8/3 Taishi AMPS 317, +6 314, PMPS 334, +2.75 181, +5 178

Taishi_Ci

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-2-taishi-amps-341-6-365-pmps-429.250775

Last night we saw Taishi's highest number yet (429). Every time we see a number in the 400s it seems to be higher and higher. What is your little body doing Taishi?? At the recommendation of a moderator, we're going to be more diligent about nighttime testing to get more data about what's going on.

I contacted the vet's office yesterday and got the bloodwork that was done when Taishi was diagnosed. I did my best to plug it into the spreadsheet, but I couldn't match everything up. I also noticed the ranges on the spreadsheet are different than the ranges my vet uses.

Hopefully we magically see some 200s today. Fingers crossed!
 
Paws crossed for sunny yellows today.

Did you dose last night? The spreadsheet is blank in the PM units cell. If you did dose, I strongly recommend getting a before bed test. It's actually requires with TR to get a second test each cycle. If you find the +2 isn't giving you much information, try a +3 test. Some cats onset later than others. Mine did on Lantus, I found the +2 didn't tell me much but the +3 did. And I also wouldn't pay attention to how high the preshots are. My girl also earned her first reduction (below 50), starting the cycle at 430. She earned other reductions from even higher in the 400's! It's not uncommon. So high preshots don't mean you can skip later tests.

As for the lab work results, the numbers that are already on the lab pages for ranges are just examples. Go ahead and change them to what the ranges are on your blood work. Different labs have different values for normal. It also helps us to help you if you highlight the out of range values - either bold that cell or turn the lettering red, or something like that. Looks like besides the glucose, the sodium and urine pH may have been out, depending on what your lab reference values say. Did your vet have any explanation for the out of range values? It also looks like the blood work was just done in house? It's missing a number of values in standard lab blood tests.
 
One more question, sorry for that. :oops: Are you still using the Freestyle strips in your AT? That's not recommended. Or did you switch back to the AT strips?
 
Paws crossed for sunny yellows today.

Did you dose last night? The spreadsheet is blank in the PM units cell. If you did dose, I strongly recommend getting a before bed test. It's actually requires with TR to get a second test each cycle. If you find the +2 isn't giving you much information, try a +3 test. Some cats onset later than others. Mine did on Lantus, I found the +2 didn't tell me much but the +3 did. And I also wouldn't pay attention to how high the preshots are. My girl also earned her first reduction (below 50), starting the cycle at 430. She earned other reductions from even higher in the 400's! It's not uncommon. So high preshots don't mean you can skip later tests.

As for the lab work results, the numbers that are already on the lab pages for ranges are just examples. Go ahead and change them to what the ranges are on your blood work. Different labs have different values for normal. It also helps us to help you if you highlight the out of range values - either bold that cell or turn the lettering red, or something like that. Looks like besides the glucose, the sodium and urine pH may have been out, depending on what your lab reference values say. Did your vet have any explanation for the out of range values? It also looks like the blood work was just done in house? It's missing a number of values in standard lab blood tests.

We did dose last night. Sorry for my oversight on that.

As I mentioned in my original post, the importance of those nighttime tests has been explained to me, so we will be extra diligent with them moving forward. As I said, we've been discouraged with the high numbers (and not seeing much of a drop during the PM+2) so we got "lazy"/discounted the importance. I'm going to try to get a +3 tonight to see if there's more of a difference :)

The lab work he had done was in-house. There are some additional things on his lab work that I couldn't match up with things on the spreadsheet. So, it's possible that some of those values are there but I'll have to do more googling to match everything up. Although they didn't give a detailed explanation of what everything was, they said he was within normal levels for everything besides glucose. They also provided a little chart next to each thing that showed where his number landed on the low/normal/high scale.

We are using Freestyle strips at the moment (I've already been told it's not recommended, but we decided to give them a try after doing our own direct comparison between the two kinds of strips and repeatedly getting numbers that were only a couple points difference). I'm going to keep AT strips on hand as well, but right now I have no reason to believe the readings we're getting are inaccurate.
 
If you have questions about the lab items you can't find by googling, post them here and maybe we can help figure out which ones they are.
 
Hi Jessie, I changed the reference ranges on the labs spreadsheet for Ruby because the ones on the template are different from those from her lab reports that are all done by IDEXX. What shows up as above or below reference range differs from lab to lab. Great that everything landed within reference range except for the glucose, but because you home test you knew that already. :)
 
I originally had the 911 tag, but felt like I was overreacting.

I just did a PMPS+2.75 on Taishi and his BG was 181! I retested and got 179. Although I know this number is still technically "high" for a normal cat, it's very low for Taishi. What should I do? Stay up with him and retest in X amount of time? I gave him his regular nighttime food at the time I tested, but didn't put out quite as much as normal (in case advice here recommended switching to higher carb stuff).
 
Congrats on your first blue! :cool:

Please feed him a little for his usual LC food and would you be able to get a test at +5? Set an alarm for then?
 
Congrats on your first blue! :cool:

Please feed him a little for his usual LC food and would you be able to get a test at +5? Set an alarm for then?

I'm so glad you're awake right now! He's eating his normal LC now. I usually give him a full can of Friskies to nibble on overnight, but only fed him 1/2 that right now in case higher carb was recommended. Should I go ahead and give him the rest of the LC? I will get a +5, if you think he will be okay until then. Maybe I'll get a little nap in, but I doubt it ;-)
 
I'm so glad you're awake right now! He's eating his normal LC now. I usually give him a full can of Friskies to nibble on overnight, but only fed him 1/2 that right now in case higher carb was recommended. Should I go ahead and give him the rest of the LC? I will get a +5, if you think he will be okay until then. Maybe I'll get a little nap in, but I doubt it ;-)
I'm in India so am around nights in the US/Canada :-)

He's had 1/2 can at +2.75, right? Let's feed the other half can at +5. Get that nap. He will be fine!
 
Just did Taishi's PMPS+5 and got 178, so almost the same number as the +2.75. I felt bad waking him up to get poked and he wasn't really interested in food right away (1/2 can of Friskies usually fills him up for some time and he ate that just a couple hours ago). Am I safe to get some sleep or should I stay up an continue to monitor? <3
 
I see the 178 at +5 on your SS. Feed the rest of the can and call it a night.
Since you saw blue, you hold this dose 5 days (10 cycles).

Congrats! :cool:
 
Back
Top