8/30 Kasha AMPS 98 PMPS 129, 41 @ +3!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Still not eating. Snorting like a pig.

I'll be calling the vet soon. I'm going to give her some more food before I leave for work - I have a mandatory meeting to attend this morning.

Yesterday
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98

Krys --

Is there a specialty practice in the area? I don't know if this is dental or ENT but maybe it's time to ask your vet for a referral.
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98

I can only imagine what you are going through to help your sweet Kasha. The physical and emotional roller coaster ride has got to be draining for you. Just wanted to let you know that Curry and I are thinking about y'all today. Hoping you can get some answers about Kasha and get this thing resolved.
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98

Hi Krys, I, too, hope that you can get some answers about what is going on with Kasha. We want that kitty to eat and to stop snorting! Thinking of you today.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98

Just dropping in to see how Kasha is doing today. Sorry she isn't doing much better and i hope someone can figure out what the heck is going on with your girl. Keeping you two in my thoughts today.

Aww, Ms. Kasha, I'm so sorry that you haven't gotten rid of the sniffies and snorties yet. Maybe Mannie and Moonie and I can stop by with some chicken soup before we head on over to Stu's..........Spot
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98

Glad you will be touch with the vet...this is an impossible situation. Maybe the vet can recommend a specialist if they can't come up with a better course of action. Sending hugs to sweet little Kasha... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98 PMPS 129

No idea why PMPs is so high (for her). Stress? Bouncette? Who knows?

She licked at some food but didn't eat - so I forced 1 Tbsp Wellness into her. I want to think that licking at the food was a good step, but she's so congested, I don't know if there's a chance that any steady progress will be made. More pasty poo in the LB. I hope the probiotics kick in soon.

Vet gave me some suggestions - if I can somehow cut a Sudafed pill into 6ths, she can have 5 mg of it to try... Hmmm... Have you seen how tiny a sudafed pill is? Or we can pump her full of various antihistamines - I think I am going to try giving Cypro once a day and Chlor trimeton once a day - one PM and one AM. I gave some cypro tonight - we'll see if it has any effect. I did read that sometimes it takes a few days for the cypro to have full effect - I'd read that before and forgotten. So, I'll try it again. I'm giving her a full dose (1/4 tab) instead of the 1/6 tab I gave her before - she might get dopey, but it'll give us a better shot at the appetite effect.

Vet is also going to fax or email our info to the internal med vet we saw to get Kasha's kidney infection diagnosed. Just to see if she has suggestions or if she feels she should see Kasha again. That is a miserable trip to make with a sick cat. It's only 45 min away, but it can be tough. And timing isn't great - if she wants to see us, I hope it's soon because the week of the 13th I will not be able to take any time off from work. Someone is flying in from Florida to train me for the week and it's non-negotiable.
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98 PMPS 129

Krys, I hope one or more of these ideas helps get you and Kasha past this situation. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you. Hang in there!
 
Re: 8/30 Kasha AMPS 98 PMPS 129

I sympathize--when no one can give you answers to what's going on with your struggling baby. I truly wish your Kasha a speedy diagnosis and recovery.
 
She was 105 - I went out for a walk. Got home - squirted saline in her nose and tried to use the bulb syringe to suck it (and mucus) back out... then it was time to test for a +3 and... 41! What? So, I did get her to lick some MC gravy and I put some gravy on LC and she did lick it - didn't get much down, but she did lick...

I was going to force feed, but now I'm going to wait to be sure her numbers are going up before I give her any amount of meal. I think tomorrow I may lower her dose to the 0 line... see how she does with that. I've effectively been giving her a fat 0 / skinny .1u so that won't be a huge difference. Even though I'm forcing a good amount of food into her, she's not eating on her own throughout the day which makes me uncomfortable giving her even the same tiny dose she's been getting.
 
can you try shooting the dose you've been drawing onto a piece of wax paper to see how much she's getting? Then try the dose you're proposing to be sure there is actually some insulin in it. ;-) See how much difference there is.

I agree that she needs less insulin while she's not eating. I'm just curious whether there is such a thing as less insulin, without being no insulin.
 
Wish I could help with advice ... just well wishes instead, and hopes that the vet can help with Kasha's problem. I really hope she feels better soon. Hugs to you both.
 
Sending easier breathing vines to Kasha. I hope the internist can help her, tomorrow, or within your time frame.
Come on Kasha, lets get on up a little.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top