? 8/30- Leo - AMPS 153 and coming down slowly

Yes. The 3.0 depot is building. Not sure why you are increasing so fast or by so much. It won’t be surprising to see low numbers soon with full unit increases. Watch closely.
 
Yes. The 3.0 depot is building. Not sure why you are increasing so fast or by so much. It won’t be surprising to see low numbers soon with full unit increases. Watch closely.
The 3 units is what the vet bumped him up to from 2 because he wasn't responding to the 2.
 
Hi Tresa, It can take Lantus a while to get higher numbers down. Those blues are not too low, but, as Elise says above, you need to keep an eye on Leo now that those numbers are coming down because you might need to take action in case he goes too low. Also, I notice you're on custom dosing, and I'm not sure what that is, but just so you know, Lantus is best shot consistently, with the same dose every 12 hours. We don't adjust the dose based on preshot numbers (unless kitty is below a certain number, in which case, depending on the dosing method you are following, you might skip); we adjust the dose based on nadirs. Inconsistent dosing can cause bouncing.
 
Hi Tresa, It can take Lantus a while to get higher numbers down. Those blues are not too low, but, as Elise says above, you need to keep an eye on Leo now that those numbers are coming down because you might need to take action in case he goes too low. Also, I notice you're on custom dosing, and I'm not sure what that is, but just so you know, Lantus is best shot consistently, with the same dose every 12 hours. We don't adjust the dose based on preshot numbers (unless kitty is below a certain number, in which case, depending on the dosing method you are following, you might skip); we adjust the dose based on nadirs. Inconsistent dosing can cause bouncing.
What is your reduction number under your custom dosing?
 
Where I lowered the doses is where I was scared to shoot or I skipped entirely. Im watching him closely to make sure he doesn't go too low. All this is just so scary to me.
 
Okay. I recommend that you read about these two dosing methods that most of us follow on the board. It's very likely that you're going to need to do some fine tuning of his dose over time as you get him regulated. The dosing methods show you how to do this by taking (typically) .25 incremental decreases and increases based on Leo's nadirs. Let us know if you have any questions/concerns about these dosing methods. Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Do you have your hypo kit ready: medium and high carb food / honey or Karo Syrup?

You're doing great with Leo! It's very scary to begin with, and most of us have experienced that concern that we do our best for our babies. Sometimes, it can feel like you're alone with this disease, especially when doctors don't give a lot of information about treatment (not assuming that its the case with you, but it was with me). People here can help.
 
You'll notice that the dosing methods guide as to when (at what bg number) you should take a reduction. Often, experienced folks here recommend that people start with SLGS. If you were to choose that dosing method, for example, you would take a .25 reduction whenever Leo falls below 90. Also, the dosing methods show you at which numbers you shouldn't give insulin.
 
I do have my kit ready. Im just freaked out by the thought of having to use it. I shot this am and he was at 153 preshot and so far isn't going too low. Im praying that his numbers will stay consistent. Im trying my best with him and Im blessed to have such a good sport about it all. When I put him on the counter to check his bg he lays down and let's me do it and only gets antsy if I have to poke more than once. I give him freeze dried treats or boiled chicken afterwards so maybe that's why he is so submissive. And I hope he knows Im trying to help him.
 
I do have my kit ready. Im just freaked out by the thought of having to use it. I shot this am and he was at 153 preshot and so far isn't going too low. Im praying that his numbers will stay consistent. Im trying my best with him and Im blessed to have such a good sport about it all. When I put him on the counter to check his bg he lays down and let's me do it and only gets antsy if I have to poke more than once. I give him freeze dried treats or boiled chicken afterwards so maybe that's why he is so submissive. And I hope he knows Im trying to help him.
You're so fortunate that he's a willing participant in his treatment! Jude is pretty tolerant, too. So many here struggle with getting a test and shooting.

Please do take a look at the dosing methods--they are designed to help bring regulation while keeping kitty safe (so that you don't need to use that hypo kit!).
 
By the way, here's your previous post: ? - 8/25/26 LEO - AMPS 110 and 113. Shoot or not to shoot??. We link them in our daily posts so that when someone is trying to help, they will have continuity to what has been happening with Leo over time. You can either paste the link on your daily post, or you can link it in the "insert link" icon (
1756574071739.png
) on your posting menu.
 
There’s a steep learning curve with fd. I suggest you read all the stickies at the top of the Lantus forum at your leisure. It’s a lot to take in but will help you understand why consistency matters and why if needing to skip it might be a sign need a reduction. Lantus is a depot insulin so skipping messes with the depot. Too big an increase can lead to wonky cycles. My cat was so sensitive to changes once regulated I used calipers and changed in even smaller than .25 increments. When cats bounce they can remain high for 4-6 cycles and sometimes more. That can make you think more insulin is needed when that’s not the case. I’m saying all this so you will do some reading to better understand fd and not to criticize. Then you will have the information to discuss all with your vet to decide on a plan since you are custom dosing.
 
If someone hasn't providing you the description of bouncing before hand, this is what you could be seeing. From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
To answer your original question, a few days of high numbers followed by low ones could be a bounce resolving.

Here is the link to your last post here:

8/25/26 LEO - AMPS 110 and 113. Shoot or not to shoot??

We like to include those links so it's easy to go back and see what happened previously.
 
Back
Top