8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109 +4 37 +4.5 55 +5 48 +5.5 51

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday Jetta 8/29

Good Morning LL!
It's rainy and dreary here and this bean wants to go btb. But no can do...

Uneventful Test, shoot this morning. Starving Jetta as usual, but no fuss today.

Major happenings outside though! I take care of a feral colony that lives around my house and one kitty we call Momma (original I know- but she's a prolific breeder who we cannot trap!) was sitting out in the rain waiting for breffis. I opened the lanai door to feed her and she darted past me onto the lanai and took residence under the awning. She's never come on the lanai before. I think that means I'm gaining her trust! She waited out the rain, had a nice meal, and took off.

Have a great day all! Kitties- surf nicely for your beans today!
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

Good morning! Good to hear that Jetta is doing well.

Yay for you on Momma. That is a wonderful thing to gain her trust.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

Hi and glad you had a good test and shoot with Jetta. Good luck with catching the Momma in the Feral Colony. That's great you're gaining her trust. Maggie was a baby feral living in a colony near my former apartment. It took a while for me to gain her trust and get her indoors, and now she is the sweetest, most grateful kitty ever. Have a nice day and wish you could go btd.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

I can't tell yet if Jetta is bouncing. FWIW, it's often best to not take a back-to-back reduction. You reduced from 1.25u to 1.00u on 8/27 (PM) and then to a fat 0.75u the morning of the 28th. It's likely that the 46 during the PM cycle on the 27th was still action from the previous cycle -- the shed hadn't caught up with your reduction yet. In many instances, these kind of reductions don't hold so keep an eye on Jetta's numbers to make sure you know whether the reduction is holding (or not).
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

Nice AMPS this morning! Hopefully Jetta will come down for you some more and surf the blues today. :-D

Thank you for taking care of the feral cats around your neighborhood. I'm glad that Momma came and took shelter. She sounds like she's starting to trust you a bit. Gaining trust from a feral takes a lot of time, as I'm sure that you're aware. You may never gain her complete trust, but then again, you never know, either. Good luck!
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

Hi guys .. not to high of a pink this morning, so not bad! Glad to hear jetta wasn't fussy .. and yay on gaining trust with the ferals .. that's awesome .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

Made it to blue!

IHi Sienne- I'll rely on you and other dosing experts to help me know what to watch for over the next few days to see if I need to bump back up to 1u.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

Yay blue!

You're doing great work by taking care of the feral colony...so many folks resent ferals. Hopefully you'll eventually gain enough of Momma's trust to get her trapped and spayed. She probably doesn't realize how relieved she'd be by not having little ones all the time!

Amy
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329

Beautiful blues already! :-D A little fast though, so keep an eye on her.

Kudos for helping the ferals. Have you looked at Dr. Lisa's video on trapping feral cats? She has a reall cool homemade trap, instructions and video on her site.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329 +4 129 +6 123

We halted in blue it seems, instead of parachuting into low green like we have been. I think that's good, right?

Thanks Ann! I hadn't seen that! I was on her site looking all through the FD info and feeding info, but missed the feral stuff. I'll definitely check it out! I've managed to rescue 3 of momma's babies over teh past 18 months, and her last litter disappeared without a trace, so I'd LOVE to catch her. So far I've spayed or neutered 5 of my ferals. My neighbors get mad that I feed them, but it's not the cats' fault they're out there. Why should they starve? (ok- off my soapbox now...)
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329 +4 129 +6 123

Maybe it was reading your post about Momma but I had a dream that 5 kittens appeared in our house. Not at the door, but in the house. One looked just like the kitten that got temporarily trapped in the neighbor's storage shed. Of course, they had found their forever home... but then I woke up.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta AMPS 329 +4 129 +6 123

Morning Jaclyn and Jetta!! Glad to see her coming down and looks like she thought it was going to be a race!! It's so funny how they come to a certain point and then scccrreeeecchhhhh..stop. But good that she's flat in blue than another color.

It's a learning process and it takes alot of time so don't worry. Just keep in mind when you are looking at your SS that a dose can affect 2-3 cycles after so you want to look in groups and not just judge one cycle by what is happening at that moment. It's a hard thing to do and I actually find it easier to see on other cats' SS than Gracie's :lol: :lol: :lol: Sometimes it's hard to see the forest for the trees in your own kitty.

How great of you to care of the ferals....I hope Momma continues to get more used to you. I worked with a feral at my office for a long time and then trapped her and took her to the no-kill shelter where Mike and I volunteered. There I was able to get her to totally trust me and then my supervisor adopted her and gave her an awesome home.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237

Well, looks like Jetta intends to have company this evening! Her new lowest PS number. We shall see. I hope I did hte right thing by sticking with her dose. That is the goal right? To keep our kitties in a happy yellow, blue, green window? Second guessing our PMS now. I hope I did the right thing.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237

You did exactly the right thing! Don't second guess.......look at Zoe's ss......look when I shot numbers below 100 and shot the full dose. The goal is to get Jetta in normal numbers and to surf in the greens -- allowing the pancreas time to rest and heal.

You did good!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109

Thanks Sherry- I needed that. I did look at Zoe's SS. You are braver than I could even pretend to be. But I'm stioll so new at all this.

We see Jetta's classic +2 dip. Alarm set for a +4 check.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109

:thumbup The gang at the Green Lagoon is waiting for Jetta to make her first appearance tonight. :mrgreen: Unfortunately Tess won't be there! :roll:
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109

hmmm... somekitty is headed right back to those greens! :mrgreen:

take a look at alex's 2009 spreadsheet (click on the 2009 tab at the top of her ss page). i purposely tested her more often than necessary so i could use her spreadsheet as a tool to show what happens when shooting full doses on low preshot numbers. when we shoot low to stay low the result is those long shallow curves lantus and levemir are known for.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109 +4 37

Hi Gang, Jetta made it to the lagoon, in record fashion! I just fed a tsp of MC +Karo. Waiting to retest on the half hour.

Thanks Jill- that 2009 SS is eye opening.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109 +4 37

Libby and Lucy said:
I would say that the reduction held. :mrgreen:

Waiting for your next test.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: That's putting it mildly!

We're at 55. The goof has stolen her ear cotton ball and is having a field day. She's obviously feeling that Karo. Will test again in a bit.
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109 +4 37 +4.5 55

good, I'm glad she is out of the 30s. Do test again in 30 minutes and again probably 30 minutes after that to see if she is staying up after the karo wears off. I'm heading to bed, but there are plenty of west-coasters around if you need anything. Looks like this isn't your first time in low numbers.

My cats are hyper tonight too, what's up with that?
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109

Ann & Tess said:
:thumbup The gang at the Green Lagoon is waiting for Jetta to make her first appearance tonight. :mrgreen: Unfortunately Tess won't be there! :roll:

Jetta, nice to meet u at the Green Lagoon :mrgreen:
Ann, don't worry, I believe Tess will join us again very very soon, she just go dancing for a while ;-)
 
Re: 8/30 Jetta PMPS 237 +2 109 +4 37 +4.5 55

Thanks Libby! Have a good night!

Hi Christine and Ahmin! I think this is the first time we've met. drinking11

If any of the dosing expertes happen on this before 8 am EST, I'd be interested to see if you think we should do another reduction?
 
Hi Jaclyn,
I'm not expert, i'ms newbie too, so sorry that can't give u advice about reduction.
But i would suggest u to change the subject line of the first post to "Need advice for dosage b4 8am" to draw people attentions :smile:
 
in general, you always take the dose reductions unless you see your cat doesn't hold them and sometimes the second cycle in a row is iffy - as sienne said it's always possible the shed is draining.

i would take the reduction in the morning, personally. a 37 at +4 is low. a 49 at +6 you could negotiate, but i would take the reduction. if it doesn't hold you go back up later.

gotta go pick up my son from work!
 
A below 40 is always a reduction :mrgreen: You have had 6 cycles on this dose so there should be no residual shed draining.

Congratulations :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: !!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top