8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 +3 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

Just so you know, Tuesday's and Thursday's I now go into the office so leave my Dh in charge. I do a test before I leave which is amps minus 2 but my DH won't do more than one test so he give the shot at amps time and measures at +6 only. Something is better than nothing I guess! Plus it means I get a pm reading (amps minus 2 is pmps+10)

Tiggy was crazy energetic this morning too.. He was blocking the bathroom door and swatting my feet when I tried to enter and then running away so fast his back legs were almost catching up with his front legs! ;)
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

So I am not sure now. I dont know if I am just dumb or am missing something but I am not 100% sure what to do now. The protocol says "Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit." Its been 4 days and his nadirs are all over the place - 50/50 over and under 200. So do I hold the full 5 days and take the average? or should I move him up tomorrow?
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

Hi Wendy,
I'm not sure what to make of Tiggy's spreadsheet: you have been giving increases and decreases all over the place. Tiggy had some nice greens in mid cycle several days ago when you were giving a 4.5Unit dose. So I don't understand why you were in a rush to raise his dose to 4.75. All new doses need time to settle in and I think that you are misinterpreting the protocol to mean that you must continually keep raising the dose. The part of the protocol that you cite is aimed at a cat who is just beginning to use insulin, not one who has been on it for as long as Tiggy has.
I hope that you will get some experienced eyes on Tiggy's spreadsheet. You are right that he has wonky numbers, and I suspect it is because when you began insulin you didn't follow the protocol and raised his dose by increments that were too large. And then you were using the Freestyle Lite meter, which gives false readings in the higher numbers (but usually the numbers on the Freestyle Lite are lower than what the cat's bg really is, and therefore give a false sense of security).
In any event, until some people who are more knowledgeable about dosing in situations like yours come along to give advice, I would hold the current dose. I certainly would NOT increase.

Good luck. It's great that Tiggy is feeling so good.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

Even more confused now. I thought this bouncing was typical as I approach a good dose?

Past is done (increases too big & wrong meter but i corrected that!) and I can't change that so I can only move forward now and I thought I was following it pretty well now and taking the advice given. The last couple of weeks I have been increasing 0.25iu every 3 days if his nadirs are over 200 in general. Am I so badly wrong?? :(

Also I am taking as many measurements I can without pissing Tiggy off too much including a few pm ones (generally +3 and more if he is dropping)...

.?..??
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

Hi again, Wendy,
I am very sorry if I confused you. But I find your spreadsheet confusing!! Even if we "begin" with the switch to the new meter, the increases and decreases do not always fit in with the protocol. Only beginning around August 19th does the SS seem to be following protocol, but then it is not clear to me how you arrived at the dose. I hope you will get some knowledgeable advice later this evening.

Ella
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

I think you're doing fine. The only piece I think you're missing is what to do with a missed/skipped/fur shot. I think you may have missed this post on counting cycles. If you miss a shot, the cycle count starts over. I just realized that I may be misinterpreting the "missed" in the AMPS column -- did you not get an AMPS or did you skip the shot? If the former, you may want to leave the AMPS slot empty.

Going back to your note, it sounds like you're not home to get the AMPS. My thinking here is to ask DH to get his sh*t together and test twice. There's no way to know if Tiggy is safe if he skips the AMPS test. Testing at +6 may not be sufficient on some days.

Given that it looks like an even split on the below 200 nadirs, it's really your call whether to increase. My sense of things is that you may want to increase. It's been work getting Tiggy's numbers to look better. I would rather see you not lose momentum. As long as you're going to be around to test, I'd increase.
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

bribe the dh with his favorite meal or something.
bargain and haggle for 2 tests and then wait some time and try to get a third :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

Ah ok. Missed here means my husband didn't do the AMPS blood test but he still gave the shot. I will update and leave it blank. I did get a test done two hours earlier though. I will try and persuade the DH to do twice a day, But you know how dhs can be ;)

I am home all day tomorrow so I can increase him. Thanks so much !
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

I reckon I can test every 3 hours without him getting too mad by bribing with his favorite treats. So amps, +3,+6,+9 , Pmps. And Pmps +3.

Does that work?
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

Curves are fine. Spot checks are just as good and in many ways better. You are routinely getting a +6. The idea with spot checks is that it allows you to fill in some of the blanks on your SS. Once you have a good sense of when Tiggy's onset and nadir are, I would let the numbers dictate when you test.
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

Ok then maybe tomorrow it's Amps, +2,+4, +7,+10 ,Pmps and Pmps+2. That will fill in some gaps and still kinda be a curve.
 
Re: 8/30 Tiggy PMPS 295 - time for an increase?

My DH has agreed to do the amps plus the +6! Joy! Although he said that his favorite meal isn't going to be good enough reward, it may involve other favors not suitable to type in this forum ;) lol.
 
Hi again, Wendy,
I'm glad that Sienne has straightened out everything for you. She is so very knowledgeable and always hits the nail on the head. Carry on and it's great that your DH is going to help out more.

Sorry again that I contributed to your anxiety.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top