8/30 BooBoo Kitty PMPS 275 +2 243 +3 251 +4 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

BooBoo Kitty

Member Since 2011
Hello and Good Afternoon everyone in Lantus Land! BooBoo was doing EXTREMELY well for a while even keeping as low as 100 or less on her own for a few days at a time! Sorry i don't have any recording of her #'s on the spreadsheet because well I was sooo busy with school when she started doing good and then I took a big long nice break during summer (1st in 4 years!) and because she was doing so well I just went with it and didn't think the SS was all that important at that time because she was doing so well. Seems either she is not responding to Lantus anymore or the new vial I have is not working just like the old one I got rid of last Thursday! Only once has she gone down to 106 with the new stuff. I am going to raise her dose to .75 from .6u tonight because her #'s are backwards today and this is day 5 on the new stuff. I am also going back to the spreadsheet since I am having to start this process over again so i can keep track and if I need assistance then you guys can see her current #'s as of now since I am starting her regularly on the Lantus again because she needs it again now as her #'s have been in the 200's lately. Boy they really do keep you on your toes and she decided to do it as soon as I started back to school in the Fall!!! Oh well at least we both had a nice break for about 4 months! Hope everyone has been well and I will do my best to post at least once daily again...

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/30 BooBoo Kitty... We're baaack! AMPS 201, +5 231 ???

I'd also think about scheduling a vet appointment. A UTI could be brewing or BooBoo may be in need of a dental. Anything that causes infection or inflammation (like gingivitis) can effect a cat's BG numbers.

Please, if you are shooting insulin you need to test. You may be busy with school, life, whatever. If this were your child, you would be testing. Insulin is hugely powerful and it can be lethal. I know you care about BooBoo. Even if your cat is on only a drop of insulin, you need to test.
 
Re: 8/30 BooBoo Kitty... We're baaack! AMPS 201, +5 231 ???

I ALWAYS test!!! No matter if i give insulin or not. U all taught me well. Just didn't have time to get on my comp, sign onto google and put in the #'s on the spreadsheet. But i know because I see it on her meter. As far as a vet visit I can't. I am maxed out on the care credit still from when all this started. I am seriously considering that we may need to adopt her out or something because I am almost at my wits end financially and mentally too... :( Just being honest...
 
Re: 8/30 BooBoo Kitty... We're baaack! AMPS 201, +5 231 ???

If I wasn't testing how would I know whether she needs insulin or not or if the insulin is working, etc... ALL my animals are like my children and I also do have a 4 year old child as well. Trust me I have treated her like a baby worrying about her and what not. Taking time away from my actual human family.
 
Re: 8/30 BooBoo Kitty... We're baaack! AMPS 201, +5 231 ???

And as far as money goes, just wasted 47.08 on a new Lantus pen from CVS pharmacy that I really couldn't afford, just to come to find out that it seems to not be working... I know my other one was not, it was old but didn't expect that from the new one... No ketones in her urine either btw...
 
Re: 8/30 BooBoo Kitty PMPS 275 +2 243 +3 251 ???

Even upon raising her dose to .75-1.0 she appeared to be going down at +2 but is back up at +3. I fed her some 0% food just now at +3. The Lantus does smell really really strong and I don't remember the fresh ones smelling that strong before. I wonder if it's any good anymore or if there is something else wrong. I will have to talk to my husband to see what he wants to do. I just can't afford these on going dilemnas that end up costing a one income and one student family money that really creates a hardship on us. I just don't know what to do... confused_cat
 
Lantus does have a distinct smell. Some people describe it as smelling like Band-aids. I doubt that the issue is the insulin. Either BooBoo needs more insulin or there's some other issue going on.

This is a flat yellow cycle. Remember -- there's approx. 20% variance due to the meter.
 
if you have time, it would probably help if you could put in the past few days test numbers off of her spreadsheet. seeing patterns over a few days is helpful.

sounds like life is pretty stressful right now. :YMHUG:
 
Thanx guys, i'm bummed because I thought we might have been on our way to remission but all of a sudden she went up into the 200's and hadn't done that in a few months. She had been staying in the low to high 100's (when a shot was needed) then keeping herself low around 100 or less, so i am just concerned with the sudden change around... Maybe when I have a break from school today I can enter in some #'s but I never did figure out how to set the time and date on my meter so it might be difficult to figure out what was what. I just know when I see it on the meter and keep a mental SS in my head...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top