8/30 Tableau Bounce cleared

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehsuan

Member Since 2011
Tableau's Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51045

Well, it looks like the bounce has cleared. Hope I didn't overshoot by not understanding the protocol.

I just need to say that I was not "impatient" with increasing the dose. I thought I was following the protocol to the letter, and did not understand about "bounce." I would never do anything to harm my cat and I have done everything in my power to keep him healthy and happy.

I really have appreciated the advice I've received, but please understand this is not easy and mistakes will be made. I'm doing the best I can.

PMPS 232
+2 198
+5.5 208
+ 7 241

THanks.
 
Good morning!! You are doing great Emily. All any of us want is what is best for our kitties and we all make mistakes. It is a lot of information and gets very confusing. Hang in there. It does get easier, especially once you know how your kitty reacts to increased dose, bounces, etc. ECID (Every Cat Is Different) and you will be able to see a trend after awhile.

Have a wonderful day!
 
I don't know if I've visited your condo before, so I wanted to stop in and say "hi"! This stuff is confusing and overwhelming, no doubt, and Sienne, Jill, etc did a great job of explaining a lot of it. Honestly, after being in this for over 6 months, I still get confused, too ohmygod_smile :lol: ! Bounces in particular threw me off a lot in the beginning, too...it seemed like Trixie would bounce so much that I couldn't figure out if and when I should change her dose. That's where all your testing and then posting questions here helps a lot - which I know you're doing! The folks here know this stuff inside out, can study at your spreadsheet, and determine exactly how your cat is responding since, as we all know, ECID. Like Melissa said, after a while, the data and the info will start making more sense to you, too. If you have a chance to pop into the condos of other kitties, there's lots to learn there, too. I know that also helped me a lot, especially in the begining (and it still helps me a lot now!!).

You're doing a great job. Have a wonderful day!!

Amy
 
I'm glad to see that the bounce cleared. It's going to happen, and they'll always settle down after a day or 2. Hoping for great #s for you both today! Have a great day, guys! :-D
 
Hi guys .. I agree with others .. this IS confusing and mistakes WILL be made .. we are only human .. and of course, no one here thinks you want to harm your kitty in any way .. Mocha was on insulin for 22 months and I can honestly say even up to the last few weeks we still had questions on what amounts she should be getting .. It was frustrating for me, because some people on here just seem to understand every aspect of this sugar dance and I really struggled with it .. but the great thing is, those who do understand it were always willing to help guide us ... just hang in there!
 
Hi Emily!

Glad to see the bounce cleared...excellant! This is a confusing dance with these kitties. There is so much information to learn and then understand...especially when and how it applies to your kitty. This is Zoe's 2nd time on insulin and I still get confused.....but I know her tendencies better now, so it has gotten easier, sorta! Stop into other condos.....look at other kitties spreadsheets...there is a ton of info and tips out there that may apply to Tableau. Welcome to LL.....and keep asking questions and sharing your frustrations, we have all been there, believe me! :mrgreen:
 
((((emily))) believe me, we all get it. it is hard - and it does get easier. don't mis-read trying to teach you and give you good information as being criticism. there is SO much to get here. at least for me - i didn't really grasp any part before i'd experienced it and needed that information. it's taken me 6 months to even see a bounce! the protocol sounds so simple and straight forward - see a nadir in this range, increase by this amount. but the part that is hard is learning to "read" the kitter's body's response to the insulin.

for quite a while i just said "i think this is what i should do - is it?" and waited for someone to look at punkin's info and advise me. a lot of people put "dose advice needed" in their subject lines when they think they need to change the dose to get some more experienced eyes on their cat.

i also thought at first that it was like a math equation. i'm good at math. i get math. :lol: so i would take one punkin's 14.3lb body, i would control the food and do the same thing every day, and i would add x units of insulin and that would equal VOILA! a punkin well controlled, on his way to OTJ!

:lol:

well i thought so, at least. then i finally "got it" that insulin is a hormone. i have 2.5 daughters (figure out that one) and i know teenage girls well with all their hormones and drama. slamming doors one moment, crying, and then all sunshine the next. that metaphor for the insulin in punkin's body - that helped me understand. so now i control what i can and i understand better why people call it a "sugar dance." it also helped me understand why human diabetics have trouble with getting their diabetes under control. you can't control it all, so you learn what you can and you do the best you can. fortunately, you have all of us in the boat with you - we help each other. :YMHUG:
 
Thanks Julie, Amy, Sherry, Peter, Angela and Melissa for your words of encouragement (hope I got all the right names - going off of signatures). I appreciate it. It is very confusing - the last time I had to do this we were using PZI and it was much more straight forward.

I will keep trudging along, reading condos, studying spreadsheets, asking for help. Julie, the analogy of teenage girls was quite helpful. 2.5 daughters - lol - you must be in Ripley's Believe it or Not.

I hope you and all your kitties (and other loved ones) have a fantastic day. Thanks for brightening mine. :thumbup
 
Ummm...... I'd like to see more numbers before concluding that the bounce has cleared. These kitties can fool you!!

(FYI - PeterDevonMocha is Devon, not Peter. Devon does the posting.)
 
You are absolutely right, Sienna, as usual. Tableau actually threw me a high AMPS this morning, (over 400 - haven't logged it yet). Oh boy. confused_cat
 
(((Emily))) We've been at this almost one year (I can't believe it) and I still have to have some of the really experienced folks look at Gracie's SS to make sure they are seeing the same thing that we are. It's a steep learning curve and it is really hard to tell a bounce from high numbers. It's also hard to tell when a bounce has cleared...it can be deceptive....I've actually had Gracie in pink/yellow and then blue and then back up. I thought she was clearing in blue but when Jill looked at her SS....nope...she was still bouncing. You have to learn to look at what is going on by looking at several cycles for the pattern.....it's tough.

So please never think we are criticising. We've all been there..we've all made mistakes and continue to make them. For me, the hardest thing to learn has been patience and letting go of the control. Like Julie, I felt that controlling the food, the calories, the carbs, the dose...voila. ....one gets a tightly regulated cat. But it isn't like that. The wonderful, patient folks in LL have told me many times....it's the sugardance and you follow where the kitty leads.

It will help us though if you can do a daily condo like the rest of us and post Tableau's numbers. Then we can see what is going on at a glance. If you need dosing advice, then we can look at the SS.

Thanks, Emily. You are doing great!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top