8/30 Liam M - AMPS 177

Teanuhb

Member Since 2021
(Edited to add: Sorry! I'm new and didn't realize I needed to include a question mark in the title)

Hello!

I've been trying to get my kitty regulated since his diagnosis back in March.

He was diagnosed with CKD about 3 years ago so I he's been on prescription K/D since then.

Regulating his diabetes has been a challenge on that diet so my vet recommended that I start cooking for him at home and that has been working really well! In the last month and a half since he started eating home made his numbers have stabilized. We haven't seen numbers above 400 in a while and 300 is rare.

A couple of weeks ago, I noticed him acting pretty sleepy so I tested his BG and it was in the 40s. I use the AlphaTrak and everyone on here as well as our vet said that was too low, so I didn't give insulin that night.

Since then, he's had some pretty low numbers (below 100 on the alphatrak) on his current dose. The vet said if we can keep him between 70 - 150 that would be perfect numbers. The problem is that any time he is below 200 he acts pretty sleepy and has very low energy all day. He's at his perkiest and most energetic in the 200s.

My questions is: 200+ seems like a number that is not ideal to keep him at. However, he doesn't seem to be too comfortable at numbers below 200, so which should I prioritize? I am planning to do a curve on Wednesday to email to our vet and I have decreased his dose from 6u glargine to 5u in the last day or two because his PS tests are often below 100 on 6u.

Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:
A change from a high carb prescription diet to a low carb raw/home-made food could bring down numbers and insulin requirements considerably. A drop below 68 on the AT is an immediate reduction for a newly diagnosed cat and for doses over 5U, we take reductions in multiples of 0.5U.

Are the only tests you are getting those mentioned on your SS? Are these curves done at the vet?
We advice our members to get at least preshot tests every day and try to do a curve once a week at home. Tests done at the vet can give inaccurate numbers on account of stress.

Normal BG numbers would be between 70-120 on an AT. When a cat is used to high numbers, being in normal numbers is disorienting at first because it is like a sugar/caffeine withdrawal. One they start seeing normal numbers regularly and get used to them, they really perk up and get super energetic. It becomes the other way around. Happy in low numbers and sleepy in higher numbers.

(Edited to add: Sorry! I'm new and didn't realize I needed to include a question mark in the title)
You can edit your title by going to "Thread Tools" at the top right of the thread and selecting "Edit Title". You can use the "?" prefix when you have a question.


Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/quick-drop-should-i-be-concerned.250477/
 
If you are going to follow SLGS, you will need to take reductions under 90 regardless of whether you are using a human meter or a pet meter. If you have additional data it is a good idea to put it in your SS, since the last tests I see are from August 12th. If you are recently seeing preshots under 100, seeing that data along with other test data would be helpful in giving you any dose advice. Generally, with SLGS you hold the dose for a week, unless kitty drops under 90, in which case you take an immediate reduction. At your current dose, that would be to reduce by 0.5u.

From the test data you have, it appears that you are exclusively testing during the am cycle. We've often found here that even with SLGS, it is helpful to get random spot checks, especially at night, since many kitties like to go lower at night. At the moment you only have half the picture, so I would encourage you to try and get some night time tests in to fill in some of those white blanks in your SS.

Here are the dosing methods we follow on the forum. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Back
Top