Teanuhb
Member Since 2021
(Edited to add: Sorry! I'm new and didn't realize I needed to include a question mark in the title)
Hello!
I've been trying to get my kitty regulated since his diagnosis back in March.
He was diagnosed with CKD about 3 years ago so I he's been on prescription K/D since then.
Regulating his diabetes has been a challenge on that diet so my vet recommended that I start cooking for him at home and that has been working really well! In the last month and a half since he started eating home made his numbers have stabilized. We haven't seen numbers above 400 in a while and 300 is rare.
A couple of weeks ago, I noticed him acting pretty sleepy so I tested his BG and it was in the 40s. I use the AlphaTrak and everyone on here as well as our vet said that was too low, so I didn't give insulin that night.
Since then, he's had some pretty low numbers (below 100 on the alphatrak) on his current dose. The vet said if we can keep him between 70 - 150 that would be perfect numbers. The problem is that any time he is below 200 he acts pretty sleepy and has very low energy all day. He's at his perkiest and most energetic in the 200s.
My questions is: 200+ seems like a number that is not ideal to keep him at. However, he doesn't seem to be too comfortable at numbers below 200, so which should I prioritize? I am planning to do a curve on Wednesday to email to our vet and I have decreased his dose from 6u glargine to 5u in the last day or two because his PS tests are often below 100 on 6u.
Thanks in advance!
Hello!
I've been trying to get my kitty regulated since his diagnosis back in March.
He was diagnosed with CKD about 3 years ago so I he's been on prescription K/D since then.
Regulating his diabetes has been a challenge on that diet so my vet recommended that I start cooking for him at home and that has been working really well! In the last month and a half since he started eating home made his numbers have stabilized. We haven't seen numbers above 400 in a while and 300 is rare.
A couple of weeks ago, I noticed him acting pretty sleepy so I tested his BG and it was in the 40s. I use the AlphaTrak and everyone on here as well as our vet said that was too low, so I didn't give insulin that night.
Since then, he's had some pretty low numbers (below 100 on the alphatrak) on his current dose. The vet said if we can keep him between 70 - 150 that would be perfect numbers. The problem is that any time he is below 200 he acts pretty sleepy and has very low energy all day. He's at his perkiest and most energetic in the 200s.
My questions is: 200+ seems like a number that is not ideal to keep him at. However, he doesn't seem to be too comfortable at numbers below 200, so which should I prioritize? I am planning to do a curve on Wednesday to email to our vet and I have decreased his dose from 6u glargine to 5u in the last day or two because his PS tests are often below 100 on 6u.
Thanks in advance!
Last edited: