8/30 Harley AMPS 274, PMPS 175

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/30 Harley AMPS 274

Hmmm. I'm still in favor of a fat 1. I think 1.1 is giving you too much oomph. Could also be his insulin needs are slowly going down, so I might even retry a 1u on a 150 PS and data gather - could be it's enough now, even if it wasn't before.

Yesterday is an unknown b/c the +12 of 170 was lower than the +4 of 186. So you don't know if he nadired a ways below 170 and was on his way back up, or if something wonkier went on, like a late nadir.

Since you shot 1.1 on a 210 PS and got the next PS of 136, not shootable, I wouldn't be shooting 1.1 on a PS of 220 or lower. Not because I'm worried it's unsafe & he'll hypo, more because for practical reasons that you want a shootable PS the next time. So the 1.1 on the 170 I would have thought might give you a PS too low to shoot - looks like it went the other way - could be a little bounce, hard to really know without data throughout the cycle to show you what happened.

Regardless though, I would be shooting a fat 1 at this point on most PSs, maybe trying out a straight 1u on the lower PSs. Just my 2c. :)
 
Re: 8/30 Harley AMPS 274

sometimes a pancrease springs into action. rather unexpectedly and inconsistantly. perhaps this happens off and on with Harley. perhaps this is the reason you sometimes do quite well with a dose, then not so well. and sometimes sooo well that you go lower than expected, unbeknownst, and see a bounce. at times like that you and i both know robin, that it is when things become a little more tenacous(?) and that is why i always shoot the #. we cannot count on pancreatic action to be the same on any given day.
 
You know I keep staring at his ss trying to see what you guys see and I don't. Although it is starting to make more sense.

I keep forgetting that the dance steps change every day.
 
there you go, the dance steps change every day and you follow harley's lead. if his pancreas is sputtering i know it's nerve racking and i know i've been on the opposite side of the fence with joanna but it's just my feeling that your not dealing with a machine pumping out the same percentages...just a little body that works on some days, not so much on others.
joanna i hope will never take issue if i disagree on treating protocols becuase in all honesty i am bowled over by her ability to analyze. she is amazing with that.
 
I agree that Joanna can analyze a ss better than anyone I know, especially me. When she explaines to me why she thinks what she thinks it makes perfect sense.

It's the dance that keeps us guessing.
 
Not at all, I think it's important that we share our viewpoints even if they are different. Although it can be confusing for newbies and I think there are times when having a united front is needed to get progress, most of the time I think it's good to hear other viewpoints. I have certainly been wrong before :oops: and although I feel comfortable with PZI & with the things I know about it, there's lots I don't know. Plus just with its flexibility there is more than one route sometimes to good #s. I certainly don't have all of the answers, let alone very many of them! :lol:

And I hope too on the flip side that you don't mind when I disagree with you Lori. I know you've been around longer than I have and have seen different approaches that I missed by not getting here sooner (no regrets though that Bix didn't get sick sooner!!!). I only wish there were more peeps around who've been doing this a while - we're like the coziest small party ever, LOL! More quality time, right?

Robin, do you feel mystified by the #s? What doesn't make sense to you? If it's any consolation, I made every mistake in the book when I first got here. I don't think Bix's #s really made sense to me til I got him regulated, then somehow everything clicked in place and I was able to see how the dose and the #s jived. Or maybe the cause & effect was reversed, it made sense to me and that's when he got regulated? Hmmm... not sure.

And sometimes.... no, can't be true... I have been known to o-v-e-r-a-n-a-l-y-z-e... :dizcat
 
Oh yeah, and I went through major boot camp too when I got here. I asked TONS of questions and made people explain EVERYTHING to me, and I think I argued a lot too (thankfully it's all a blur now :lol: ). Chriscleo & Terri & Lucy were here then, and they were amazing and very patient with me. :)

And on the dance steps changing every day.... oooh, that used to drive me NUTSO!!! I was always trying to apply last week's doses to this week's #s, til I finally learned today's data is today's data, and yesterday's is yesterday's. (ok, that's not very quotable, sorry!!!)

Anyhow, you are doing great Robin, no worries! :)
 
Have'nt we both :lol: I seem to recall one night in particular.
Well, Cindy told me recently (mousie, long time pzi member) that we do tend to over analyze it. She said just test feed shoot! Ahhhh, that's what happens when you've been doing it for 5 years or so.
But yes, I don't think the goal is either remission OR regulation. Just helping the pancreas along. Mr. P will either have it or not...and the low #'s just help him heal. the lower the better, but they don't have to be perfect and they don't have to be all the time.

And try to remember folks, our cats are getting the five star treatment.
they live relatively sweet lives unburdened by stresses.
they are on the proper diet.
they are getting insulin.
they are loved to smithereens.
so...if the #'s are a little wonkie...no need to worry ourselves. shoot the best you can and hope for the best. with harley being a free feeder i worry less about his hypo than others. but keep it simple and don't lose your mind... very important...don't lose your mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top