8/30 Jimmy's PMPS 333 1R +1 324 +2 311 +3 287 +4 285 +5.5 306

Status
Not open for further replies.
Enjoy that sunshine Jimmy!
cat sunning himself.jpg
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty think I should do 1R at PMPS if over 300? Or increase it?
Hi there :cool:

I've been peeking in between yoga and errands. Back home now.

I'm thinking for tonight, which is cycle 4 of 14uL, stick with 1uR (rather than increase) if PMPS is 300-350.
My reasoning being that since it's the 4th cycle of 14uL, there is potential for action which, if it happens may result in a very different cycle than yesterday's.
It's a slightly different scenario.

Experimenting with the same dose under different conditions is a good thing. Learning to safely juggle 2 insulins in an attempt to manage a high dose kitty requires attention to nuance. Having data from a variety of scenarios adds to your knowledge of your high dose kitty. Learning to work with R in the absence of a crisis (like ketones) is a bit of a luxury. Make the most of it.

If Jimmy is higher than 350 or lower than 300 tug on my sleeve.
 
Hi there :cool:

I've been peeking in between yoga and errands. Back home now.

I'm thinking for tonight, which is cycle 4 of 14uL, stick with 1uR (rather than increase) if PMPS is 300-350.
My reasoning being that since it's the 4th cycle of 14uL, there is potential for action which, if it happens may result in a very different cycle than yesterday's.
It's a slightly different scenario.

Experimenting with the same dose under different conditions is a good thing. Learning to safely juggle 2 insulins in an attempt to manage a high dose kitty requires attention to nuance. Having data from a variety of scenarios adds to your knowledge of your high dose kitty. Learning to work with R in the absence of a crisis (like ketones) is a bit of a luxury. Make the most of it.

If Jimmy is higher than 350 or lower than 300 tug on my sleeve.

Thanks Sandy! I'm trying to figure out how exactly this second insulin fits in - and how the scales are established - knowing when NOT to use R, etc. Thanks for helping me and Jimmy along. :cat:
 
Thanks Sandy! I'm trying to figure out how exactly this second insulin fits in - and how the scales are established - knowing when NOT to use R, etc. Thanks for helping me and Jimmy along. :cat:
Besides shooting R at the same time you shoot L (so that L has an easier time when onset occurs) R is good for other scenarios as well.
Caution - It can be very seductive, sitting there in the fridge. Fur shot? no sweat - grab the R to cover any fallout and prevent BG from shooting to the stratosphere. Same for fallout from skipped or BCS shots. BIPO? no sweat - R can help cover kitty until the next L onset.
Then there are bounces, and here is where it gets tricky. Say kitty has a lower than usual cycle and a bounce is triggered. R is great for taking the edge off the bounce - sort of like placing a ceiling over the bounce so it only goes so high. However a little too much R and down to the cellar kittys BGs go. You know what happens next - another bounce is triggered. Ive seen several caregivers over the years get caught in a potentially endless loop of shooting down any high number, only to create more. Then around and around they go, on the R merry-go-round. Breaking out of that loop is very difficult. Care must be taken.

Also when using R you want to make sure you have a handle on what the L dose is doing (or not) before making changes to the L dose. The only way I know of doing that is to occasionally skip R altogether.

I learned to use R after two episodes of DKA early on, one month apart (5/2008 and 6/2008) way before the IAA dx. BK was at Deaths door and would not have survived a 3rd round with DKA. We had to jump in with both feet. One of the FD gurus back then guided me in the use of R and after a few trials came up with a scale to get the ball rolling and beat down the relentless pinks and reds asap. As far as your scale, it will come together as you go along and you become more familiar with how it works with Jimmy.

There's a bit of a steep learning curve but the day will come when it's second nature.:cool:


 
How do you feel about trying 1.5uR with the 14uL if AMPS is above 300 for tomorrows AM cycle, if you will be around to keep an eye on Jimmy?
That sounds good - the 14U doesn't seem to be lasting long does it? I work from home so it's no problem monitoring and testing. He's doing OK though - alert and social. I just did a final test for the night (+5.5 and on his way up) and fed his belly with some raw pork loin/EZC. Let' see how the 1.5R does tomorrow. Thanks Sandy!
 
That sounds good - the 14U doesn't seem to be lasting long does it? I work from home so it's no problem monitoring and testing. He's doing OK though - alert and social. I just did a final test for the night (+5.5 and on his way up) and fed his belly with some raw pork loin/EZC. Let' see how the 1.5R does tomorrow. Thanks Sandy!
I was fortunate -worked from home as well when we were in the thick of it.
see you tomorrow :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top