8/30 Champ PMPS 308, +2 240, +4.5 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I'm glad I had so much fun in Champ's condo yesterday because today I got nuthin'. I raised his dose this morning, though I probably should have waited. This may be a bounce, but my attitude kinda sucks this morning and I don't care...he was getting more juice.

Now, back to work (I'm soooo tired of saying that. I hate you right now, Marje!!)
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282

Aw Patty, definitely a yucky AMPS...but at least he's coming down!

How old is your insulin? I wonder if it's toast for some reason. I also wonder if these numbers could be associated with the Dasuquin in some way...or the bumps on his neck - how are those doing? That's really the day his numbers started climbing - coincidence?? I'm just grasping at straws for ya!
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282

Amy - it's like you're reading my mind!! I've thought of all that. The insulin isn't old and last night he did get down to 118 so I don't think it's the insulin (I'm going to get more this weekend anyway and test it out). I also have been thinking it's somehow related to the the bumps on his neck. Those have healed up, but he still is very itchy so there may be some that I can't see (where he wasn't shaved). The weakness of his legs, along with the muscle wasting and shakiness, is still evident. I was giving him a rub down and was rubbing his front leg (which has absolutely nothing under the skin...just bone and sinew, no muscle) and I found a lump. Maybe a nerve sheath tumor? Maybe a cyst? Who knows. I just know he doesn't have it on the other front leg. I'm going to call the vet and see if I can take him in on Friday. He's had blood work done three times in the last month and it's always been perfect. I might have them repeat it, though, since this would be the first time his blood work was taken when his numbers are high. I hate spending the money, but I have to do what's best for Champ right now. Maybe I'll go ahead and have a dental done at the same time since his numbers are so high...maybe that way they won't plunge too low from the anesthesia.

As we all know, this diabetes dance is all a major crap shoot....you just keep trying different things until something works. I have to say that having all of you here, participating in the silliness of my condos, makes it all bearable. I so appreciate each and every one of you!!!
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282

Have you talked to your vet about trying Adequan for his arthritis? Maybe the itchiness is somehow related to his numbers...I hope you find the answers for him soon!
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282

Hi Patty, I hope the bump on his leg is nothing, but I'd do the same as you and have it checked by the Vet. I wonder, too, if the bumps condition are raising his bg. Champ is coming down slowly though. Also, if Champ needs a dental, sometimes an infected tooth raises the bg. Is this just ffor a cleaning or does Champ in need of more extensive dental work. Sending some vines and hugs for you and Champ.
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282

Hi Patty,
It's good that you'll be taking Champ to the vet on Friday to get those things checked out. How is he behaving, other than being still a bit itchy and arthritic? Is he eating OK? 5 Ps in place? We are sending some healing vines and some really good thoughts,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282

Hi Amy - Adequan was mentioned by Champ's other vet, but I'm sure this one would be on board also. We're on day 8 of the Dasuquin so I know that wasn't the cause of the bumps. I seriously think the bumps were an allergic reaction to the Special Kitty or 9-Lives food he was eating. These weren't his normal foods and he was only getting them because I was desperate to get him to eat when he was sick. I took them off the menu, rubbed the bumps with witch hazel, and they were gone in two days. He's still itchy, but that could be because his hair is growing back...who knows!!! He seems to be walking better with the Dasuquin, not so sore-looking, so we'll probably stick with that for a bit to see how it goes.

Hi Ann - three vets have now told me that Champ doesn't look like he really needs a dental just yet, but he is 10 years old and has never had one so I figure I might as well get it done just in case there's anything hidden that might be the cause of his high BGs...or what set him off into the diabetes in the first place since he wasn't a big dry food eater before he was diabetic.

Hi Ella - Champ is acting like he feels quite well. His appetite is increased, but I think that may be due to the higher than normal BGs he's been having. His water intake has increased, too. Ever since he's had diabetes, he's been a much sweeter kitty so I can never say he's acting "normal," only that he's acting normal for his diabetic self!! He used to be really rambunctious...if you looked at him wrong, he attacked!!! Especially my daughter!!! Those two used to "fight" all the time. Now he just lies around looking like a sweet little angel, walking around every once in a while on his little wobbly legs, and just making me what to kiss the fur off his little face!!! I know he's getting older so I try to take that into account when I judge how he's acting. He does seem to feel well, though, so that's a blessing!!
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282, PMPS 308

Dasuquin and Adequan are very similar medications -- both are related to glucosamine/chondroiten and used for joint pain. I don't know that you'd want to give both.

When you had the blood work done, did you happen to notice if Champ's eosinophil levels were elevated. This value is often elevated when an allergy is present. Gabby has had some issues with allergy lately. The following is what my vet recommended:

There are several options—there is a product called Allerderm which is applied once weekly to the skin which can be quite helpful for itchy or dry skin. Additional fish oil omega-3 fatty acids, 200-250 mg daily, are often helpful, but may take up to 2 weeks to really have an effect. Antihistamines are often helpful—we seem to have the best success with Zyrtec, which is over-the-counter, or hydroxyzine which is a prescription medication.

We have Allerderm here, but you may be able to order it online. Zyrtec dosage is ½ of a 10 mg tablet by mouth (in food…) twice daily, or about every 12 hours, try for 7 days. Watch for drowsiness or restlessness, although side effects from Zyrtec are not likely or are very mild. Use plain Zyrtec, or cetirizine, only—no combo meds. The fish oil product we use is AllerG3, or you can use human products.

I think that AMPS looks like a bounce. Champ dropped from 302 to 118 in the space of 3 hours. That's certainly fast enough to trigger a bounce.
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282, PMPS 308

hi patty! just wanting to stop by and give you a little encouragement. looks like champ is coming down very nicely today - this will pass. the main thing is that he's acting sweet like he's feeling ok. hold onto that! it would be different if he felt crummy. hang in there!
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282, PMPS 308

Thanks so much, Sienne, for all that info!! I'm definitely going to try some Zyrtec since it's an OTC med and I can get it easily. I did realize the Dasuquin and Adequan are a "one or the other" thing, so it's going to be Dasuquin for now to see how it's working. I, too, think the AMPS was a bounce. If I had taken just a second to think before injecting, I would have stayed the course for at least one more cycle to let it clear, but I just wasn't thinking...not the first time!!!

Hi Julie!! Thanks for the support!!! Very much appreciated!
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282, PMPS 308

Hi Patty, just wanted to pop in and say hi to you and Champ. *******waving*******

Hopefully the vet can give you some of the answers you're looking for and the lump turns out to be nothing at all. Good luck with the dose crease!!!
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282, PMPS 308

I also think he'll get back on target. You are the paragon of patience and it has always paid off.

Now, back to work (I'm soooo tired of saying that. I hate you right now, Marje!!)

A picture of my semi-retirement....see it and weep:

lifeafterFD.jpg


Uh...except the ocean. But I have the pool :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282, PMPS 308

Nice to see Champ coming down. I know it is so hard to see those numbers, but if he really didn't need the doserease he will let you know soon enough. He will be fine but you may be out a little more sleep. Grab it tonight while you can! :roll:
 
Re: 8/30 Champ AMPS 426, +2 306, +7.5 282, PMPS 308

hi guys - it is good to see the numbers coming down. Go Champ, and as Ann said if he didn't need the extra juice you'll know soon enough.

Good luck with the upcoming vet appt. I think it is good that you are taking him in, and having those things looked at.

and I m too tired to think of anything witty - so I will wish you a good night instead! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top