8/30, Bell, AMPS 132, +1 101, +2 60, +3 71, +4 60, +5 74, +6 81, +8 84, PMPS 118

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Bell is dropping fast today.

Yesterday she had one of her off days where she refused to eat anything except a few nibbles. I tried Cerenia and Pepcid to try and calm her tummy down. The Cerenia caused her lots of drooling but she didn't throw it up. I'm guessing the pill was bitter.

This morning she is eating a little bit better. She was due for a dosage increase, but I held off because of her low AMPS, and am glad I did. Trying to feed her small amount every hour and watch this drop to make sure it doesn't get her in trouble. She has been known to nadir on the +2, so I am curious was her +3 will be.
 
upload_2024-8-30_9-18-29.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-30_9-18-29.png
    upload_2024-8-30_9-18-29.png
    325.9 KB · Views: 48
Yesterday

Bell is dropping fast today.

Yesterday she had one of her off days where she refused to eat anything except a few nibbles. I tried Cerenia and Pepcid to try and calm her tummy down. The Cerenia caused her lots of drooling but she didn't throw it up. I'm guessing the pill was bitter.

This morning she is eating a little bit better. She was due for a dosage increase, but I held off because of her low AMPS, and am glad I did. Trying to feed her small amount every hour and watch this drop to make sure it doesn't get her in trouble. She has been known to nadir on the +2, so I am curious was her +3 will be.
Good morning, it seems to be a similar cycle as 8/24. It’s good you can watch her in one of these cycles.
Feeding small anoints is good. Keep her hungry if you need Bell to want to eat.
I know Wendy and Elise are well versed in handling nausea. Maybe they can help here
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

I hope Bell has a safe surf and you both have a great day :bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, very similar cycles. Her +3 bumped up a little bit, which is great. Hopefully she can surf there for awhile. Her appetite is slowly coming back and she is eating little bits every hour. I’ve got plenty of testing strips and some maple syrup on hand if i need it, but it is looking like I won’t.

I’m assuming I’ll want to keep this dosage for awhile before thinking of increasing, right?
 
Wendy and Elise have helped me before with the nausea. They’ve recommended ondansetron to try. I asked my vet for that but they gave me Cerenia, saying it was the cat version of zofran. Doing more research, it appears they are different drugs.

I’ll push to see if I can get a script for ondansetron at my next vet visit. Seems like Bell just has these spells of not wanting to eat. I’m a bit worried it could be a mild case of pancreatitis. Bell usually recovers in 24-36 hours.
 
Last edited:
The two drugs are different and work in different ways. Vets often give you cerenia because they always have it in hand as it’s a vet medication. Ondansetron is a human medication and it’s been a game changer for me with all my cats that have been nauseous. It sounds like your vet is not familiar with it so ask for an RX and get at least 20 because it need to be given every 8 hours and many vets don’t seem to know that and under dose it.
To avoid bitter tasting meds from causing drooling get size 4 gel capsules. You can buy them from Amazon. Another game changer for me. Don’t get any bigger than size 3. The bigger the number the smaller the gel capsule.
 
Good morning, it seems to be a similar cycle as 8/24. It’s good you can watch her in one of these cycles.
Feeding small anoints is good. Keep her hungry if you need Bell to want to eat.
I know Wendy and Elise are well versed in handling nausea. Maybe they can help here
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

I hope Bell has a safe surf and you both have a great day :bighug::bighug:
Good call on the similarities with 8/24. She even had the same strange double nadir going on. I’m happy she’s surfing greens!
 
I asked my vet for that but they gave me Cerenia, saying it was the cat version of zofran. Doing more research, it appears they are different drugs.
One is maropitant (Cerenia) and the other is ondansetron (Zofran) with brand names in brackets. Additionally, the two drugs target different nausea receptors and can be given at the same time. As you guessed, Cerenia is bitter - it should be given in a blank gel cap if possible. I managed to get size 4 gelcaps at a local compounding pharmacy - if you need to get it sooner than waiting for the online order to show up. Like Elise, I've always found ondansetron to be more effective than Cerenia. Cerenia is great for vomiting. And is now available in a generic maropitant, not sure if it's cheaper in the US than Cerenia brand, it is in Canada.

Since you just started the store bought insulin instead of the vet's repackaged, I'd hold the dose a few days yet to build the new depot and see if the old insulin had lost efficacy.
 
The gel caps seem like a necessity, thank you both for that tip. Bell seems to be doing really well with the fresh manufacturer's pen, so I am planning on treating the start of my new pen the same as a new increased dose as far as the TR protocol is concern. I want to thank you again for the catch on the repackaged vial, @Wendy&Neko, I am kicking myself for not seeing that in the sticky and realizing what was going on. I should feed that information back to the vet once I have a bit more data, just don't want to step on any toes...

I just shot her PM dose at 118, which is pretty low for me, but the curve today looked really good, outside of a steep drop from AMPS to +2. Bell held those low numbers really well and we got a slight rise into blues by the time we hit the PMPS. Looks much better than the nadirs at +2 and then bouncing that she was doing.
 
Back
Top