8/30 Leo PMPS 134 +1 170 +3 240 +6 375

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
This morning's condo
Leo 8/20 AM

Leo went really green by surprise today - he caught us off guard. I came home from work and SURPRISE! I worked him gently back up with hc and lc food, and just shot him. He ate half of his first dinner and is staring about the back screen door. He's being good - I can test him while he sits on my lap now! He's annoyed, but loves his CHICKEN!!!

I'll be testing every hour for a while since I've never shot this low before after a green day. Fingers crossed ... it will be a long and tiring night for me. And I get up at 5:45 on Friday mornings to work with a killer trainer, so I will be dead even before I get there!

Look Sienne - I'm SHOOTING! :lol:
 
Re: 8/30 Leo PMPS 134

Wow Leo, diving from pink deep into green qualifies as drama! Nice shooting Lisa, it can be scary to shoot low. I hope Leo's numbers are steady and you are able to get some sleep tongiht. If he starts to drop beyond your comfort level be sure to edit your original post so the wise ones here notice it and they can help you manage all night if needed.
 
Re: 8/30 Leo PMPS 134 +1 170 +3 240

Thanks, Leslie. I had fingers crossed that he would stay lower, but I suspected once he dipped that low (for him) ... BOUNCE!

So, I'm not worried about a crash now, but wondering how important it is to get a nadir test at times like these? He may be doing the turnaround like he did on 8/27 and zoom up. I'll probably end up getting up anyway, but thought wise minds might have a suggestion on benefit vs. sleep.
 
Hi Lisa

I see from your SS that you went for that mid-cycle check, which is fine. As we can see, Leo is enjoying some trampoline time :mrgreen: Still, it's GREAT that he saw those beautiful greens!

Sorry to be a stickler, but your link up there doesn't work... I'm not sure why you've named it "8/20 AM"? Is that meant to reference the time at which you originally posted that morning (the morning of the 30th)?

It took me a while to figure out :lol: but I realized you had started a *second* condo for the 30th, for the PMPS. That's not the best thing to do, just for future reference. We stick to 1 condo per day per cat, k?

What the link is meant to reference is the *previous* condo (or condos, if you wish, and in this case, because you had 2 condos in 1 day, I would have done both links). Meaning, for the EVENING-condo of the 30th, you should link the MONRNING-Condo of the 30th, and I'd throw in the 29th-August link for good measure. Like this:

30th August MORNING Condo
29th August Condo

Phew. All sorted :lol:
Leo's looking great!
Hugs
Jane
 
Hi Jane,

1) Well, DARNIT! :smile:

Don't worry about being a stickler, I am too, so I'm a little frustrated I'm not getting it right, but I'll chalk that up to my newbieness, so keep gently guiding me and I'll continue to work on it. I'll get this right eventually! I created a PM condo because his AM subject line was getting too long. I had seen others start a PM condo as well, so I though that was an OK thing to do if I linked to the AM. But you're right, it makes sense to keep links there going back just the last cycle. So, I'll keep an entire day (2 cycles) in one condo, but then do I start erasing values from the subject line? If so, which ones?

My AM link in my PM condo works for me. Not sure what the problem is. I'll recheck how to make the URLs so that the next appears rather than the whole URL name. I think I grabbed the link with the "view posting" in it rather than the "view topic" in it, since everything else looks ok. I'll do the links for his AMPS this morning and see if you can open those. That will be in a couple hours.

Does this work? Leo's 8/30 AM Condo (Don't yell if it's the actually the PM condo - it's early and I'm just trying to get the actual linking process to work!)

2) I suspected Leo would bounce after the nice (but surprising to me) run of greens, but now we bounce. Does this just keep going on and on? Will the bounces settle down? I've been reading many other threads and there was a notion that perhaps lowering the dose could bring him down could stabilize him more slowly so his liver doesn't get freaked out over and over? Or is "Liver Training School" working through these bounces and changing the liver's response over time? I'm not sure where I saw this discussion (so much good material!) Yes, I remember that big drops even at higher values can cause bounces. So is my current plan then keeping the dose and working with his feeding schedule? The feeder arrived yesterday.

Thanks for your continued guidance, Jane - you're great!
Lisa
 
:lol: Don't worry, no yelling!

(1) The PM Condo Thing: Yes, some LL'ers starttheir "daily condo" at PMPS - but they tend not to post a second (AM) condo for the same 24-hour stretch, if you know what I mean. Opening a second condo generally happens to, yes, newbies :mrgreen: and sometimes when there's a query regarding *another* cat (say, on Health), and sometimes when there's an emergency. And sometimes because beans get tired and distracted too, caring for the kitties :-D But ideally: 1 Condo Per Day Per Cat.

(2) The Subject Line Thing: We ourselves, excepting his *very* serious DKA & recovery from that, never went through emergent (BG-)situations with Karre, so our subject lines were mostly pretty short. But what I believe most LL'ers do when an AM-cycle that needs lots of attention runs into a following PM-cycle that needs lots of attention, and the updated BGs in the (original) subject line keep piling up is this: Keep the Pre-Shots and the most significant BGs. So, hypothetically, if you had a condo that starts in the AM (see how I keep making that point? Subtle, huh! :mrgreen:), and that cycle sees low greens, and then the PM cycle starts lower than expected and dips into greens again, you'd give a recap of something like this (*within the condo,* not the subject line):

IMAGINARY Scenario:
AMPS 135
(+2) 70
(+3) 55 --- Fed MC 1 tsp.
(+3.5) 46 --- Fed HC gravy 2 tsp with 1 drop karo.
(+4) 52 --- Fed HC gravy 2 tsp.
(+4.5) 69
(+5) 88 --- Fed LC.
(+6) 94 --- Left ut *some* LC.
(+11)129
PMPS 146
(+2) 83
(+2.5) 61 --- Fed MC 2 tsp.
(+3) 53 --- Fed HC gravy 2 tsp.
(+3.5) 72
(+4) 99
(+5) 117 --- Fed LC 2 tsp.
(+7) 128 --- Left out LC.
(+11) 133

The BGs in bold are the ones I personally would keep in the original subject line. If that's still too long, I would shorten to something like this (again, random date, and BG values listed as XX or XXX just for example): "Leo 8/9 AMPS XXX LOW BGs PMPS XXX +2 XX +3 XX" and so on. That way, it's clear, already from your subject line, that you *had* an urgent/emergent situation in the AM already, and you're now in the subsequent PM cycle, which *again* needs extra attention, and once the reader goes into the condo and *your last post*, there they will ideally find the latest recap, so they have the details. From there, they can either react right away, or if there is time, check the SS and prior condos to get an even more detailed picture. Make sense? (N.B. The imaginary scenario would, in real life, have tests every 15-20 minutes while BGs are in the 40s/50s. I did half-hourly values just because it's a bit simpler.)

(3) In-Condo Recaps: To expand a bit on the above - If you go back to some of the condos where kitties went pretty low, you'll see a lot of beans do in-condo recaps of the numbers (and feedings) so far, always in the most recent post, to make sure people coming in late get up to speed fast. A recap like the hypothetical one I posted above is useful for anyone needing to jump in *while a cat is still low*. Ideally, whoever is helping/guiding will read SS and the current condo (and previous condos), as and when there is time. But if the cat is in the 40s, whoever has come in (say, to take over for the person who was helping up to that point - you'll see there "hand-offs" as and when beans need sleep) needs to know where the cat is *right then*, and the recap makes sure that happens.

(4) The link you had earlier ("8/20 AM") works for you, I believe, because you linked to *your own condo in editing-mode*, where only you can input info/edit posts. I don't think it would work for anyone but you.

(5) The new link you posted works fine and it *is* the PM condo - good job :mrgreen:

(6) Leo will bounce until he's ready to turn in his trampoline. HE decides when. It would be lovely if lowering the dose would help stop the bouncing, but, alas, that isn't really how it works. Most likely, YES, he will settle down and *not* bounce, or first gradually bounce less hard and then stop. It happens often. Yes, LTS (liver training school, or liver boot camp for the obstreperous ones :lol:) means working through the bounces - IGNORING the bounce-related numbers mostly (though not ignoring the potentially surprising repercussions, like a quick drop as the bounce is cleared). You'll have to grit your teeth, breathe, and wait until Leo settles down a bit more. Most likely, he WILL. Take heart!

(7) Feeding routine is a good way to help "guide" cycles, but requires careful planning for a lot of kitties, depending on carb-sensitivity, nadir consistency, and other factors. Keeping in mind that you have a petsitter coming - any luck getting someone who WILL TEST?? - I'd like to wait with re-assessing Leo's dose until you can tell us how much monitoring he will get (via petsitter). Thankfully, there is still a bit of time before you'll be away, so we still have a chance to make an adjustment and see how he adapts to it. Tentatively: The 2.0u dose, looking at SS, seems to have done his shed a lot of good, filled it nicely, and given you steady progress towards green. Remember Lantus dosing looks at nadirs for guidance, not so much at pre-shots. Green nadirs are GREAT! (Albeit scary at first.) At the moment, I'm not seeing an obvious need to an increase, but I want to give it more time to go through SS more carefully, ok?

I've got a starving DH here praying I'll get away from the damn laptop to make lunch :lol: I'll do that now - I've been promising him a red potato, butternut and ostrich curry and it's high time I made good on that! Post any other questions, anything you need clarified, and someone will get back to you (I will if I have time later on, too). Hope this helps!! Sorry if I left things out, I feel bad 'cause hubby is so hungry!

Hugs
Jane
 
Hi Jane

Thanks for the understanding regarding his bouncing and not lowering the dose. I had planned to keep him on 2u for a while through the babysitting period unless something happened otherwise, and then I read a thread where it was recommended to reduce the dose slightly if a sitter couldn't test.

BUT I FOUND a vet tech at our vet who is willing to give it a try. She of course knows how to do the sticks an injections, but she has to see if she can do Leo's schedule and not affect her hours at the clinic. We will have to push his morning shot earlier by about 25 minutes and on time for the PM. When I talk to her, perhaps I get Leo going earlier before we leave, so she can regularly shoot 30 minutes earlier and we "fix" him when we return. Or she could alternate: 15 earlier in PM, 30 earlier in AM, 15 earlier in PM, 30 earlier in AM, etc, so each is only "off" by 15 minutes from the previous. Yes, I think that will work better. She will also come over sometime during her lunch hour but she can't guarantee the exact time, but it should be somewhere between +5 and +7.5. I am relieved about that. And if she can't stay if he goes low, worse case she could just take him in. I'll be available by phone at all times I know she is testing and I'll ask her to text me each result. She's coming over tonight at 7 to get acquainted with our routine. She's met Leo and remembers that he wasn't a stubborn or evil cat. :smile: I am relieved at this - it would be WONDERFUL if this works out since the clinic is only about 5 miles (but almost 15 minutes) from our home.

Lunch sounds delicious - hope it was good!

Lisa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top