The 3 units is what the vet bumped him up to from 2 because he wasn't responding to the 2.Yes. The 3.0 depot is building. Not sure why you are increasing so fast or by so much. It won’t be surprising to see low numbers soon with full unit increases. Watch closely.
What is your reduction number under your custom dosing?Hi Tresa, It can take Lantus a while to get higher numbers down. Those blues are not too low, but, as Elise says above, you need to keep an eye on Leo now that those numbers are coming down because you might need to take action in case he goes too low. Also, I notice you're on custom dosing, and I'm not sure what that is, but just so you know, Lantus is best shot consistently, with the same dose every 12 hours. We don't adjust the dose based on preshot numbers (unless kitty is below a certain number, in which case, depending on the dosing method you are following, you might skip); we adjust the dose based on nadirs. Inconsistent dosing can cause bouncing.
I went down to 2 and he skyrocketed back up. Im staying at 3 now and if he gets too low Im not going to shoot.What is your reduction number under your custom dosing?
You're so fortunate that he's a willing participant in his treatment! Jude is pretty tolerant, too. So many here struggle with getting a test and shooting.I do have my kit ready. Im just freaked out by the thought of having to use it. I shot this am and he was at 153 preshot and so far isn't going too low. Im praying that his numbers will stay consistent. Im trying my best with him and Im blessed to have such a good sport about it all. When I put him on the counter to check his bg he lays down and let's me do it and only gets antsy if I have to poke more than once. I give him freeze dried treats or boiled chicken afterwards so maybe that's why he is so submissive. And I hope he knows Im trying to help him.
To answer your original question, a few days of high numbers followed by low ones could be a bounce resolving.Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).