8/30 Charlie AMPS 374 +4 292 +7 380 PMPS 355 +2 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Hi guys,

Sorry I didn't get a chance to reply and chime in on all of the interesting debates yesterday.

Simple excuse: I was EXHAUSTED, and still am.

If you look at Charlie's spreadsheet, you can see that for the past 30-35 nights, I have been getting up throughout the night to test.

A month of broken sleep finally got to me, and I hit the fatigue wall HARD.

I fell asleep at 8:30 last night and woke up only when Charlie jumped on top of my belly this morning and gave me the restless pounce that SCREAMS "I want food"!

Just for the record, I, too, am still curious about the possibilities that something non-traditional (somogyi or other) happening with Charlie. I understand the sensitive and polarizing nature of this topic, and for the time being I am obviously trying to follow the majority's thinking and see if that works. In general, our vet also supports the idea that we should keep following the protocol methodically until we find that "magic dose" that begins to get her regulated.

The thing is, it has been 3 months with very slow progress from our perspective, and I can imagine if the trend continues for a certain period of time, I'll want to try an alternative approach (at least temporarily for a few days) to see if it has a positive impact. To date, I have not done so as I also understand the risks involved in taking Charlie off insulin. However, I am not one who believes in absolutes. Even in medicine there are grey areas, and sometimes what works for the majority does not work for the minority. Perhaps it's only a slim chance that Charlie is in fact overdosed, but even that means it's still a possibility.

So while I HOPE that Charlie can just be more like the average old bear, I have to wait and see what happens before I can exclude any new ideas on dosing (especially if they come from a specialist in the field like Dr Rand). We will see how it goes. I have taken nearly every piece of advice that I've ever been given from the generous, wonderful members of this board, and if I ever get to the point where I decide to test out an alternative theory, I also know there will be support in the background of us making those decisions.

Thank you to Melanie, Jill, Jane, Sienne, Libby, Marjorie and everyone else who directly or indirectly contributed their thoughts on this topic yesterday.

I am hoping that we are getting quite close to the theoretical ideal dose for now. Then again, every time I think that, Charlie does something to keep me guessing. What I AT LEAST have learned in the past week is that 2 units of insulin is too much for Charlie and 1.25 is not enough. Between those 2 is a small space. So I am VERY VERY hopeful that we're nearing the corner towards getting one baby step closer to our long-term, marathon goal of being off the juice.

Tonight there is another major storm in Amsterdam. Charlie is NOT liking it. Interesting that she's also coming down quite quickly on her first test after PMPS. Bounce finally clearing? Who knows?

Have a great day everyone. I for one may soon be retiring for another long nap on a cozy, romantic, rainy evening.
There is a positive in every theoretical negative. Even in the rain!

Even in diabetes (we have gotten closer to our kitty, and I have met all of you people). Something positive again. See!
Thanks again for your help,
Jill
 

Attachments

  • work hard. sleep hard.jpg
    work hard. sleep hard.jpg
    71.2 KB · Views: 208
Hi Jill, Glad you got some sleep and hope you get more! Hot drought here, your cozy romantic rainy night sounds really nice. Charlie seems to be easing down since the last dose change, hope she likes this dose.
Thanks for hosting the experts panel discussion in Charlie's condo yesterday, good refresher and very educational for us less experienced folks. Have a great evening!
 
I hear you on that fatigue wall. I am approaching 2 months of the new sleep deprivation lifestyle.
I am finding 2 hrs at work really difficult.
Fortunately most days that I do work, it's between 2 and 4 hrs.

I get scared if I actually get too comfortable (especially at night) that I'll miss my girl having a sudden low drop into a dangerous
low but so far she hasn't shown any inclination to do that. So even when I do sleep, I wake up and have to go find her
to check on her. nailbite_smile

I'm staying out of the debate.
And I'm hoping that your good dose is just around the corner and you'll be able to narrow it down as soon as possible.
 
(((Jill)))

I hope you are feeling better. And I hope you can find a way to get some rest.

One thing I think is really important to point out is that she was on .5u for a very, very long time ....I know she was having tummy issues, etc, and you were worried about raising her dose. But she spent much more time at that dose than we usually keep newly diagnosed cats.

In case no one has said it, FD is a marathon, not a sprint. You haven't been at this long and I urge you to stick with the protocol. Charlie looks so similar to so many newly diagnosed cats. I see nothing unusual in her numbers. If there were alot of alternatives out there that worked, every one of us would have jumped on the bandwagon to try them.

When you feel well enough, take a stroll through some SSs. Look at Gracie's....when you open it, it will take you to her lev SS but there is a tab for lantus. I had her on it a year and she did ok but it wasn't until I moved her to lev that she saw great progress but even that took time. Look at Gabby's SS, Tess's....you'll see it just takes time and patience.

We'll be there to help you any time you need us.
 
Thank you all for your continued advice and support.
No rest for the wicked! I slept last night and now I feel a bit guilty as we woke up to another pool of vomit. Ugh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top