8/3 Vinnie amps 224, +2.5 223

Vinnie Van Gogh's Mom

Member Since 2021
Previous thread

Vinnie was doing great before we moved in April. Then everything got a bit wonky and it turns out he developed pancreatitis. Ultrasound showed some other things as well (Mesenteric lymphadenopathy, splenomegaly, urinary bladder debris, biliary debris, diffuse enteropathy, pancreatitis; biopsy was inconclusive). He seemed to be stabilizing again early last month with lots of blues and greens, then we went on vacation. While on vacation, I had the pet sitter lower the dose as a precaution since he wouldn't be monitored. He stayed in the blues and she said he was eating a lot which made me think his blood sugar was dropping. I ended up having her lower it even more, getting down to half a unit on the last morning and his glucose still got down to 88 at +1 which seemed great.

However, once we returned, his glucose went up into the 200s. I've been increasing his insulin again (it's now up to 1.75u). Last week, things looked like they were back on course with more blues, and he even got down to 48 on the 30th. But since then, it's been getting worse and the past two days, it seems like the insulin is not having any effect whatsoever on him. Should I just take him straight back to the 2u he was on before vacation? Is he developing insulin resistance? Any insights and/or advice are much appreciated. I'm at a loss!

@tiffmaxee
@FrostD
@Wendy&Neko
 
I think he's failed his reduction from 1.85 units (however you measure that). I'd go back to that dose. Vinnie is also now a long term diabetic, so no longer earns reductions by going under 50 once since you are following TR. More details here: Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

One other thing, it's usually better to do full 0.25 unit increases instead of the small ones like you did the last one.
 
Okay thank you. Ah I didn't catch that he no longer gets reductions below 50. I'll read through the link you sent. I did a smaller than 0.25 increase last time because of the 48, but I guess I didn't need to reduce him to begin with. (btw I do the caliper dosing which is how I'm able to do the 1.85u).

Thank you so much for clarifying everything!
 
Back
Top