cats develop diabetes as a result of being prescribed a steroid. If today is Trey's last day on pred, please be attentive to testing. His numbers may drop further. What what he being prescribed pred for?

Depending on what you mean by, "...testing on the low side", you may not want to wait an hour or two to re-test. My kitty was one whose numbers could drop fast. You are welcome to look at Gabby's SS to see how I would test. There are also instructions for managing low numbers in the stickies.
 
I was looking for a bit of history on Trey and couldn't track the information down so I'm going to make a few assumptions. Since Trey is newly diagnosed (8/12), I'm guessing you've been reading like crazy and switched his diet to a low carb, raw food diet vs. whatever he was eating previously. That's likely why. you're seeing the change from numbers in the reds and blacks to blues and greens.

On a day like 8/25, if you get a number that seems out of sync (e.g., the 413 at +6), it's helpful to re-test. That 413 was a huge jump from AMPS and given the PMPS number, it definitely seems wacky. It may have been genuine but it also could have been a bad test.

For the amount you're able to test, you could consider TR. It's a more aggressive approach but it's where we have the largest amount of scientific evidence for cats getting into remission. It completely depends on your comfort level but it's worth consideration (IMHO).

Prednisolone is a steroid. For many, if not most cats, steroids raise BG numbers. In fact, many cats develop diabetes as a result of being prescribed a steroid. If today is Trey's last day on pred, please be attentive to testing. His numbers may drop further. What what he being prescribed pred for?

Depending on what you mean by, "...testing on the low side", you may not want to wait an hour or two to re-test. My kitty was one whose numbers could drop fast. You are welcome to look at Gabby's SS to see how I would test. There are also instructions for managing low numbers in the stickies.
He has been eating homemade cooked chicken thighs pureed with E Z compete added. He has turned off to it since he got pancreatitis (cured now) so I'm feeding him fancy feast classic but will look at Weruva because FF is high in phosphorous & he has kidney disease. Prednisolone was for IBD & he is off it completely as of today. Weaned for 3 weeks. He's still on budesonide.
 
Back
Top