8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=84

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101378

well good morning to you all

Tom gave me his lowest value this morning....OH....BOY. :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

I COULD NOT BELIEVE MY EYES. COULD NOT. I tested three times....(20, 21, 24) and then I slowly got up from the floor and walked over to the cabinet and got out a plate and poured that syrup like no other

WOW.

that wasn't fun.

He was just fine though...just normal as could be. licked up his syrup and then ate his HC that I have offered as well. and then went to the door to go outside. I told him he didn't have enough sugar/energy in his system to walk across the room let alone go outside!!

I am glad that ordeal is over with....now I know that I can bring him up from the 20's in 20 mins....and that he is fine at 20.

I am sure this will be an all day affair.....as I know that syrup is short lived.

okay so that drama is over....here is the question:

1. now what dose? I just lowered it 2 cycles ago. again...I am in no hurry to go down that scale, and I am home to test and pour syrup at all times day/night......but I don't want to put him in danger.

I mean...is it damaging to go that low? I imagine we are gonna have a bounce of a lifetime.......

********keep dose or lower?

I hope everyone is safe and sound this day........thanks for all the visits everyone. Much appreciated.

~Kelly and syrup loving Tom

ps thanks Marje for those BOS last night.........need another pair....they are gone! USED UP!
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72

KELLY! A WHAT? a 22? HOLY COW! HOLY COW! :shock: :shock: :shock: But you thought you were seeing things! And I thought Tashie's 33 was LOW! ......Hum, look at how they like duplicate numbers! Hang in there - Think I am in for "a day" too! Good Luck! Thank God for Mrs. Butterworth! Gotta love her!
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72

right??!!!

wow.

I actually got a 20. a 20.

I just averaged the three tests....to get my 22 on my SS. which I realize now is still wrong..but anyway...a 20 something is a 20 something.....

I am still amazed by this....oh well....I realize this is old hat for some....

watching you and tash today too.....

so far so good with her!!

thanks for the visit....

~kelly
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

Hi Kelly,
My understanding about reductions, and someone will correct me if I am wrong...

If you see a 22, you reduce, even if the last reduction was only two days ago.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

I am glad that ordeal is over with....now I know that I can bring him up from the 20's in 20 mins....and that he is fine at 20.
He was fine at 20 this time. And you reacted perfectly. And I'm pretty sure that 20s aren't "old hat" to even the most experienced people . That low, you're out of "wiggle room".

Did you feed more HC on that 45? You want to try to get him surfing in the 60s or 70s.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

THANKS CARL

you are the best!

I was worried that perhaps I went overboard with that syrup, and would get a "whipping" for it.....but it was an out of body horror experience.....I couldn't get enough syrup on that plate....

I figured that I didn't have much wiggle room.......like you said.

yes, I fed HC on that 45.

perhaps I should have fed MC at that hour (+4.5)...but today isn't that day for me! :o

thanks for looking in

~Kelly

already freaking over the PMPS value.....
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

The HC on 45 is not a problem. If he was staying level, you could switch to MC or even LC if over 50-60, But he jumped to 80 and dropped back down to the 40s in two hours. Drop back on the carbs once he levels out. He still isn't past where nadir should be.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

One test at a time Kelly. Just remember, one test at a time. And deep breathing exercises, if not for you, for me! ;-)

20!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes, reduction. Tomcat is on a mission.

No, it's not according to protocol but those are general guidelines and sometimes, we step out of the box because ECID and Tomcat is showing us his differentness. ;-)
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

Personally, if I got a number in the 20s, I'd reduce the dose. Tom is telling you exactly what he thought of the 2.75u dose.

You're doing a great job keeping an eye on things.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

Whoa, Kelly . . . a 20? I would have been shaky over that one myself.

I think you may have forgotten one step of treating numbers that low. . .

After you've given the cat what he needs, YOU are supposed to have some chocolate to steady your nerves. Or maybe a stiff drink ;-)
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

Amy, funny you should say that because I was just telling DH that I wanted an adult beverage = and it was 11:30 AM! Cheers!

PS: But I didn't!
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45 DOSE?

Kelly, Amy & Papaya sent me this - thought you could use?

I've got one of those deep sea divers, too, so I understand the early grab for HC! It's nice to see these numbers for Tashie.

(PS here's a song for you)
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45,+7=63 D

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile nailbite_smile @-) OMG, Kelly!!! nailbite_smile :shock: :mrgreen:

I had to read your post twice THEN look at your SS - & change my shorts.......

How much syrup did you give? Did Tomcat eat it on his own or :sad: ?

I bet you felt like everything was surreal, I can just picture it. BOS - you can have mine!

It sure looks like Tomcat is headed somewhere FAST! Keep it up Tomcat, but keep it SAFE - PLEZ!!!!!

PS - thanks for looking in on us in the midst of all your stuff!!!
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45,+7=63 D

tomtom13 said:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101378

I imagine we are gonna have a bounce of a lifetime.......

I don't know what the norm is, Kelly, but I thought Tigger would go bonkers after his lowest 43 last night - highest I tested was 429 @ +8. He was at 386 @ AMPS. (Of course he coulda skyrocketed to 599 between 8-12 but I didn't want to know - BCS!) At either rate, he's back in the blue already at +3, so it was short lived - so far ;-)

Good Luck Today!
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45,+7=63 D

Whoa Tomcat!! Kelly, I practically fell off my seat when I saw that 22. :shock: :shock: You did an amazing job handling that low number! Good idea to retest. I totally agree on the reduction.

Something to be aware of, when he gives you a number like 22, his depot might be really full and even with a reduction the next cycle or two could keep you busy. I'm curious to see what his PMPS will be. And whether he bounces anymore.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45,+7=63 D

Wouzer Kelly 22, YIcks!! :smile: Great catch there, hope Tomcat stays with his great number recovery.
Yeah reduction :smile: You did great on that just remember to breathe :lol:
Linda and Lucky
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45,+7=63 D

PMPS=140

thank god.

Plus +1=167

sad.


Wendy said:
I'm curious to see what his PMPS will be. And whether he bounces anymore

well, that answers that. yes. he still sadly still bounces.

okay...well what a day! I was so relieved to see that PS number this evening.....which isn't the way I am supposed to feel. And then I was super disappointed at his plus 1.......such strange BOUNCING emotions.

Now I am wondering if I perhaps shot his muscle this AM? and he really really really didn't deserve his reduction. again....BOUNCING EMOTIONS.

I have an aversion to reductions......don't want to rush it.

AND FINALLY, I am left with the worry that his liver isn't quite up to par? if his liver was in top shape...it would never have allowed a 20 WOULD IT?

okay...enough of us today...I think we are in for a PINK night...but at least a safe sleep filled night.....

thanks everyone for their mutual :shock: :shock: :shock: .....makes me feel normal and human because that was me :shock:

just when I had him all figured out....when to test, when not to test......this happens. well, I bet I get a plus 1 from now on!!! poor Tom. I have been so good and careful with his ear pokes too...and then this morning.......nope stab stab stab and I have my first bruise. I WAS UNDER PRESSURE!

Good night to you all and great job keeping your kitty safe...

~Kelly

edit: phew ....plus 3 is :mrgreen: .....I feel better now. :razz:
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +2.3=80, +3=72,+4.5=45,+7=63 D

Kelly! STOP RIGHT NOW! STOP IT! You are doing an AMAZING job! STOP beating yourself up ......and, as far as "not deserving" a dose reduction - Eh? TOM is SCREAMING! SCREAMING at you to reduce him ! You are tired, you've been at this now for over 2 weeks NON STOP! This is the break you need! He'll be back at it tomorrow .... take advantage!
Kelly, you are HUMAN!

Now I am wondering if I perhaps shot his muscle this AM? and he really really really didn't deserve his reduction. again....BOUNCING EMOTIONS.


........and WE all wonder and wonder and wonder --- was it a fur shot? Is the insulin old? Did this happen.....did that happen......

And, I poked Tashie SO many times today that her PM poke took THREE pokes ---- it makes me CRAZY but those little ears just don't always bleed the way you want them to after 1,000 pokes!

Kelly, take a DEEP breath, put your feet up and GET SOME SLEEP! You are exhausted and I admire your stamina & perseverance to the unth degree! You want Tom OTJ so bad .......and IT IS HAPPENING! But he needs his mummy to get some rest now because this ain't over, it's a "breather" ....... so go do that! Get a good nights rest and start all over tomorrow! YOU ARE AMAZING! AMAZING AND SO DEDICATED! Now, go dream .......
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167

A higher number at +1 is "typical", so not really a bad thing. The food from dinner showed up before the shot kicked in. Pinks are not a foregone conclusion. It could be the start of a bounce, yes. But not a sure thing.

As far as the liver question. Sure it can allow a 20. It's a "timing thing". Ten minutes later, it could have been a 40. Just after the liver did it's thing. Remember, all the meter gives you is a split second snap shot of the BG. We develop theories based on a set of snapshots that catch five or ten "seconds" out of a 24 hour period.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167

Now I am wondering if I perhaps shot his muscle this AM?

Well, I'll say this...
Bob was on insulin (PZI, not Lantus) for ten weeks or so. About 150 shots total. About six, at most, of those shots were given sub-q. The other 140+ shots were given directly into muscle. On purpose. The two insulin's don't work the same way. But the simple fact is that there isn't definitive evidence that I am aware of that shows the difference between how Lantus works sub-q vs. IM. Probably because shooting IM is not the way you're supposed to do it, so nobody has or does. But I know with 100% confidence that IM shots using PZI allowed MY cat to go into remission. So anyone who says that PZI CAN'T be shot that way is wrong.

Never, ever, beat yourself up or doubt your level of competence based on one shot, one day, or one anything.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167

Kelly,

Tomcat is leading this sugardance and we can only follow along in his footsteps. So, maybe we are not all as talented as Ginger Rodgers, dancing backwards with her leading man Fred Astaire. We all learn along the way and get better at managing this dance. It's not our fault that Fred started the waltz and we were expecting the cha-cha-cha.

Get some sleep. Tomorrow is another day. Look back at your SS when you first started. Look at the changes now. Look how far you have come and see the waves of color changing on Tomcat's SS over the weeks. Mostly blue and green now. So yes, there will still be little high blips along the way. But Tomcat is doing so much better and feeling so much better too. You've told us that and he keeps telling you too. Oh, I hear him now!

"MOM! I'm feeling so much better than I did back in March. Thanks for everything you have done and are still doing. I love you momma Kelly. Give me a snuggle please."
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

Deb said:

So yes, there will still be little high blips along the way. But Tomcat is doing so much better and feeling so much better too. You've told us that and he keeps telling you too. Oh, I hear him now!

"MOM! I'm feeling so much better than I did back in March. Thanks for everything you have done and are still doing. I love you momma Kelly. Give me a snuggle please
."

Bern said:

..... I admire your stamina & perseverance to the unth degree!.......... YOU ARE AMAZING! AMAZING AND SO DEDICATED

Carl said:

Never, ever, beat yourself up or doubt your level of competence based on one shot, one day, or one anything


okay.....crying here.

how lovely can you all be? So touched that you would take the time to write down such precious words for me and Tom

speechless really....

okay not really...but so lovely...truly.


oh and Carl:

Pinks are not a foregone conclusion. It could be the start of a bounce, yes. But not a sure thing
.

you called that right! :mrgreen:


thanks again my gracious supporters....kelly
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

Hmm - so much for Tomcat and his bounces. :cool: You might want to give him a little food to tap on the brakes a bit.

Kelly - Tomcat's SS is a thing of beauty. You are doing an amazing job keeping up with his demands for reductions. And he has been really demanding lately! :shock: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

So much for the bounce to the moon! Wendy posted exactly what I was thinking - a bit of LC to slow things down would be wonderful.

You really are doing a great job. There's really no need to keep second guessing yourself.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

And here you thought you were going to sleep tonight :lol: Amazingly nice cycle right after that 22 this morning!

If I haven't said it before, I've thought it . . . he is really lucky to have you. What if you were someone who didn't want to home test? It makes me nervous just thinking about it! You are handling all these lows and reductions so well, and I don't think everyone could. I'm glad you're there for Tomcat.
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

okay.....crying here.

Happy tears are the best tears. ;-)

OK, so 140 doesn't qualify as a bounce :-D
And as far as me "calling it"?
Two thoughts-
I've learned never to assume things with these sugar kitties.
And....even a broken clock is right twice a day ;-)
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

Kelly! You are my hero! I would have cut his dose in half by now (as I did with Bob when he was in the 30's - No BOS for me nailbite_smile ). You definitely deserve the BOS!!! Just think about how wonderful everything will be when you don't have to go through this anymore cuz the man is OTJ. You are doing a great job!! :thumbup
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

Kelly - You are doing a GREAT JOB!!!!!!

Your SS is a work of art, Most of us would love to see all those greens & blues - well not the 20, but otherwise..... it's a marvelous progression.

I'd call 140 & 167 BGs a good day for Tigger! I'd be ecstatic if Tigger got a blue bounce!!!! I was really disappointed to see Tigger bounce back up to 429 last night & felt we were moving backward. But then

Carl pointed out:
Bounces don't set you back or erase anything. They actually show you that the "defense mechanism" parts of his system are working just like nature intended.

Bounces just "are". They go away on their own, and they tend to decrease in terms of frequency and magnitude as things get better.

It's clear that Tom is "on a Mission" I think everybody feels he's going to get there - it's a wonderful thing to watch. Pat yourself on the back, give your kitty a hug, & try to get a little sleep:YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

Wow Kelly--Tom's SS is amazing! I really think the little guy wants to join Gobbles at The Falls!!! paws crossed, paws crossed, paws crossed.....
 
Re: 8/3 Tomcat AMPS 96 +2=22, +4.5=45 PMPS 140, +1=167, +3=8

Great job today, Kelly! We taught you well :-D You saw the number, you got the HC. Great job!!

You asked the question about whether a 20 can affect them long term? Who knows because we don't have them hooked to any brain wave machines. Or heart machines, etc. but, Gracie as been in the 20s more times than Id like and she seems to be fine. I just do as you....get her up as fast as possible.

Hope you are doing ok tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top