8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222+2/213+3/256+6/298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo
Good Morning everyone! ~O) I hope your week is going smoothly. :-D

Stella seems to be doing great! Her urine output is back to normal. Healthy appetite. Although I haven't weighed her, I would guess she has put on a much needed 1 1/2 pounds since starting her Lantus. The weight is evenly distributed, and she is once again becoming a solid cat. She jumps up onto the couch with ease. Sometimes she stops to think about it, and when she jumps off she sometimes wobbles... but I think we are both happy she feels confident enough to spring up and down off the furniture again.

On one hand it feels that this journey has already been a long one; on the other it seems as though this is all very new and yet Stella has come so far in such a short time! I am confident the Neuropathy is on its way out, and at some times I wish it would all just be over...but this has taught me so much that I am sure it is a lesson I had to learn. Life is an amazing adventure, and with Stella's diabetes I am learning I have much more patience, love, and hope that I ever gave myself credit for. My bond with Stella is so much more than I ever shared with her in her almost 13 years with me. Although her shot wasn't wanted this morning (you should have seen the swat she gave me :lol:) She returned with love and a bump to my ankles when she got her tasty treat.

Again, thank you all here at the FDMB for giving me the confidence to continue on this journey with Stella. xoxo
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251

Great news that Stella is feeling better! That is what really counts. I remember when Tarragon started getting better and it made me realize how really sick he was at one point. It is a marathon, not a sprint, but you are already seeing results. You are doing a great job and it can be very overwhelming Mary. We all just want what is best for our babies and this board is a great resource.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251

Hi guys .. what a great report .. I love hearing that stella is back up to a good weight and is able to jump up with ease and confidence .. don't worry about a little swat .. mocha fought us tooth and nail every single shot of every single day .. sometimes she even ripped the glasses right off my face :shock: But she always forgave us .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251+4/133

Thanks Melissa & Tarragon and PeterDevonMocha! As you see, after the sunshine yellow, Stella has decided to surf the Blue. Cross your fingers she keeps a long steady wave. :-D
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251+4/133

that's the best report ever! it's always good to hear that a kitty is acting more like herself, isn't it?!

btw, what you wrote on Iorwen's condo about her mom was beautiful.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251+4/133+6/79

Thanks julie1220. I the power of visualization is an extraordinary thing... it must have flowed over to my Stella because...

Did you see it?!!!! Stella has thrown her Blue Surf aside to practice her kitty yoga in a peaceful Green Meadow! This is Stella's first green since being diagnosed. Honestly, her vet said Stella may never see below 100. Stella is showing her amazing ability to heal!!! :mrgreen:

FYI My mom and I have been trying to figure out what caused the onset of her diabetes. She had been staying under my mom's care for over a year at her shop with Boo while I was on the East Coast with my job with no permanent housing to move them with me. During the end of their stay at my mom's shop, the restaurant next door began renovations. On my short visits I noticed Stella go into hiding as they pounded on the walls while rebuilding their kitchen. It was a horrible noise. I now feel the ongoing stress of that renovation is what did Stella in. In my condo yesterday, I noted I thought Stella's one high BG # was the result of my absence. I will now go forward in this process of healing knowing Stella must remain in a peaceful state free of anxiety.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251+4/133+6/79+8/78+10/116

we started remodeling our house on november 24th and punkin was in our downstairs hiding under my desk most of that week. i thought he had a bladder infection and took him to the vet on dec 2nd - diabetes. the vet said it's well-documented that stress can shut off a cat's pancreas and lantus is the best insulin for getting it restarted.

so i think you're very wise to make that connection. fear and stress cause powerful chemicals in our bodies - people and cats - and long term can do a lot of damage.

and what a SUPER green surf for stella today! wahoo!
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251+4/133+6/79+8/78+10/116+11/123

Thank you Julie and carolyn & jesse. :smile:

Now I have to re-read the sticky's. I made a mistake last time... so let me get this straight...

Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.

With Stella's short history, it looks as though she will be under 150 at PMPS. If so, I won't shoot. She had a small meal at 2pm with no spike, so I don't foresee she will go above 150. If Stella is above 150 what of the three options would you suggest with Stella's SS in mind???

Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251+4/133+6/79+8/78+10/116+11/123?

I'd hate to see you lose the momentum you've gained and would suggest shooting a reduced dose, but best to get others' opinions.

If you edit your first post and add PM DOSE HELP, others will see.

You're doing GREAT!
 
Re: 8/3 Stella AMPS/281+2/251+4/133+6/79+8/78+10/116+11/123?

i second the "edit your subject line and get another opinion on dose" vote. you can edit out a bunch of your inbetween numbers today so there's room for the question. i suspect as long as you're going to be home you should shoot something, but maybe reduced or ? see what you hear.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella ???PM DOSE HELP,???

Thanks ladies. My thoughts about keeping momentum, but I am supposed to shoot in 15 minutes. I hope someone knows...or I will make a newbie guess. Lucky for me, Stella seems to power through my mistakes. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/3 Stella ???PM DOSE HELP,???

Are you home tomorrow? Maybe you can stall tonight's shot (without feeding) until others see your post.

Or, would you feel comfortable shooting 2u (you're at 3.25u now)? As long as you can monitor tonight and have high carb food if needed, you should be fine.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella ???PM DOSE HELP,???

Not sure if you shot or not, but what a beautiful curve today. I hope you can keep that momentum, but keep an eye on her because once you find the dose that works she may start responding really well and keep you on her toes. Not familiar with Stella's history so I don't know how her dose was arrived at prior to home testing but it looks like she's catching on nicely.

Oddly, KB's symptoms also started during a remodeling project. Turns out he has acromegaly, though, so it probably wasn't entirely related to the stress.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella ???PM DOSE HELP,???

The only dates I have Stella between 150 and 200 and shot, were on 7/18/11 and 7/26/11. On the 18th I shot the entire dose, because she had a very low storage shed. On the 26th, I shot the entire dose and she did fine. Again, her shed was not yet full.

Today is different because she held green for four hours. I am going to do a little math. It's time to shoot...I was hoping an expert would swoop in. ECID right ;-)
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U

It looks like ur pmps number is a rising number.. Since the +11 check, and ur shooting something-good!
If u can get a +1 spotcheck, food on board.

Nice work with ur data today
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U

I chose option B
give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)

I reduced her 3.25U by 25% and gave her .8U. It seemed like nothing...but we all saw what the .25 did in Stella's numbers. Now I will watch and wait through the evening.

I also fed her Merrick's Thanksgiving Day Feast with 12 carbs. She loved it... lol... and started mewing for more. Great...so now the spike will come... :lol:

I stuck to the protocol in my last moment of panic. I figured... it is called Protocol for a reason. Thanks for sticking by me! It was great to know you were there holding my hand. ;-)
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222

Thanks carolyn & jesse for checking back. +1 was 222. Hmmm... this will be interesting to see where this takes us, and where it leaves us for AMPS.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222 +2/213

Well, it appears the reduction worked. As you see, the numbers are already on the decline despite only shooting .8U. This is a relief that there is no shooting in either direction...but a steady decline.

Poor Stella, she was just getting to the point where she was sitting for her test without my going to fetch her...this time she ran. :sad: On a good note, just as I typed that Stella finished her treat and passed me and sat to groom. Thank goodness for treats. ;-)
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222 +2/213 +3/256

+3/256 Hmmm... these numbers are headed in the wrong direction. Oh well, I did follow protocal. :sad:

Now I am wondering if this was the right thing. The other sticky says you have to go below 50 to reduce. I am sooo confused again.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222 +2/213 +3/256

FYI, the information you quoted (the choices about when you get a lower preshot) are more intended for newbies without much data rather than people following the tight regulation protocol and testing a lot. Since you are able to monitor quite a bit, you probably could have shot your full dose. This post is what most of us follow once we are fairly established in the Lantus protocol. Of course a big part of the Low Preshots post is about determining what your comfort zone is and how to decide when to shoot, and ultimately it's all your decision. Anyway, now you'll have data on what giving a reduced shot will do for Stella. All data is good data. :smile:
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222+2/213+3/256+6/

After yesterday, I don't think I will be posting anymore.

I wish everybody the best with you and your kitties.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222+2/213+3/256+6/

Mary --

I'm not sure why you don't feel like you shouldn't post. There's a great deal to absorb and not all decisions are black and white.

I would also point out that your math on the reduction for last night's dose was a little off. Rather than reducing by 25%, you reduced by 75%. If you were following the instructions in the protocol, you should have shot approx. 2.5u.

Between shooting a dose you were more comfortable with and yesterday's greens, Stella is bouncing. It's a very normal thing to see.
 
Re: 8/3 Stella PMPS/152 reduced to .8U +1/222+2/213+3/256+6/

hi mary - i'm not sure what happened, but want to encourage you to come back and post again. there is so much to learn about lantus and feline diabetes . . . . it truly does take time and for each decision you make you will learn more on how to do it next time.

hugs, julie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top