8/30 Reuben PMPS 334 +3/364 +6/386 +10/392

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Look at that Pretty Pink Pre-Shot! :RAHCAT

Reuben threw up right before the pre-shot. Possibly hair ball related, aggravated by hunger. Just guessing.

His appetite is good and constant, and he ate normally for the shot.

Litterbox action is possibly suspect, I saw no activity overnight and not sure about the 24 hours before that. Both cats use the box, and also go outside, so if there is a change sometimes it takes a little longer to detect. Keeping a close eye on this now. Started miralax yesterday as preventative, in light of bupe known side effect; may have to give more.

Reuben spends all his time resting, except when he gets into the yellows he seems to have a bit more energy.


Ongoing Medications:
Started 8/23

50mg Clavamox bid
0.25mg Pepcid bid
.08ml Bupe bid
1/8 tsp miralax qd (started yesterday)
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben AMPS 396

Great WCR, Alexa - thank you for taking the trouble to list his meds as well :mrgreen:

A very pretty pre-shot for Reuben today, too. Everyone, Alexa took the time to do curves yesterday for botht eh AM- and the PM-cycle. Here's a recap of how things went:

29th August
AMPS 501
(+2) 416
(+4) 369
(+6) 287
(+7) 268
(+10) 326
PMPS 405
(+2) 383
(+4) 340
(+6) 255
(+8) 221
30th August
AMPS 396

Fingers crossed for another good day, Alexa - by PMPS, we should be better able to evaluate Reuben's current dose, ok?
Great job so far!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben AMPS 396

Hi Alexa and wow, great job with Reuben's curve. Sounds like a good day for Reuben in spite of the hairball. Good for you starting the Miralax as a preventative measure. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben AMPS 396

Wow! You have been very busy! What informative curves! Anyone think the bouncing might have stopped?

By the way, I found out the hard way that the way Miralax works is to hold liquid in the digestive tract/colon that would normally go out to the rest of the body to hydrate it. You may need to push water on him if you can -- to keep him from suffering from further dehydration. I don't know by what mechanism bupe causes constipation -- you may want to ask. I assume you know it's addictive, and that's why you are being careful with it.

It really looks like you are seeing some fantastic progress! Good job! Does Reuben act as if he feels better?
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben AMPS 396

Check you guys out in the pretty pinks!!!!!!!! :-D This is very exciting!!! Keep up the good work and the pretty colors!

Hope you guys have an awesome day!

~Deborah
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben AMPS 396 +3/350

Dale, I've been thinking about those lovely, flatter curves myself, too. Since they don't contain dips into blues/greens, though, I'm not certain Reuben had quite turned in his trampoline - when he revisit thise healthy ranges, I wouldn't be surprised if he put his bouncing shoes on. But IMHO you're right to hope he's learning to be less dramatic :mrgreen:

You must be exhausted, Alexa! Hang in there! Great job getting the (+3), too. It'll be interesting to see where Reuben takes this cycle!
You rock like granite :-D

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben AMPS 396 +3/350 +6/288 +8/269

Hi Alexa, Love seeing that nice pink AMPS for Reuben then easing down lower through the day, good boy! Sorry Reuben has been in pain, hope the bupe helps him get relief. .
Great job doing Reubens curves! Did his data surprise you at all, or mostly what you expected? Looks like he is starting to like this dose. Both of you have a great evening!
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben AMPS 396 +3/350 +6/288 +8/269 +9/323

Thank you everyone! I am indeed quite tired, but very glad to have more information.

I am relieved by stable nature of the numbers; I try not to expect anything anymore, but I did hope he would do what he is doing: a nice slow curve that doesn`t go low enough that he is going to over react with exaggerated high numbers. I have a fantasy that it could be possible to lower this cycle down so gently that he doesn`t bounce. What about a smaller dose increase? Like doing half of 0.25... Is there a reason Not to do this?

He is not reacting with different behavior in the yellows today. I`m keep an eye on the hydration, plying him with liquids...
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben PMPS 334

Nice curve for Reuben! I hope the BGs balance out. Those crazy bounces can make you,um, crazy! Have a wonderful night!
 
Re: 8/30 Reuben PMPS 334

Hi Alexa

What a beautiful curve for Reuben!! Hooray :mrgreen:

Mostly, we recommend smaller dose changes ("shaved/skinnied dose" when it's a mini-decrease, "fattened dose" when it's a mini-increase) for cats who are *very* sensitive to the normal, TR-protocol 0.25u dosecreases (can mean decrease or increase - one of those LL words :lol:). There are a number of kitties around who prefer mini-dosecreases. (Helen's Rosy is one, for instance.) As for "preventing a bounce" - oh, how we'd all love to be able to do that :mrgreen: I'm afraid most cats will bounce until they don't even when their beans try everything they can think of to prevent it, like smaller dosecrease, feeding the cycle strategically, and so on.

A bit of SS-Review:
--- The last blues Reuben saw were a few days back (28th August), and he bounced into the black off them.
--- His last three cycles were beautifully balanced - no crazy-fast drops/dives, no crazy-high bouncing of those nice yellows.
--- The most recent AM-cycle is even better than the two cycles before that, so there's definitely reason to hope for continued progress.
--- The two PM-cycles we have data on so far (24th and 29th August) lead me to believe that Reuben is staying pretty steady at night rather than dipping notably lower than he does during his day cycles.
--- The 24th showed "textbook" Lantus nadirs (meaning, the lowest BGs happen smack dab in the middle of the cycle) for both AM and PM cycles in the mid-range blues around (+6)/(+7).
--- The 29th again showed those nadirs, this time in the mid/upper yellows, around mid-cycle.
--- His first couple of dose increases (from 0.5u through the increases up to 1.75u) had a pretty usual, fairly slow and not very marked effect on the BGs (because they had not yet taken him close enough to the dose he needed to start showing proper movement and fill his shed properly).
--- His last couple of increases showed some real movement down into the blues.
--- The increase from 1.75u to 2.0u showed immediate movement, right in the "increase-cycle" (the cycle which began with the dose increase).
--- The increase to 2.25u took a bit longer, 2 cycles (possibly 1 - no PM-data on the 27th to be sure) after the "increase-cycle".

If Reuben doesn't show you some blues this PM-cycle (if you're able to get spot checks, that is), IMHO you are good to go for the 0.25u increase tomorrow. There's no reason to fear he will drop significantly lower at night than he would during the day, based on the data we have so far (though, as I said, more night-time spot checks would make assessments like this one even better and safer). His reaction-time to the increases has shown variation, so if ever and whenever you decide to increase (i.e. whether you do it in the AM or PM), spot checks will be required. Data keeps cats and beans safe :-D

Let's see what the others think.
Happy TGIF!
HUgs,
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top